We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great return visit”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My second time at Courtyard@Heeren, and enjoyed it just as much. Now have a larger breakfast room and it works very well - good space, and varied buffet. Lovely room (think it was deluxe - really worth it if you can manage that) - lots of room. And a great location - right in the old part of town where the night market runs at weekends. It's a very unique place so if you like beautifully renovated old properties, this is a dream.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    323
    98
    15
    9
See reviews for
270
517
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard for 3 nights with the family and we love the place. Room is beautifully decorated, comfortable room, great shower. will definitely stay again. The hotel is located in the heart of Melaka Town, thus it is very convenient to check out the amazing old town and to get nice local foods.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_TravelKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 days. Staff are very friendly.
From bookings, emails are promptly replied, very clear.

Beautifully boutique hotel with free Wi-Fi access.
I've booked a deluxe family room with a queen bed + a single bed.
Breakfast was served opposite the hotel, is also belongs to the courtyard.
It had a nice selection.

It is just located next street of Jonker street, so is very convenient to go for food hopping.
Eat and eat and eat non-stop =)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aichiensl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in August 2014. First night in a Deluxe Room and the second night in a Superior Room. Not by choice as I made my reservation just 2 days before arrival. Between the two, I actually preferred the Superior Room. The slightly larger Deluxe Room has a bar fridge and a safe. Other than that, it's about the same.

Service - very friendly and helpful staff.

Location - as mentioned by almost every review, is great.

Hotel Lobby - cool and nicely scented.

Breakfast - basic spread.

Deluxe Room - not so well equipped (the only clear TV reception is CNN all other channels are fuzzy, toiletries are painfully basic, no sofa only a desk chair to sit on), not very clean there were stains on the bathroom floor, not very well maintained (water stain on the ceiling and the tiles falling off the vanity bench inI the bathroom).

Superior Room - layout is better than the deluxe room, but water heater was broken (the staff promptly fixed it even though it was 10pm when we returned to the room and discovered that there was no hot water) and aircon was not cold even at 16 degrees. Same thing about maintenance with tiles falling off the vanity bathroom bench.

Another major consideration is that if you're a light sleeper, this might not be for you because you can hear the human traffic because of the wooden floorboards on the second floor, whether you're in the ground floor or second floor rooms. Noise comes from both people walking on the second level as well as when they walk or talk along the corridors to all the rooms.

My take is the Courtyard at Heeren is really just a budget hotel with a nice lobby. With that expectation in mind, I think I'll be quite happy with the experience overall. But the trouble is, because of the price, I expected more than a budget hotel experience. So for that, I am disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2o2ovision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our stay was short but sweet, we were welcome by friendly staff, the staff has been very helpful and attentive throughout our stay. The lobby and room is beautifully furnished. There is a beautiful courtyard in the middle of the hotel. The room is comfortable and cozy. Lots of famous food shops around the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrance_soo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Staff were helpful. Location is wonderful, just a street away from Jonker Street. Parking is just behind the hotel but not easy to locate, best to get the staff for help. It's just an open area parking but they have guard after 6pm to look after.

Breakfast is wonderful. They have both western and local food. Chicken rice is very nice. Atmosphere is good. It's nice to sit and just enjoy the breakfast.

As for the room, I personally dislike dirty floor and I got the room with tiles floor that's very old and dirty looking. We have friends who got the wooden flooring and they have no complain. Sad to say, toilet was much cleaner than the room.

Room Tip: Ask for room with wooden flooring if you can't stand dirty floor. Room on the 2nd floor are quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very centrally located in the old town of Melaka. The hotel is beautifully decorated. We booked a deluxe room and it was clean and beautiful. What makes this hotel so amazing is their lovely staff, they were wonderful and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markchongmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,244 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#3 of 167 in Melaka
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
1,162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Property: Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Address: 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing