We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a excellent weekend at this hotel and in Melaka. It is probably one of the best place to stay in Melaka, it is located in the heart of Malacca. The interesting part of this hotel is that they offer different room themes/designs, so every room feel and looks different. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The breakfast spread didn’t offer a wide selection like those big hotels, but it was sufficient with selections of local & western options. We would definitely come back for another stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Flyerkl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

My second time at Courtyard@Heeren, and enjoyed it just as much. Now have a larger breakfast room and it works very well - good space, and varied buffet. Lovely room (think it was deluxe - really worth it if you can manage that) - lots of room. And a great location - right in the old part of town where the night market runs at weekends. It's a very unique place so if you like beautifully renovated old properties, this is a dream.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard for 3 nights with the family and we love the place. Room is beautifully decorated, comfortable room, great shower. will definitely stay again. The hotel is located in the heart of Melaka Town, thus it is very convenient to check out the amazing old town and to get nice local foods.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sam_TravelKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 days. Staff are very friendly.
From bookings, emails are promptly replied, very clear.

Beautifully boutique hotel with free Wi-Fi access.
I've booked a deluxe family room with a queen bed + a single bed.
Breakfast was served opposite the hotel, is also belongs to the courtyard.
It had a nice selection.

It is just located next street of Jonker street, so is very convenient to go for food hopping.
Eat and eat and eat non-stop =)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aichiensl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in August 2014. First night in a Deluxe Room and the second night in a Superior Room. Not by choice as I made my reservation just 2 days before arrival. Between the two, I actually preferred the Superior Room. The slightly larger Deluxe Room has a bar fridge and a safe. Other than that, it's about the same.

Service - very friendly and helpful staff.

Location - as mentioned by almost every review, is great.

Hotel Lobby - cool and nicely scented.

Breakfast - basic spread.

Deluxe Room - not so well equipped (the only clear TV reception is CNN all other channels are fuzzy, toiletries are painfully basic, no sofa only a desk chair to sit on), not very clean there were stains on the bathroom floor, not very well maintained (water stain on the ceiling and the tiles falling off the vanity bench inI the bathroom).

Superior Room - layout is better than the deluxe room, but water heater was broken (the staff promptly fixed it even though it was 10pm when we returned to the room and discovered that there was no hot water) and aircon was not cold even at 16 degrees. Same thing about maintenance with tiles falling off the vanity bathroom bench.

Another major consideration is that if you're a light sleeper, this might not be for you because you can hear the human traffic because of the wooden floorboards on the second floor, whether you're in the ground floor or second floor rooms. Noise comes from both people walking on the second level as well as when they walk or talk along the corridors to all the rooms.

My take is the Courtyard at Heeren is really just a budget hotel with a nice lobby. With that expectation in mind, I think I'll be quite happy with the experience overall. But the trouble is, because of the price, I expected more than a budget hotel experience. So for that, I am disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2o2ovision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our stay was short but sweet, we were welcome by friendly staff, the staff has been very helpful and attentive throughout our stay. The lobby and room is beautifully furnished. There is a beautiful courtyard in the middle of the hotel. The room is comfortable and cozy. Lots of famous food shops around the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrance_soo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Staff were helpful. Location is wonderful, just a street away from Jonker Street. Parking is just behind the hotel but not easy to locate, best to get the staff for help. It's just an open area parking but they have guard after 6pm to look after.

Breakfast is wonderful. They have both western and local food. Chicken rice is very nice. Atmosphere is good. It's nice to sit and just enjoy the breakfast.

As for the room, I personally dislike dirty floor and I got the room with tiles floor that's very old and dirty looking. We have friends who got the wooden flooring and they have no complain. Sad to say, toilet was much cleaner than the room.

Room Tip: Ask for room with wooden flooring if you can't stand dirty floor. Room on the 2nd floor are quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 169 in Melaka
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 169 in Melaka
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 169 in Melaka
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Address: 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £34 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing