We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth visiting this night market!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Calanthe Art Cafe

Calanthe Art Cafe
Ranked #1 of 31 Coffee & Tea in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$5
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Get to try all different taste of authentic coffee from Malaysia 13 States'. Local cuisine, home-made desserts, varieties of drinks and many others. A place to not only to enjoy the coffee but also to relax, appreciate the building and many others.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,558 reviews
924 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,269 helpful votes
“Definitely worth visiting this night market!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I chose this place based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. The restaurant is located in a small street off Jonker St right at the doorstep of the weekend Jonker St Nightmarket. The place was busy and very
atmospheric. We had no service issues as suggested by a previous reviewer. Service was good and meals arrived promptly. Drinks were also replenished promptly.

I started with an entrée of Satay then had Nyona Fish as a main meal whilst my wife had the StuffedTofu Dish. Meals were very tasty and good.

This place is famous for coffee and has coffee from the 13 different states of Malaysia available.

There is both inside and outside seating. The place also had lots of quirky decorations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    226
    61
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Coffee From All Over Malaysia”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

With coffee from every state of Malaysia you'll easily find something to match your taste (Perak for me). The staff help you though the options and the wifi is welcome. Really enjoyed the break here.

Helpful?
Thank WSRevilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such awful service!!!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had a terrible experience durig my 2nd visit here. We came in a group of 4 friends. 2 left for about 10 mins to shop around jonker. One of the waitress (don't remember the name but she was manning the cashier later) immediately cleaned up the table adjoining to us and seated 2 other customers thr. Never bothered to ask if our friends are returning later. The customers were nice enough to ask if it's ok but they're elderly and we couldn't say no. 5 mins later, 2 tables were empty but the waitress nvr bothered to reseat them. We had to look for another table by ourselves cuz our friends are returning. We actually planned to hang out a bit longer there for snacks. But after all that awful experience, we left early. Will not recommend this place to anyone and will not return until customer service is improved.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelljl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Nothing special, Snickers smoothie was normal. Their brownie was good, not too sweet, sticky and gooey.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julian1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This was another great place to eat. The location was good and the cafe was easy to find. The food was excellent value and tasted great. The service was very good and staff were very friendly and helpful. The deserts were to die for. I would not hesitate to return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calanthe Art Cafe also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Calanthe Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing