We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for budget price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 217 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Clean and spaceous guesthouse with friendly owners. We have stayed here for two nights and it was definitely à good choice. Breakfast is included and à laptop is free to use. Besides this, THE city centre is just à couple of minutes away.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Najat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Old Town Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2009

A great place, which is very clean and just a 5 min walk to the city centre. A public notebook is available, otherwise you can use the WIFI. Some people complained about not having a TV into the room...Do you really expect a TV into your room for this price? It's a backpackers place, where even families felt very cozy. But if you really need TV, the owner offers a big DVD collection for free. Everybody is very helpful and a family run atmosphere. EXCELLENT!!!

Alex, Germany

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Room is cozy, like a homestay, owners were friendly and prompt to offer us suggestions and directions around melaka. one tiny setback, is that though there is a tv in the common room, we do hope there is a tv in the ensuite room, may get a bit too noisy at night due to the coffee shop across the street, so room would be better with some soun d-proofing. Free wireless is available in the hostel which is good! good value for money!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nugetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Just came back from Malasya and can say that this guesthouse was the best option that we had during the trip.
The hosts are so friendly that sometimes it seems that you are one of their family.
It's very cozy and cheap, and cleanness is beyond praise. From some rooms it can you can hear the noise from the street, so ask host about it.
It take about 5-10 min to get to the major attraction, 3-5 min to the busstop (10 min and 1RM by bus to Melaka Sentral). It's not
I'll hope it will be home for a while for you too)))

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inc_foxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

This guesthouse has everything you need for a short or extended stay in Malacca. It is a huge space with cozy loungeroom with books to borrow (or trade, 2 of your books for one of the guesthouses) there is another quiet open area you can work in if necessary. Bikes are available for hire (5 RM per day) and were a great way to sightsee (amazingly the Malaccan traffic is not so scary once you are riding through it!!) The hosts are really thoughtful and relaxed, happy to help out. It is very good value for your money, the only problem is that the guesthouse is on a busy road. This is good location wise: it is easy to get everywhere, there is a great food spot directly across the road. But the road is noisy all day and night, and the windows are not very soundproof. My partner sleeps well and slept easily through the night but I has earplugs in and still struggled to sleep all night. There are other rooms available off the main road, such as the dorm and I think 2 other private rooms. These do not have windows to the outside but I would not let this put you off staying here, everthing else is so good and this guesthouse, with its abuntant space, fridge for guests, wifi etc, makes it very easy to make your stay in Malacca self sufficient.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1000years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We stayed in the Old Town Guest House after several weeks in Vietnam and Singapore and we can honestly say this was the best place we stayed. The French and KL owners are lovely, really friendly and helpful. The place has just been renovated so its all got the "new ikea" feeling which was a great reminder of home! Constant free water, coffee, tea and as much toast as you can eat for brekkie!! Wi Fi has a great signal, its only a short walk to the main areas, but quiet enjoyable to have a walk we found. Very close to the highly recommended Capitol Satay if you fancy that for dinner.
I would recommend anyoneto stay here and if i was to go back to Melaka I would certainly return, thanks Christoph and your wife for a great stay, MAtt and KAte

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FussyBudgetTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

What a good idea we had to go to this guesthouse (after seeing it on youtube), this is by far the nicest guesthouse we've been to around Asia... We stayed a week (after we initially planned 3 days), enjoying the (free) coffe and tea while reading graphic novels. We can see that the owners have created the atmosphere they were looking for while they were traveling: cheap, comfortable and relaxed. After a couple of days we really felt like at home.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoPoloDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.4 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
0.3 mi away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#4 of 217 in Melaka
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Guesthouse

Address: 119 Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: £11 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Old Town Guesthouse, a place where you can feel at home. We’re a budget guesthouse with charm and we are one of the cheapest options because we don’t have staff – we do everything ourselves. Our home is your home – come sit back, relax, and join us for a cup of coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Town Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Guesthouse Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing