We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bird's Eye View of Malaca”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Menara Taming Sari

Menara Taming Sari
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Bird's Eye View of Malaca”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It was exciting to go up into the Taming Sari Tower which was built to replicate the legendary Laksamana Hang Tuah's keris.

The journey brought you up and then the tower rotated giving you a bird's eye view of the city and also the Straits of Malacca. It was a fun ride and definitely worth trying

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FplusV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    323
    202
    25
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
276 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Superb view”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The ride gives you a great view of the entire city including the Melaka straits, beaches, old town, and the developing area around Melaka. The approximately 10 minute ride is very comfortable, it costs 10 RM per person and although we did it mid day, sunset or early evenings would be the most appropriate time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice View But Very Rude Ticket Lady”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Went there happily to see Melaka's view from above, but the ticket selling lady wasn't very pleasant. She insisted a 1 Year 10 Months boy to be 2 Years Old even after showing his MyKid, she insist of charging, arguing baby
s age is based on birth year not birthday, which is ridiculous. It ruined our experience.
But the view from the top was nice, would recommend this place if the counter lady would change her attitude.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabah_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
97 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great view from the top”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I leave this one till my last minute in malaka, i'm not that interesting at the beginning, but it was great view from the top, not sure with daylight, but on the night it was great. I think twilight will also good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Martin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

The 7 minutes of seeing malacca at 360 degrees is all worth it. I got to go during the night and it was nice seeing all the lights but I think it would be best to see it during the day so you can see a better view of all the attractions

Helpful?
Thank Macyblas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Menara Taming Sari also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Menara Taming Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing