We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place & good location”
Review of Jalan-Jalan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jalan-Jalan
Ranked #12 of 227 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed here for almost a week through a recommendation of a good friend & it was really more than I expected. Place was really clean & relaxing, also good place to see new friends, location nearby to city centre/ just few steps from Jonker street. The owner was pretty much helpful & informative, I couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nontjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We found this place, just outside the main busy streets in Chinatown, and stayed for two nights. We booked a double room which was perfect. It's basic but clean and nice, with windows overlooking the little garden. Sam, the guy who runs the place, is a really nice guy. When we left, I had forgotten my headtorch, it turned out that he had cycled after us to the bus station to give it back. He didn't find us so he sent it to our next stop by mail. I recommend this place and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nevandijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here based on reviews and it was pleasant enough. We had a double in the new building and it was a little odd as there was no staff there, so anytime you wanted to ask for anything or needed directions, we had to go up to the other building a block away.
The room was clean and bright and the fan was powerful. The shared bathrooms were clean enough, but there's only two shower/toilets and with two 6 bed dorms and 5 rooms, they get well used each day. The wifi is pretty fast in the common area and worked enough in our room at the end of the corridor. The guest house is in the no smoking area so the main common area is a smoking zone, which my partner and I disliked a lot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hologram_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing! We stayed in a fan room with lots of Windows that we didn't even need the fan. The place has charm and the quirky little details makes it feel like home. The vibe is upbeat, the kind of place where you meet new people and make new friends. They have bikes available which makes exploring Melaka infinitely better. Will definitely come back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kareeza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Great location in China town, fabulous light airy room with sunny outlook. Not fancy but everything you need. Nice staff and friendly guests. Very clean for our first time Asia. I would definitely stay here again. Perfect for our 4 nights stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great place. We just loved it from the minute we walked in.
Sam who runs it is amazing! So helpful and chilled.
Great chilled atmosphere for travelers and a good communal area to meet people.
Bikes are available, which is really the only way to see Melaka.
Stayed in a private fan room.
Sam even provided us with a padlock for our door.
Showers and bathroom outside. Washing machine available for a small charge and lots of space to hang your washing.

Close to the night market.
Really can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cquinn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I been staying here on and off since Oct 2013. The place is really value for money, clean and tidy. The caretaker (Sam) is always give an extra miles to make sure the guest feel like home. The room are so comfortable and the dorm space are big enough to put all your stuff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim_Solomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#43 of 169 in Melaka
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.2 mi away
Casa Blanca Guest House
Casa Blanca Guest House
#14 of 227 in Melaka
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
0.2 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 147 in Melaka
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hong
Hotel Hong
#3 of 227 in Melaka
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jalan-Jalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalan-Jalan

Address: 8 Jalan Tukang Emas, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: £7 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jalan-Jalan 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, HotelsClick, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Jalan-Jalan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalan-Jalan Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing