We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing more than basic”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #118 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

my family and i stayed during chinese new year, everything is ok except there is an unpleasant smell in the room. i like the thai restaurant in the hotel ad it serves quite delicious cuisines under a cosy environment.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toosf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings H, Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Apologize for the unpleasant smell that you had encountered during your stay at our hotel. We have rectified it. The smell probably would have come from the wardrobe. We had air freshened and ionized it.
Thank you.
Kings Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We hired a rental car from Kuala Lumpur and drove down to Melaka. Highly recommend travelling like this by the way. I had purposely booked Kings online prior to arriving in Malaysia for the free and easy carparking and budget price and given reviews said clean and tidy. Location is easy to find with GPS, but being right by the main road and large intersection and opposite a hospital - the traffic and sirens are a bit noisey! It is clean and tidy but rooms a bit dated. Lunch and evening meals in restaurant are great - but breakfast a bit odd. Beware of the coffee - unless you like it very strong! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is great if you have a vehicle - bit out of the way if you don't. Bukit Cafe & Restaurant just a short walk away past the petrol stations well worth going to - very cheap meals, great food, service is excellent. Overall the Kings did what we needed, a solid place to sleep - but not to hang out in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeBee2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings H, Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback. As for the noise and sometimes siren, it cant be helped as the Hotel is located close by a Hospital and the main highway leading to the city of Melaka.
Coffee taste is very subjective. Some like it thick and some like it dilute. We will inform Kings Cafe and try to comprise.
Management Kings Hotel
21st Jan 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Was there to attend an event in Melaka. Managed to book this hotel. Price is reasonable. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Food at the restaurant is good but the room condition and cleanliness is terrible. Got the joining room and both room has faulty aircon. Towels in room is very very old and dirty. Advisable to bring along your own towel and toiletries. If you are on a tight budget, this hotel is just the best. 30mins to Melaka town, good luck.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings H, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Yes, this is the hotel is affordable and its clean. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Arrived at around 12:30 past mid night. Receptionist very helpful and cheerful chap. Recommended an apartment AG04. Very good size for family of 5 unfortunately Singaporeans usually don't have that large family unless including Ah Kong and Ah Mah. Room smells of dampness. Cushions and sofa need urgent upholstery. Curtain need to be change. Toilet in 2 bedder gonna drop off. Water pressure bloody low. Morning breakfast met a very rude egg cooking female staff who does not know how to poach an egg.
The excellent part of this hotel:
(1) Large clean towels, (2) Excellent room service (3) Chef for eggs counter in the morning is excellent (4) Excellent parking facility (5) Large airy rooms (6) Away from the city noise (7) Ambiance in Coffee House very nice (8) Large and friendly Reception Area......A wonderful stay

Room Tip: stayed only in the apartments if you have got big family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TackyAlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings H, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Our hotel is on 24 hour service. We expect some late walk-in guests like any other hotels, If we have available rooms we will definitely offer to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A great place to stay for family. We stayed in the 3 bedrooms apartment. It is a separate building from the main reception. It is spacious & clean. It has all the basic necessity. Staffs are very helpful & friendly. Price are reasonable. It is worth the money. Location is strategic as well. Not too far from all the attraction places. The only thing is the breakfast is consist of thin buffet spread. The same selection for 2 days we were there. The food is fine. Not sure if it meets the international palate.

From a local point of you, if you are not picky, this is a great place to stay with family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovepeace83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings H, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Its a great place for family because its clean. The rooms are spacious and ample parking space. It is also located near a shopping mall and a supermarket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just had a two nights stay with family of 4 from 14th June to 16th June at Kings Hotel Ayer Keroh Melaka. We were at Melaka because of swimming competition at nearby Hang Jebat Stadium and I immediately made a booking for the coming November swim meet which will be held at the same stadium.

We really felt like King when we request to have our buffet breakfast to be served by 6:30 am ( Normal time is 7:00am) due to the need of early departure and without failed our requests were complied with a smile. Even though the chefs start work at 6:00am but just for a family, the chefs need to get the breakfast by 6:30. All staffs from the reception to the dining area seem to know about our request.

The food is excellent especially the mee goring and very reasonable pricing. The superior room is comfortable and the only down side is only 1 card to given, this has caused us some inconvenience when I need to go out and only come back after my children slept, need to ring the bell in their sleep.

Overall this is THE place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poorislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings H, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Our staffs are friendly and helpful to all guests whether walk-in or arranged by tour agencies. To us customer care is utmost important in our business policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Had stayed there for at least 3-4 times almost every time I visit Malacca, prices I would consider reasonable. Hotel Lobby looks grand, very professional too. Staffs at the reception are friendly, car park was big enough & security was pretty good I was pretty comfortable with having my car parked there. I would in fact recommend the hotel to have the carpark covered for their guests easy access.

Rooms are big bed are comfy with ample pillows given, bathrooms are clean too. Thai restaurant food was nice with very comfy ambience, prices was reasonable too. Thumbs up! Room service was at an affordable price too & it was fast in sending up their food. I would say that with a budget hotel standard they have in fact won in many ways they should have been rated higher. The hotel is also near to 1 of the hypermarket Jusco, I always do my groceries shopping before I head out to the expresway

The hotel is definitely 1 of my favourite choice to stay when I am in Malacca.
Cons: is pretty far away from places like Jonker street

Room Tip: Parking is super cheap if you will shop for groceries @ Jusco before coming back car park is big eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esther2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings H, Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your compliments of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melaka
4.9 mi away
M Hotel
M Hotel
#94 of 168 in Melaka
11 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Melaka
Hotel Seri Malaysia Melaka
#5 of 9 in Ayer Keroh
49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Kobemas Melaka
Hotel Kobemas Melaka
#95 of 168 in Melaka
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hallmark View Hotel
Hallmark View Hotel
#62 of 168 in Melaka
45 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#25 of 168 in Melaka
174 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sunflower Villas
Sunflower Villas
#65 of 168 in Melaka
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Address: No. 30 Jalan Ayer Keroh, Melaka 75450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £28 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its a Hotel and Apartment. In total we have 70 rooms. Ample parking space. Walking distance to shopping mall and supermarket ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing