We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and cheap Guesthouse”
Review of Jalan-Jalan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jalan-Jalan
Ranked #12 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Delemont, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice and cheap Guesthouse”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We really enjoy the time we pass at this place. Nice owner, good location close to the old temples of the city.

Room Tip: We chose dormitory. Good space, clean, personal fan and lockers..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asiatrotters2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    92
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
7
57
78
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
General Santos, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Located right in the heritage area, this little gem is a wonderful treat! It is so homey. This is not a hotel but a century-old house (I believe) converted into a guest house. absolutely wonderful, considering its price. I stayed in a non-aircon dormitory for RM15/night absolutely cheap but lovely. Of course they have private airconditioned rooms as well. Other guest in the dormitory are respectful and not noisy. Though there are several beds in there, the room is large enough and it isn't cramped. Each bed is provided with a fan so you don't have to share with other guests. The tolets and the bathroom are simple lovely and is located in an indoor garden. And oh, the sink. Singer brand. haha. It is made of a real western sink attatched to the stand of a "Singer" sewing machine. What an ingenious work of art!

Visit their website at www.jalanjalanguesthouse.com

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjdz3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We have stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed out time here. The room is small but cozy and very clean. I love the small garden and how Sam arranges the common bathroom. We took a bath with some vines above our head, it was nearly taking a bath in nature lol.

They have coffee and tea, wifi for free. You can even rent a bike.
Sam is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrangDao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I and my friend lived there 3 nights in Melaka and it's really cool. The twin room is enough for 2 person, very clean and comfortable. Uncle Sam-the owne of hotel r is so hot. He helped us a lot. Every people is so friendly. I met a French woman backpacker in this hotel and she gave us direction to catch the bus to Melaka Sentral. If you want a budget place to relax after a long and tired day of discovering, beleive me, this hotel is the right one. Ah you also can have free wifi, coffee, tea there. Cool huh

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Who_241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The double room was comfortable and I love the power showering system in the guest house which I felt refreshed after the tiring walks around Malacca town!

The coffee offered is F.O.C, and it was the best coffee i ever had in Melacca!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genie719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed two nights at the Jalan-Jalan, and had the double at the back of the building with the large window front to the backyard.
This room has no A/C, but a fan and a mosquito-net, and I think it is nicer that the A/C rooms, which are windowless and, as I assume, rather dark.
Our room and our bed were very clean, as were the facilities (showers and toilet in the backyard).
There is a very nice communal area where you can sit and have a cup of tea and a chat. Wi-Fi is available. If you use their computer, the first 30 minutes of internet use are free.
Coffee/tea are complimentary as well, and they have a bookshelf and magazines as well.
Laundry costs 8RM per kilo and you can hang it in the backyard (no dryer - but that's not necessary in that heat).
The guys of the hostel are very kind and organise some traveller-gatherings (dinners/parties).
All in all a nice, clean and laid-back hostel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuDowillFutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Very easy going, laid back place. Spotlessly clean- Sam the owner is always cleaning bless him- the facilities were cleaner than most of the hotels we have stayed in! And not a bed bug in sight- Sam religiously checks all the beds and treats them regularly to avoid any problems- if you suspect there may be some on your bed he will check right away, clean it, change your sheets and treat it but I can assure you that you won't find any. Take some insect repellent though as there are a lot of mossies in Melaka, and be prepared as it is very hot! Take an air-con room in this lovely backpackers place if you can. Lee who also works there ran a "dinner club" both nights we stayed which meant we all went out for dinner together to some lovely and very cheap places in town- definitely ask about doing this if you stay there. Would definitely stay there again. Our double room had windows on 2 sides and had the appearance of being on an almost open veranda, and also had a mosquito net.

Room Tip: Go for an air-con room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holleyradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#28 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jalan-Jalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalan-Jalan

Property: Jalan-Jalan
Address: 8 Jalan Tukang Emas, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jalan-Jalan 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jalan-Jalan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalan-Jalan Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing