We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #117 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Family Hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment which can easily accomodate 8 people. There were 8 beds with few of them double beds. All rooms had attached bathrooms. The decor were very basics and practical. The flooring were not carpeted but the floor were clean and well kept. The apartment is not part of main hotel so when youi check in do not unload all your luggage at the lobby. You have to later drive about 200 metres to the back to access the apartment. There is covered footpath from aprtment to hotel for breakfast etc, so there was no real problem. Overall service was good. The breakfast was also good for 3 star hotel.
Overall the hotel is recommended for large family.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtmtahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    20
    27
    14
    5
See reviews for
33
5
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

At the reception, Check-in very fast. As it was the Chinese New year celebrations, there was cookies, mandarin oranges and drinks for guests at the lobby which we enjoyed. The bath towels are fresh and clean. Good for small family as as rooms furnished with a queen and single bed.

Wi-fi not really working in the room, we have to bring our lap-tops to the lobby to surf the net.

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing apartment, opposite rooms fronting the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kehkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

It's a very big apartment with 2 bedrooms and 2 attached toilets. The 1st impression was a disappointment as the pictures appeared on the web looks more appealing. The actual place looks dirty with sticky and dusty floor, stained curtains and chairs. No kitchenette. Malfunction shower area. Full toiletries given but stain of soap found on the selve. Beware of cracked tiles. No double lock for the apartment door except a loose latch.
Definitely, won't staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MdmCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings H, Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
After reading your feedback on our Hotel Apartment, I would like to apologize for what you have encountered during your stay there. We are constantly trying to improve on our weaknesses. We now have maintenance on pest control in our rooms and apartments by our staff.
Thank you.
Kings Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I went to Malacca for a R&R with my friends and since there were five of us, we decided to rent an apartment as it would be cheaper. The apartment we stayed in consisted of two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a living room.

Apartment:
- 1st bedroom has two single beds
- 2nd bedroom has 1 single bed and 1 queen size bed
- Each room has its own bathroom
- Living room has two large sofas, TV, dining chairs and table and fridge

Location:
- The hotel is located 15 mins by car from Malacca town
- Has a few shop lots near by the hotel

Pros:
- Apartment is very spacious and can accommodate up to 10 people (if they bring their own sleeping bags)

Cons:
- THE BATHROOM IN THE APARTMENT HAS COCKROACHES!!!!!!!!!

Overall, I liked the big spacious apartment however the cockroaches was really a big turn-off. I would NOT recommend this place to people who are not driving as it is not easily accessible by public transport.

The price of the apartment is not too bad as each of us paid around RM 70++ (note: price subjected to change).

I would not recommend this hotel apartment to anyone as the roaches reflect the cleanliness of the hotel. I will probably stay in the city center the next time I visit Malacca.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings H, Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Sir,
Apologize for the roaches you have encountered during your stay in our Apartment. We have taken action on it. We have now pest control by our maintenance staff every alternate days. Please do come back and enjoy our spacious rooms.
Thank you.
Kings Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I was on a 2 days working trip with my 2 other colleagues. The night stay was good but the staff right from the reception, housekeeping and banquet were not friendly. Seen some trainees were trained right in front of the customers and treated unprofessionally. Though we are local visitors sure we need equal treatment same as the foreign tourist had.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasilawaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sepang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

I went to Melaka and checked in a 3 rooms apartment at Kings Hotel on 21/5/2011 for family gathering. My family very enjoy to stay there because the living hall and the rooms is so big and comfortable. The most enjoy part is the mattress--- is new. Because I have checked in two years ago the mattress is just a normal mattress and the single bed is bigger than our household size. However, we will more appreciate if hotel can change the sofa set in the living hall is not comfortable to sit and change the TV set will make the room look more high class. Overall, we like it very much.

Other than that, we are enjoy the breakfast too. Even is not a lot of varieties but compare to others hotel this hotel have a very nice Cafe-- very Nyonya feel with the decoration and design. With RM12nett per adult, is very reasonable because it is with egg station, and my parent like Roti Hainan very much (they like the kaya.... taste nice). Only part to be improve is the arrangement of the food especially at the bread counter is not very attractive.

I'm sure will come again for my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mybabylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

My one night stay here can only be described as UNSATISFIED. The room looks old and shabby. The air condition is old and ancient looking. The bed is okay but it makes my skin itchy after sleeping on it. The breakfast provided is not good, not good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadoyama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melaka
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kobemas Melaka
Hotel Kobemas Melaka
#77 of 166 in Melaka
31 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Melaka
Hotel Seri Malaysia Melaka
#4 of 9 in Ayer Keroh
47 reviews
5.4 mi away
Midcity Hotel Melaka
Midcity Hotel Melaka
#99 of 166 in Melaka
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hallmark Crown Hotel - Melaka
4.6 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#22 of 166 in Melaka
166 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Shore Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: No. 30 Jalan Ayer Keroh, Melaka 75450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its a Hotel and Apartment. In total we have 70 rooms. Ample parking space. Walking distance to shopping mall and supermarket ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing