We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Town Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
      View Hotel
      Excellent 5/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      View Hotel
      Average 3/5
      • Free Parking
      • Free Internet
      Reviews (253)
      Filter reviews
      253 results
      Traveller rating
      202
      43
      4
      0
      4
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      202
      43
      4
      0
      4
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewshelped us planguest house is cleanse asiacommunal areas areyong tau fookitchen facilitiestoast and jamair conclean and comfortable roomsfriendly hostsshort walkthe location is perfectwould stay againstayed here for nightssatayjonker streetsitting area
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      67 - 72 of 253 reviews
      Reviewed 13 October 2013

      Before we decided to book with Old Town we read so many positive reviews on so many different sites and now we can see why this place is loved so much. It has real character and its very clean and comfortable. It really does feel like you're staying at home there and it's location is great too, you can walk to the river from the guesthouse in about 5 minutes and Jonker Street. Highly recommended. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer here!

      • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Nikitajadet
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 7 October 2013

      Made reservation through their website, quickly done. Price wise: the best you will get for your bucks. Instructions to get there are clear (bus 16 to Bukit China leaves you right around the corner but leaves every hour from Melaka Sentral. If you want a quicker way take bus 17 to downtown, cross the river and walk towards Little India and Chinatown). Facilities are super clean and very nicely decorated. I had a fan room facing the street, not so noisy and comfortable bed. Bathrooms are always clean, never crowded. You have a simple breakfast (toast, tea/ coffee) available and a computer you can use. Best are the common areas: spacious, colorful, a TV living room, a library/lounge area and a huge kitchen table. It's only a 10 min walk to Dutch Square and all you need to see in Melaka.
      Special mention to Chua: he is always there to help you in whatever information you need: e.g. time schedules for buses, where to get your backpack repaired! where and how to go to your next destination, the best restaurants in town. He is friendly, knowledgeable and you will have a good laugh with him. I met some very nice fellow travelers there. Don't expect a backpacker party scene though! Overall, don't look further for the perfect accommodation in Melaka!

      • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank TAHITI-VAEA
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 29 September 2013

      We went to Melaka to attend a marriage and hoping to put up in a Condo but discovered that it had't been used for a year and unsuitable for us. Through our Nephew Ananad Radhakrishnan's arrangement we landed up at Old Town Guesthouse and never regretted staying there. We were there for two nights and with Mr Chua's ever smiling company and the well equipped kitchen laden with food and drinks, we had a wonderful stay. We hope more and more people will get to enjoy their stay there.
      THANK YOU CHUA!!!

      Room Tip: Rooms at the back is excellent
      • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank TravellerS2226RQ
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 25 September 2013

      We stayed at the Old Town Guesthouse for two weeks in August and we had a really great time there! Old Town is offering everything a traveller needs: Nice rooms, that are very inexpensive, very clean toilet and shower, a nice kitchen area and a huge communal area with a sofa, a library and much much more! And on top you have Chua, who is the perfect host! He can explain you a lot about the surroundings and he even took us out for dinner a couple of times! Thank you so much Chua for the wonderful time we had in Malacca! Take care, best wishes Robert & Lina

      • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank LinaUndRobert
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 22 September 2013

      We booked here after having a quick flick through tripadvisor, email sent and we had a reply and a room sorted in no time!

      Nice and easy to find using the local bus from the bus station as the instructions stated! Very fireldny from the moment we got there, huge living/ lounge area, bright and airy! We arrived just as a friend of the owner started to paint another huge piece along the walls, a few hours a night and he was getting loads done, cool to see. Nice breakfast with different fruit, and peanut butter as well as jam for toast! Peanut Butter is always such a welcome sight when we get somewhere! Endless advice on what to do, where to go and see and eat. We ate across the road at the Chinese stalls and at an Indian a few doors up, cheap, not very touristy and nice food! Even got told where I could get a hair cut for £2 instead of the usual £10 everywhere was charging which was useful!

      Thanks again, and for the keyrings!

      • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank EdSutch
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews