We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean, spacious, excellent location”
Review of Da Som Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Da Som Inn
Ranked #8 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed with Da Som for 3 nights, and was allocated Room 6.

Noise level: We read about the morning mosque prayer, Room 6 is the second last room on the level two, and we could not hear the morning prayers at all.

Wifi: Wifi signal is weak, but lying at the foot of the bed seems to help. And standing up helps too. Don't ask me why. Wifi still functional though, if slow.

Cleanliness: Bathroom is so clean, even the plug chain is spotless. The sheets feel freshly laundered too.

Provided in the room: two towels, a small square of soap and two packets of shampoo. Definitely bring your own toiletries. I didn't expect otherwise, and no issue with that for the price of the room.

Location: Just one street behind Jonker Street, perfect location of 3 min walk from Jonker. Perfect proximity to Jalan Hang Jebat, Tun Tan Cheng Lock, no lack of food, provision shops, little knickknacks and things to explore. Jonker is really alive only on the weekend, week nights are quiet, though there are still dinner places to be had. Da Som is also right next to the famous dim sum place selling the famous big pau and lotus leaf rice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NuttyCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with a group of friends.

Friendly Korean owner only ask for deposit to secure the room for 4 person.

Checked in quite late as we tour around the town, the owner did called twice to confirm what time we going to check in. And give us the direction to the Inn.

Our room is No. 10 on the ground floor. Spacious clean room with ensuite bathroom (which is also quite huge). Wifi is a bit poor due to our room is at far end, but they do provide a PC at the common area.

Friendly staffs around. The Lady owner even help us to taxi with our bags!

Mosque is just opposite, read about peoples' reviewers for light sleepers, luckily I managed to get a good sleep without disturb with the early prayers in the morning.

I will recommend friends & relatives to stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ic3_amethyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel location is vy good,just few step to jonker street night market,you can find many nice restaurant around the hotel.
They have a nice little garden,room vy clean n lovely.
The hotel staff vy friendly n helpful.
Thumb up!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsally9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The rooms were very well cleaned. Very comfy and cozy. The building is very well maintained even if its an aged one. People working there are very nice and friendly. As one of my friend was having headache, there are no convenient shops around, the hotel authority provided us a Chinese medicine that cures headache. Definitely recommending my family and friends to stay there the next time :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Da Som Inn is operated by Koreans.. Just behind Jonker Street. Since everyone has mentioned the cleanliness and location of the Inn, I will not go further. One thing I wanna highlight is that it is located right in front of a Mosque. If you are a light sleeper, i suggest you to request for a room at the back of the Inn, which is more quiet. Because they usually broadcast their prayers very early in the morning that may disturb your sleep.

However, if you are a internet person... the wifi will be weaker at the back... I stayed at the second storey and right at the back of the Inn. Room 7. I need to come out of my room and connect to the wifi due to weak frequency.

Else, everything is up to our standard of comfort. Last but not least, the Chinese Resturant serves good morning tim sum.

Room Tip: Further back of the Inn is more quiet and away from the Muslim prayers from the mosque's speaker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dericcino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Nice hotel, located beside Jonker Street, without the hassle and noise of Jonker Street. Booked 2 rooms, both v spacious. One is deluxe double on first floor. Quiet and beside a small courtyard. The second room is deluxe triple, located on 2nd floor. It is along the road, opposite the mosque. Be prepared to be woken up early in the morning by prayers, otherwise ask for rooms away from the road. Will definitely book this hotel if I am back in Malacca again.

Breakfast is not included. There is a dim sum restaurant next door. Their big pau is great, other items are ok only. Crowded place, not easy to get seats and hard to get attention of serving staff who brings assorted dim sum to tables for selection. If you want good food, try Jonker 88. It opens at around 10am, so be there early to queue.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sphoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Da Som Inn is in a street parallel to the main drag Jonker St (which is too noisy to stay on), so excellent location. You can walk all around town from there. Rooms were very clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. There's no breakfast and amenities are basic, but its cheap so you can't expect 5 star service. Most importantly it had a great ceiling fan and air conditioning which are a must as it's very hot in Melaka. It is just across the road from the mosque so the call to prayer is quite loud. We were very happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 168 in Melaka
1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#35 of 168 in Melaka
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#23 of 168 in Melaka
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Som Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Som Inn

Address: 28 Jalan Tukang Emas, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Price Range: £16 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Som Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly refurbished ancestral house in the heart of unesco world heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Da Som Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Som Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing