We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but check if renovating during your stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed in a superior family room, which looks exactly as per the website. There was a double bed mattress and a single bed mattress both on a raised wooden platform. Hard to describe but it looked pretty cool and was actually great as we didn't have to worry about the kids getting hurt when they fell out of bed. The room also had TV and air con.

We loved the location - Heeren St is one street back from Jonkers St (where most of the tourist shops and restaurants are) and the hotel is a short walk from the main tourist attractions across the river. It was also good having car parking.

Buffet breakfast was included at the hotel's cafe across the road (in another restored house). The buffet selection was quite small but there was also eggs cooked to order and staff were very helpful.

Our main gripe was that the hotel was undergoing major renovations during our stay and we were constantly walking through the dusty hallway to get to our room. Also there was one night where the workmen were banging about until late in the evening. We think that the hotel should have advised us that there would be renovations at the time that we made our booking or they should have put us in a room not affected by the renovations.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

I recently stayed at the Courtyard@Heeren, many thanks to the positive reviews from this website. And I was pleasantly surprised at the friendliness of the staff, and the cleanliness of the place upon arrival.

We (family of 4) stayed in a Family Room meant for 3 persons. The room is spacious though we realised the 4 of us should have better space if we took 2 rooms instead of a family room. Nevertheless, it was really nice and the room came with a modern bathroom with natural light during the day. The towels and sheets were spotless and floors were superclean. I really enjoyed my stay there and will introduce my relatives and friends there the next time they visit Melaka. After we checked out, we found out that we left a phone charger in the room. When my sister called them, they said they have found it and will keep it for her to collect. Impressive service!

However, I do hope that the management will take into consideration when it comes to fixing electrical sockets and making sure the switches function as they should. For instance, there is a master switch for the room, and technically when the master switch is ON, we should be able to switch off the room light while leaving the bathroom light on if we want to. However, the bathroom light can only be switched on when the masterswitch + the roomlight were ON. So, just imagine, our room light went on/off a few times throughout the night as my parents went to the bathroom.

Next, the electrical sockets were all loose, one fell out. The bedside lamp plug was loose and it also fell out easily from the socket. We had to hold the socket against the wall when we wanted to plug in our phone chargers.

Another thing I'd like to highlight is the drainage of the shower is very poor. Water pooled around all our feet when we took showers and it only drained away 10-15 minutes after each shower. This isn't safe for kids or old people, and is clearly unhygienic!! Perhaps this is due to the makeup of the drainage or the cleaning personnel haven't been taught to clear/clean drainers in bathrooms? Please look into this before future visitors leave an unsavory comment about your hotel.

Thank you for making a great impression on us (despite the little hiccups with the room).

Room Tip: Opt for rooms on the Ground floor if you have elderly people with you. Otherwise you've two flig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xine139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We specifically chose Courtyard@Heeren as it marketed as an elegant, filled with traditional culture/architecture boutique hotel. The actual fact: the furnitures were not even appreciated by staff, with boxes of their stocks for safe boxes STACKED at the waiting area beside the reception, where guests are to be seated.

Actual Fact: Dont assume you will get a good room! All rooms there are different, NOT IN A GOOD WAY!
We were not happy with the room we got as it was nothing like the pictures in the website. When we requested for a room change, they said it was the price that we have paid for and the other rooms were for bigger families. For us, RM260 for a hotel in Melaka is not cheap and for us to get a reply like that is REDICULOUS. We strongly suggest for future patrons to request for the hotel to email you the picture of the room given. We were glad that we were there only for one night.

We stayed in G1. The floors were fully scratched and the room had a strong musky wood smell. The lights in the shower were not functioning and when we inquired, they sent immediate workmen- which was good. However, it was a wiring fault and there was nothing they could do about it. We requested a double bed and we got two singles which was later combined, so we could "conveniently" slowly fall in between the single beds at night.

There were some renovation works during our trip there on the 9th June 2012. We had a workman who had his ladder leaning on our window and he was chiseling away when we checked in. When we enquired, they simply said that the workmen will only start at 11am onwards (with a smile!!!). Conveniently for them, we were out exploring Melaka at that hour onwards. But I could not imagine how it will be if we went there and simply wanted a rest. Do we have to inform the hotel that we would like a rest?? Isn’t that a known priority??

Overall, we had to put up with darkness in the shower, the strong musky wood smell in the room, the sound of renovation/ work in progress and an over-estimated room- which is nothing like we saw on the website, WITHOUT any regrets from the hotel. We did not go crazy to the reception as we were sure that we will not come again. We only had one night there- thankfully, and we were disappointed that we did not have one good night.

One thing we were pleased about was the fact that there was a parking space for our car and they have recommended us a lovely tour guide for us in Melaka. Can another hotel offer us this as well? You figure

Room Tip: My main tip is to not go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tashdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Unique boutique hotel with great service. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winnie_lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Unforgettable stay here, must try at least one night, and at a very affordable price.

Room Tip: You may try asking to upgrade to a higher grade room during low peak season especially weekdays , of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIonLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Each room in the hotel is uniquely designed and interiors are peppered with peranakan accents. The very large bed and soft pillows made for a very comfortable stay. Water pressure from the overhead rain shower was good as well.

Hotel breakfast was served in another beautifully restored peranakan shophouse across the street, and the food was wonderful, especially the mini egg tarts.

Highly recommend this hotel for travellers who wish to take in the authentic Malaccan experience without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gweegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The excellent reviews by fellow trip advisors are spot-on. Stayed here one night in the Superior Family Room (F2) called 秀菊 (which means Elegant Chrysanthemum) on the 2nd storey. Room is slightly small for family, but clean and pleasant. Comes with one queen-size bed and one single bed. Room is quiet, and shower room has rain shower dispenser with plenty of skylight. Free wi-fi within room but connection may be slightly weak.

If you drive, the parking behind the hotel are spacious and relatively clean. The hotel employs security guard at night to watch the parking area, and this is reassuring.

Breakfast was a good spread of western items (ham, potato wedges, sausages), fruits, corn flakes, yoghurt and Chinese chicken porridge. The breakfast cafe is beautifully decorated with a waterfall wall and koi fish pond in the centre. You will feel relaxed and happy to have breakfast in such a well-designed environment.

It is in a relatively quieter road next to Jonker street, and walking distance to many eateries, shops and bars.

Overall, a memorable stay and I would be happy to return again. This place is good for families, couples and business stays. However, there is no gym or swimming pool facilities here.

P.S. If you are using GPS, be careful not to go to the wrong Heeren. There is another hotel called Hotel Heeren Inn (yellow signboard) along the same street (nearer the river, Sungei Melaka and Hoe Kee Chicken Rice Balls). Don't worry if you go to the wrong Heeren, as Courtyard @ Heeren (Green Signboard) is only 200 m along the same road.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zksk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 169 in Melaka
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 169 in Melaka
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 169 in Melaka
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Address: 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £34 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing