We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for just 2 nights, felt like home the first.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stayed here for just 2 nights, felt like home the first.”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Very good value guesthouse. Christophe & his little girl shared their big guesthouse with us. Really cozy, friendly & helpful. They're located just outside the touristic center of Melaka, only 10 minutes walk to where all the sights are. Very helpful with travel information as well.

Very recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabloeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    42
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
37
108
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rennes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2010

A really peaceful guesthouse, owned by a friendly family, whith a so kind little daughter.
It's just near the old town whith it's typical chinatown streets (5-10 minutes by walk), so it is not crowded and noisy. And the fabulous: it is situated in the best street for food!
The guesthouse is really cheap, really clean, really relax, you can lay behind a movie whith your cup of tea or coffee. If you want, you can cook.You feel so like home. Lee San and Christophe, the owners, are too kind and helpfull, offering you everything you need, that you REALLY DON'T WANT TO LEAVE or you REALLY WANT TO COME AGAIN!
The best guesthouse I've ever seen in Malaisia.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_thewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed for three days in this " no 1" trip advisor suggestion and we simply had a great time. The guesthouse is very well managed, clean and provides indeed a home in a busy city. We have three kids (5, 9, 11) and they loved it there. There is room to manouvre and everything is very relaxed. Lisan and Christophe are helping yopu finding your way in Melaka and provide you with tips. Rooms are clean and have good beds. Value for money is simply excellent, also given the good location of the guesthouse, For us its was the first guesthouse in Malaysia (after many resorts and hotels) but is outperformed everything else.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmsterdamThomas2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

A lovely guesthouse, a family run B&B. The owners were so kind and helpful, and their little daughter is very cute! It's about a 5/10min walk into the main town square and Melaka is very easy to get around on foot.

It was very clean, had a real friendly atmosphere. It's great value. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ezziebahnezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed at the Old Town Guesthouse back in April and had such a lovely time we kept extending and extending our time there! Unfortunately the owners were away on holidays at the time but we had the pleasure of Karen and Alister as our hosts instead! Lovely couple who really added to our time there! The Guesthouse itself is lovely, had a double room with a window looking out over the market, a huge DVD collection, free water, beers that were cheaper than buying them in a store, free breakfast, clean showers, the list just went on... it was literally a home from home! The location of the guesthouse was only a quick 5 minutes walk to the Old Town but the best food was in the guesthouse area! To the left of the guesthouse is a duck restaurant, yum, then to the right there is an amazing Indian and across in the market an assortment of food including the best Popiah (spring roll) I ate in Malaysia! We left very reluctantly and 5 kgs heavier:)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salutkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We stayed at Old Town for 3 nights in March when we visited Melaka. We chose this guesthouse based on reviews on Tripadvisor and other online reviews.

We found the place without any hassle as the local bus left us off just round the corner and the owners had emailed us simple instructions of how to get there from the bus stop.

The guesthouse is set between a Chinese restaurant famed for its duck rice and an Indian restaurant which does great tandoori meals, juices and naan breads. It's a new place with a nice communal area for eating breakfast and watching TV and another for using the laptop provided for guests (there is also wifi).

The rooms are large and the beds comfortable and a steal at just £8 a night with aircon (if you can stick the heat of Melaka with just a fan then you can pay a lot less). The shared bathrooms are very clean and there are enough of them to ensure there isn't a queue in the morning.

The lovely family who own and run the place also live there and this gives it a warm, homestay feel. On our final morning they even invited us to have a traditional nasi lemak breakfast with them which was lovely.

It's a pleasant 5 minute walk to the town square which is utterly beautiful and from there just a short walk across the bridge into Chinatown. You can pay a lot more money to stay in the very centre but I doubt you'll get the same value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Old Town was a fantastic place. The rooms, bathrooms and toilets are spotless, the couple who runs the place is very nice and helpful, there's free wifi and the breakfast is included. 30 RM for a room with ac is fantastic!!! The only downside is the fact that the hotel it not located in Chinatown, but is close enough.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flaviosimonetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.4 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Guesthouse

Property: Old Town Guesthouse
Address: 119 Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Old Town Guesthouse, a place where you can feel at home. We’re a budget guesthouse with charm and we are one of the cheapest options because we don’t have staff – we do everything ourselves. Our home is your home – come sit back, relax, and join us for a cup of coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Guesthouse Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing