We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs spoil the stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River View Guest House
Ranked #15 of 211 Melaka B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs spoil the stay.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

When we first arrive the hostel, the rooms look well maintain and clean. But once I flipped up the blanket, there were strands of hair and dust and dirt under it. Guessed the turnover rate of the hostel rooms were so fast that the host does not have enough time to thoroughly clean the rooms but simply swept the floor clean and arranged the beds neat.
Suspect the sheets were not change since hair and dirt were found under the tucked blanket. The blankets were definitely not changed which is a bad thing since the bed bugs can easily hide in the thick linen and remain hidden and not visible. Only realised I was badly bitten after the end of my 3D2N trip in room 3. It was my first time having such bad experience with beg bugs. Other than me, my two other guy friends were very badly bitten too. In fact, they discovered matured and baby bugs right after sleeping through the first night and got quite a few bites from room 7. Next morning after feedback, they had their rooms changed to room 2 (this was when I saw how the cleaner clean the room for next user. blankets are not change at all. So if infected, the next occupant will get the bug attacks as well.) Rooms were swept and sprayed with possibly the bed bug spray before passing on to my 2 guy friends. Yet, same thing happen. they were badly bitten as well in room 2 (room 2 is situated directly under room 7 so possibly the bugs travelled down.) Other wise the view of the hostel, the toilets, and the host even provides free complimentary cakes and pastry for the travellers.
Other than the bug issue, the stay is wonderful. Price is relatively competitive and location is walkable distance from the famous Jonker street.
If bugs does not bother you at all, this hostel will be a good deal for your travelling stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, pick rooms at upper level if available or buy an ear plug. Can be quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wahju_korie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    82
    17
    13
    4
See reviews for
12
124
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

What a perfect place to spent your holiday. Peaceful place, have a excellent view (straight to melaka river view), good facilities, great people.. this place really make my day. I spent my day with a cup of hot chocolate & cake. The owner will serve you a different cakes everyday. And trust me,the taste was so good♥

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaSiaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Wonderful river view, perfect location (in a quiet and central area) and very friendly and warm Malayan staff in the reception. The bathrooms/showers were good and a kitchen is available. Simple and clean rooms.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarasusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We booked 3 nights here - read lots of reviews on hostelworld and glanced at the good reviews on tripadvisor before booking. We didn't see any bedbug reviews on hostelworld (possibly because when I went to my account to review the hostel there the reservation showed up as cancelled and wouldn't allow a review - I guess Raymond cancelled it).

We stayed 2 nights. Similar to what others have mentioned the house is beautiful, the location is great, wifi is free, there is usually cake out in the morning (I didn't eat it so I can't review that specifically but others said it was good) BUT PLEASE WATCH OUT FOR THE BEDBUG INFESTATION because otherwise you will spread it to other hotels/hostels that you go to next on top of getting bitten here.

We stayed in the twin room #2 downstairs and at first we thought the place was great except for the overpowering 'weird' smell in the room which we couldn't identify. I asked to burn incense in the room and Raymond allowed it after turning off the fire alarm. Still I didn't feel comfortable in the room because of the smell and a couple of small gray/brown dot looking stains on the pillow/sheet so we slept in our sleep sacks, thank goodness because I think that saved us from the brunt force of the bug bites on night one. Also we went to bed late and got up early.

On night two however one of us slept in the sleep sack and the other slept out of it- and he ended up with about 30 or so bites on his back and arms. I happened to jump out of bed quickly that morning when the alarm went off and flip the lights on so I found one on my shoulder and then we pulled the sheet back and found another on the bed along with evidence (poop) of others. We killed both and showed them to Raymond who, without argument, offered to refund us the last night since we said we weren't comfortable staying there longer. He said he has the best bedbug killing spray from the U.S. already so it became obvious to us that this was not a new problem and after reading the poor reviews on trip advisor it looks like this problem has been ongoing since 2010, or else there have been multiple infestations month after month since then (room 8 and room 1 are also implicated).

We spent the next entire day (before going to another hotel) at a laundromat washing all of our things (bags included) in hot water and a hot dryer to kill potential stowaways, wiped our electronics and papers down with clorox wipes, scrubbed ourselves in a hot shower and sent our last set of clothes off to a professional cleaner. So it cost us a day of aggravation and money to sanitize all of our travel gear and ourselves so that we didn't carry the bugs with us and spread them to the next place. I agree with the other reviewer that it's not responsible of the hostel to keep the same mattress' and that just spraying the furniture isn't good enough - I know it's notoriously difficult to get rid of these bugs and I sympathize but it's also not okay to effectively potentially spread it further.

Room Tip: I suggest double checking for bedbugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stephily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed for three nights on a recent visit to Melaka. We loved this quaint place especially the old wooden floor boards upstairs! We had a comfortable spacious room off the upstairs balcony which was a great spot to relax and pass time watching the boats go up and down and the daily life in the river houses across the river. cool and breezy. The bathrooms are small and a separate additional toilet would help but clean and big enough and adequate. I would rather have the authentic experience of this guest house than a clinical bathroom in a hotel. Downstairs kitchen area was clean we enjoyed being able to make tea when we felt like it. Breakfast not included but we prefer to eat out anyway, the bananas and cake on the table were a welcome extra. Overall excellent value, good location, welcoming host, terrific experience. TOP choice for me! And Raymond went out of his way to get a good deal on the taxi to KL for us.

Room Tip: ask for upstairs off balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This place was perfect for me.

I loved the creaky hardwood floors and steep stairs, in a classic building style for the area. It all added to the historical atmosphere of the area and I felt like I was really experiencing Melaka. One of my first impressions of Melaka was standing on the rear balcony looking out over the canel in the setting sun with the Muslim pray call eerily sounding out- magical.

The location was perfect: easily close enough in walking distance to the major sights of Melaka, and far enough that you're away from the noise of the Jonker's Night Market.

Heed the warning when booking: the toilet and shower are in the same room, 3 in total. When I stayed there it was totally full, so in rush hr there was sometimes a queue for a toilet visit. If you've been too adventurous in your food tasting that could be a problem. I stayed in the regular double room at the front of the building that faces the street, there was some traffic noise, and normally I would have utilized ear plugs, but I was so tiered by sightseeing that I fell asleep immediately. The hostel was full when I stayed and, while I wasn't actually in the hostel for long other than sleeping, I found the other guests quiet and respectful. My room also had a small sink and mirror, which was handy for brushing teeth etc. The bed and pillow where comfy, the sheets had some stains (looked like ink), but clean and in combination with the air conditioning I had a lovely sleep.

There doesn't seem to be any rooms that actually have a river view, but the common area balcony on the second story and the street access to the river are beautiful places to have a cooling drink and contemplate or chat with other guests.

Raymond, the owner, is delightful, attentive, helpful and laidback.

I would definitely recommend River View for people looking for a good value, convenient place with character, and who are looking for cleanliness but not luxury.

xox

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginevera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We booked this guest house after the good reviews on tripadvisor. For the price we were paying and the reviews, we were pretty disappointed. It is a hostel rather than a guest house.

Firstly, we were greeted by Raymond who seemed very precious, as if we were uninvited guests to his own home. I got the impression that he really didn't like dealing with guests. The style is shabby chic but lacking in the chic. Downstairs is quite nice, but our room upstairs reminded me of being a student, with random old furniture and smelling very musty. There was a lack of shared bathrooms too - just 3 in the entire place. Again they lacking as they are just cubicles, very old and small.

Breakfast is just a loaf of the cheapest white bread and some cake left on a table. If it's gone before you are up, then there's none for you. Great for the owners, poor for guests.

Service is by telephone and there is no reception so really you are on your own. To get into the guest house, you need to present a card to beep yourself in. With just one card between a couple sharing, it meant we couldnt separate. Great for the guest house owners, poor for guests.

It is outside a main road that is VERY noisy. I was woken up every day without fail because trucks and mopeds were whizzing past. It is difficult to cross the road outside.

The location is ok, close to the nice area but not actually in it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gomad1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManiSarah, Owner at River View Guest House, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
We humbly thank guests for having booked with us and for the constructive feedback.
Reviews of guests of us are perhaps based on their individual expectations and may not relate to others. Guests have to make their own choices and we are definitely of backpacker hostel category and not an establishment with full services. .

We apologise if the ‘meet & greet’ service and décor/environment was not up to expectation. The building has been maintained in its original state and only suitable for those who are used to old/ Malaccan buildings. Yes, the house accommodates 3 toilet/showers for 9 rooms in the entire place.

We do not provide breakfast and have never done so since the guest house opened 5 years ago.

Guests may call us anytime for any assistance during their stay as we do not provide 24 hour reception/service. Guests are also welcome to request for extra key/cards if they are moving around separately.

If one wishes to stay in the residential and commercial zone, a certain level of noise is be expected. High rise brick buildings may guarantee quiet rooms but is not a criteria for UNESCO’s ‘residential and commercial’ zone where we are located.

We thank guests once again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timez Modern Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 166 in Melaka
1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.2 mi away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#7 of 211 in Melaka
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Guest House

Property: River View Guest House
Address: 94 & 96 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house offers accommodation in comfortable twin or double divan bedded rooms with fan and common bathrooms (hot & cold shower) for up to 14 guests. All rooms have windows. Towels are provided for guest use. There is a sitting, tv and dining area with a kitchen for light cooking. Drinking water, coffee & tea is provided complimentary. The first floor terrace has a magnificent view of the Melaka River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your River View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Guest House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing