We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely heritage hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We enjoyed everything about our stay. It was a pleasure to enter this converted peranakan house with its authentic furniture and welcoming staff. This boutique hotel is located in the heritage listed area, just one street from the Jonker Street Night Market. We had a comfortable 4 poster bed in our room which was simply but beautifully decorated.

Breakfast was a bit unusual - you have to cross the road and go through a shop to the dining area behind. There was a good choice of Asian and western food.

The staff were very helpful - from giving general tourist advice to arranging a private transfer to KL. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I would like to add to the already many glowing reviews of this hotel.
We stayed for 2 nights/3 days in July 2014; accommodating 2 rooms for 5 people (1 x Superior Twin and 1 x Family Deluxe).

Every contact we had with each of the Hotel staff on each encounter was friendly and efficient - from the initial enquiry/booking emails to the check-in staff; to the breakfast staff and the Hotel's transportation services to and from KL.

The Hotel in a restored historical, grand Baba Nyonya house is absolutely gorgeous and fascinating. Whilst the renovation has equipped the hotel with the mod-cons (ensuite bathrooms, fabulous rain-showers, air-con, gorgeous internal gardens and sitting areas); the house retains it's character and grandeur.

The location is prime - only 1 street and less than 3 mins walk from the hustle and bustle of Jonker Street eateries and shops; yet still in a quiet location. It is also very easy to walk to Malacca's many historical sites of temples, mosques, Dutch, British and Portugese govt sites.

The provided breakfast is delicious, with emphasis on quality rather than quantity. It is not a huge spread of food; however what is on offer is delicious and authentic; served with a smile in a stunning, relaxing environment. The bain-maries of hot food and plates of fruit, pastries etc are replenished as soon as they are nearing empty. Eggs are cooked to order - omelette, scrambled, fried, poached, boiled. Local coffee and tea is served.

The lobby is also a wonderful place to sit and relax after a stint in the hot and humid Malacca weather. We are frequent travellers to Malaysia and all agreed that the heat was more intense in Malacca! Comfy chairs and water is provided in the a/c and the staff are unobtrusive. Our favourite time to enjoy the lobby was in the evenings after dinner.

The hotel is ideal for short stays. The rooms were large enough for our needs however not much space for luggage or hanging of clothes or towels.

Excellent free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel - which is increasingly a "must" for travellers.

The management of Courtyard @ Heeren are very attuned to the needs and likes of their clientele and do a fantastic job in providing an all-round, excellent service.

If only the Hotel had a pool, everything would be PERFECT :)

We will definitely return and hope the standards of service, cleanliness, efficiency and friendliness are maintained.

Room Tip: Choose 1st Floor Room - these are quieter. Superior Rooms do not have an in room safe.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tric0660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were impressed at this hotel. The staff are great, very warm, very friend and helpful which made our stay very relaxing. The room is nice and clean. The bed and pillows are comfortable. Breakfast was great, with a good selection of food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sqchat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We're really glad we stayed here because the place is beautiful, the staff is really friendly, and the location is excellent. The hotel looks just like the pictures; artistically decorated bedrooms and modern bathrooms. We were in the deluxe room and it was really big. There were plenty of storage places to put our stuff. The staff is very nice and helpful. They smile every time we walk by them, and they helped us with finding restaurants and getting taxis.
The hotel is located in the old section of town, close to many attractions. It's nice because we went back to the hotel and chill in the AC throughout the day when it got too hot (trust me, the hot and humidity really drained us... it was nice to change the soaked clothes so it's not so embarrassing). We wouldn't be able to do that if we stayed in Holiday Inn (which we considered) or some further away other hotels. All in all, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AuJusCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel and in Melaka. The staff is wonderful, very welcoming and helpful. The room is beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. The hotel is located in the center of the town, walking distance to the night market. There are some lovely cafes around the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnsmmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is unique and probably has the best location in town.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
What's bad: Parking is at the back alley and may not be so accessible; sleep quality was poor as we woke up by loud thud a couple times in the middle of night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I stayed at this wonderful little hotel in the old section of Malacca. When we arrived at the lobby we were warmly greeted and handed fresh wet towels to wipe our face and hands along with glasses of cold lemonade.
The staff were very friendly and advised us where to find good restaurants, etc.
The room was very clean and comfortable. We would definitely come back.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,425 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
634 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Address: 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £33 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing