We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stay there for 1 night after reading the rave reviews about this hotel. I got room G6. The room has got a strong musky smell the moment we walked in. It was tolerable but could have been nicer if there is an air filter or room fragrance to eliminate it. The other thing I dislike is the toilet. There is no door! Also, the room is not completely dark as the blinds were not enough to block off the light from the corridors. Pillows were not so comfy too. Bed is a little smaller than what I use to. Other than that, I liked everything else. I must say that all the staff we met are very pleasant & eager to please. We wanted to go Bei Zhan for dinner & had preferred to walk there. One of the staff, Christopher, was so kind to offer to lead us the way there. Service here was really impressive & everyone was willing to go the extra mile. I see that every staff seemed very happy working there. kudos to the owners! Breakfast was very good. Chicken rice was served when I was there. They used kampong chicken & it was very nicely cooked that we can't resist going back for refills. It's a small spread but ingredients were fresh & well prepared, so much better than those buffet breadfast from the other big chain hotels that we have stayed. I think they deserve all compliments for trying.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sg1traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

What a little gem this was! A beautifully refurbished property in the heart of Old Malacca. All emailing was promptly and efficiently handled by Amar, whose welcoming smile on arrival and each entry to the hotel's premises was much appreciated. Request a quietly located deluxe upstairs room and you won't be disappointed! The rooms are spacious , including the bathroom and the large walk in shower with large rose head one of the best ever!! We would not hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JandJteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The place was beautifully decorated with a sense peranakan culture, even though the superior room was rather small but it has everything we need. I enjoyed my stays for one night, very relaxing after a long walk around Malacca.

The receptionist is friendly and gave us a map on places we should go, it was helpful but I advised it's better to print out a google map, it's much clearer. If you want to check in earlier than 2pm, its better if you called beforehand like a day or two before.

For breakfast, the food was overall good. better than average. The walking distance to Jonker Walk is just a street away, very convenient.

However, The toilet door cant be lock, though and If you stay on the lower ground, you can hear footsteps from upstairs quite clearly, nothing too distracting unless your a light sleeper.

Definitely would come again, the price is a bit pricey but it's worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlingc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The hotel is in a great location from which we could walk to all of the major sites and attractions. The staff were very friendly and approachable and always did their best to deal with any questions we had. Our room was quite small but had everything we needed including a very comfortable bed!

Would definitely recommend to friends visiting Melaka.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuerrillaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed here for two nights in May 2011 in the Junior suite. The location is perfect for a stay in Melaka, being one street over fron Jonker street and only a 5-10 minute walk to the river, depending on what you stop to look at on the way.

Reception staff were very welcoming and were helpful with providing advice during our stay.

The room was very nice, the only thing detractiong from it was the view from the outside balcony was only of a small enclosed courtyard.

Would definitely stay here again if ever in Melaka again

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SKI_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The hotel is in a great location with secure parking at the back. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The building has been quite cleverly converted into rooms but some issues make it less than comfortable for a longer stay or for those who spend a lot of time in the room. Our room was very damp smelling and the duvet felt damp. The bed was very small. There are no windows which we found ok as this means there is no traffic noise. However,artificial light comes in at night through internal windows and skylights making it hard to sleep. The walls are paper thin with constant noises from pipes, or from people using the toilet in rooms above. Also we were placed next to the cleaner's room so all afternoon there was the noise of chatting and bagging up laundry. It is a real shame as the place could be so much better.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hellykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of June in a Deluxe Family room.

We booked via email and found the hotel to be very quick and efficient at responding. Despite us changing our dates slightly three times the hotel were always accommodating and efficient.

The hotel is located in the next street to Jonker walk, a few minutes walk from the river, Stadthuys, the malls, and all the other central Melaka attractions. It is a beautiful old property in the heart of the old part of Melaka but on a very busy street. Once inside however the hotel is a little oasis of calm! We were given a very welcome cold drink and checked in efficiently and our luggage was taken straight up to our room.

Our room was very clean and spacious with two double beds. We also had a very well equiped and well appointed bathroom with separate enormous shower. The room also had a large safe deposit box and flat screen TV. Worth noting that on the one time we turned the TV on the reception wasn't brilliant but we weren't bothered by this at all as we weren't visiting Melaka to watch TV! The beds were very very comfortable and there was also a plentiful supply of tea and coffee making facilities. The wifi worked well in our room on all seven days we were there too. A free newspaper was delivered to our door every day

The breakfast was different each morning with a good variety of asian and western food, fruit, yoghurt, bread, cereal etc etc (Make sure you try the banana fritters they are gorgeous!) and nothing was too much trouble for the team of staff who served us. They were very attentive and replenished tea and coffee and cleared dishes the second you were finished. I think this is the main thing about this hotel and much, much more than how nice the fixtures and fittings are (which they are!). It is some of the most excellent team of staff I have ever come across. Every time you met with someone from the hotel you were greeted with genuine smiles and hello's and an enquiry about how you were today of if you were having a good day etc. It was my friends birthday whilst we were there and when Alvin the chef found out we were prepared not one but two special breakfasts to celebrate which were delicious! Alvin then went out of his way to make sure we were happy and that we visited the best places to eat in Melaka for all types of food. On one occasion Alvin advised us where to get the best satay and when we had problems locating the place he actually took us in his car to make sure we got to try the (absolutely wonderful and very cheap!) satay! On our last day Alvin also brought us some tea to take home with us as a gift and made sure we had drinks for our journey onwards to the Perhentian Islands. All above and beyond the call of duty but all made our stay in Melaka memorable and very special.

You will really not be disappointed if you book here and will get a real taste of Melaka and some fantastic hospitality!

If you read this Alvin and the Coutyard Heeren team thank you once again for making our holiday in Melaka a special one and we will return!

Pros - Everything! Excellent customer service, location, facilities, value for money
Cons - Nothing!

Room Tip: Book early as poss to avoid disappointment
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lady-Wanderer-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,423 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
634 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
733 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Address: 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £33 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing