We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where is the staff?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe 1511

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cafe 1511
Ranked #18 of 208 Melaka B&B and Inns
Holland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Where is the staff?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We booked for one night beccause of the good ratings. The hotel looks nice and has a certain atmosphere. But a hotel needs a staff. This staff was busy getting away from the hotel. After our arrivel at 2.30PM we were asked to pay and if we wanted to eat something we better get fast to the restaurant. And there would be no breakfast next morning. When asked why no explanation.
In the restaurant most of the things we ordered were not available anymore. We ordered the same dish for two persons. But after one dish was brough int, the others get there dishes one by one. when asked for the other plate we were almost brutally said it was coming. After all three finished their dish, about 15 minutes after serving the first dish, Finally the same dish was brought in but without any comment or apology.
When we came back at 6.30PM all was dark and no one was there. When we left at 9.00PM still no one

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    81
    15
    6
    12
See reviews for
24
81
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Cafe 1511 is a nice b&b near Jonker Street. As long as you don't mind the steep stairs the Attic Room is fine for a short stay. The only thing is there is no curtain for the window so the light outside may bother some people. We loved being able to watch DVDs and the food in the cafe downstairs is delicious and reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

What a charming hotel. The house is situated on a historical street, just a corner away from the heritage enclave of Jonker Walk. Walking into the house, which is more than 100 years old, I felt like I'd travelled back in time. It oozes old world charm with its beautiful intricate nyonya baba design, narrow stairways, an airwell that brightens up a fish pond below.
The hotel is neat and tidy. My family of 2 adults and 2 kids stayed in the attic. The narrow stairway to the attic is quite an adventure in itself, but my children loved it. The room was clean and bright, simple room to put up the night. As we were in the attic and away from the road in front of the shop, it was very quiet. One thing though, the walls are not sound proof and you will hear it if you have noisy neighbours.
They have 3 common bathrooms which we shared with other hotel guests. Although the hotel was fully booked due to peak season, we didn't have to wait to use the bathrooms, and they were reasonably clean.
Breakfast was in the cafe downstairs. They were shorthanded and we had to wait a while for our meals to come. I personally would recommend the Nyonya laksa, very tasty.
For the price we paid, it was great value for money.
Do take note that they have another guesthouse nearby, namely 1511 Guesthouse. So, please make sure you know which guesthouse you are booking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Changws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Next to Baba Nyonya Heritage Museum. 1st floor is Cafe, 2nd floor is room and shared-shower space. They have only 5 rooms. I chose Attic room which in 3rd floor ( maybe I should call this place lodge). 5min-walk from Dutch Square. Few steps away from Jonker street. At night time very quiet.
Cafe and rooms are full of Asian taste and arts.
They provide guests some kinds of breakfast including Nyonya cuisine. They can arrange breakfast for vegetarians.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomo0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
124 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Cafe 1511 is within a traditional house so you get to see some of the original features that make these houses so interesting.
The staff were lovely. Rooms are small but perfect for a weekend away. The food was lovely especially the waffles for breakfast and the top hats and Otak for lunch/dinner.
It's brilliantly located in Melacca - perfectly central for those exploring the town.
Would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss-b20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

As the title says, its one of the best place to stay a night or two while in Melacca, Its easy to go around and food is always nearby. Jonker walk has nothing much to offer in the morning, so i would advice you to have their complimentary breakfast and head out with the bicycle and go to the nearest town for a great food adventure.

Room Tip: I stayed at the attic. The stairs might be narrow and you have to work your way around it especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pingu_is_fluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Segamat, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Clean... Its just like your own house with well arranged living room and a work desk too c/w computer, printer and internet. Food is just downstairs. They will give you a touch key to access the guest house if you come back late. The cafe downstairs closes at 10pm. and best of all, the Baba Nyonya Museum is just next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choy9w2pck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.1 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe 1511? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe 1511

Property: Cafe 1511
Address: 52 Jalan Tun, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Cafe 1511 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cafe 1511 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe 1511 Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing