We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Girona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oustanding hotel and location”
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We stayed in the hotel for 6 nights for my sons wedding. I can recommend it without reservation. The location is fabulous on an old Dutch street just metres away from all the restaurants and bars in Jonkers street. I recommend the Geographers bar! Lobby area of hotel is traditional style but the rooms are very modern and spotless. No noise intrusion at all. Excellent breakfast choice until 10.30. That would normally be enough but what makes it even more special is the staff who are so helpful. If you need transport then ask Edmund who will run you around in the hotel car/minibus and for whom nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mas_carrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    333
    104
    17
    9
See reviews for
276
533
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We picked the hotel primarly due to it's location (mins from Jonker street) and niche comfort, and must say we are not disppointed during our stay.

The deluxe room is spacious, soft bedsheets, comfortable pillows and hot showers. Noise is kept to a minimal although not entirely soundproof. We managed to watch some CNN and local stations. Breakfast is a decent spread of local delights and toast. Compared to other boutique hotels along the street, this cost more perhaps for the exclusivity and comfort, reminds me very much of a parisan stay.

If you are a fan of peranakan culture like I am, you will enjoy admiring the finer details of the straits-chinese decor of the hotel, some are personal collection of the owner, very stylish and individualistic. I am told by the staff that the hotel has won Architectural awards. The staff, especially Edmund is knowledgeable about Malacca and provides good recommendations for food and sights.

It would be nice if we can have a hair dryer and hangers/ hooks in the room for our clothings. Nevertheless, we like to come back for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ipomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We stayed here for one night in December 2010. The location is fabulous - short walk to Jonker street. The building is an old shophouse that has been beautifully restored recently. Edmond and Amy always had welcoming smiles and were generous with the delicious guava juice. They had parking - big plus. They have a driver service that is reasonably priced, and even drove our friends back to their hotel a bit out of town. Breakfast was delicious and more food than we could eat. Bathroom is a unique design (but nice) with an outdoor-like shower. Highly highly recommend this place.

To be really nitpicky, I would say the grout in the shower needs to be cleaned, a common problem in humid SE Asia. I hope the hotel management maintains this place in the good condition it is now, as I think it is a gem.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenninSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Simply enough I have stayed in many hotels across Europe and Asia and this is perhaps the best overall experience yet.

The rooms were nicely presented, clean and comfortable. The breakfast good and plentiful, offering local fare and more Europeanized alongside one another. However the staff made this experience one to pin this hotel firmly in the "must visit again" category. Friendly, helpful and with an attitude that nothing is too much trouble they truly created an amazing experience.

The only downside to this gem of a business was trying to explain to my other half ( whose stay here was her first ever in Asia.) that the rest of the trip most likely wouldn't be as well accommodated as it was at the Heeren Boutique.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Good location and attentive staff. Brought us personally to the carpark when we arrived.
I had a punctured tyre right after arriving and the staff helped removed, send it for patching and put it back again!
(Kudos to Edmund from Coutyard)
Overall good value for monies spent! Will definitely return again to this cosy hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mskyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Very nice hotel, lovely rooms with a quirky design. Nice breakfast with local specialities but don't expect a massive buffet. No bar but plenty nearby. Melaka is lovely!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mim74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2010

This just the place to sample the historic, cultural and food delights of Melaka. During our 4 night stay it was almost impossible to find a fault. The visible staff performed their duties efficiently and pleasantly, while the not so visible staff kept the hotel at a high level of cleanliness. It is central to most of the cultural, historic and food attractions of Melaka and less than a 2 minute walk to the Jonker Street weekend market with all it's color and movement. Several of the best Nonya restaurants in Melaka are almost in sight from the front door. Without wishing to embarass the owner, suffice to say he went the extra mile to make our stay memorable. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 166 in Melaka
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Property: Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Address: 91 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing