We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cyclamen Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cyclamen Cottage
Ranked #16 of 208 Melaka B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

It's been a refreshing experience staying at this place. Be it the cleanliness, the warm nature of Ms Cyndy, the owner who amazingly connects with you the moment you strike a conversation with her, the old world feel of the ambience, I am sure anyone who is so used to the hustle bustle of city life would immediately fall in love with this place. I did :) And I am sure I wouldn't hesitate a moment to book this place if I ever visit Melaka again. Flip side: not too far away but still far away from the town, no decent eateries around. They do provide a decent breakfast. One thing is for sure, you wouldn't regret your choice :)

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandhasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    41
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
27
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Beautifully restored facility with historic roots. Run by a family, as a guest you are treated as if you are one of the family.

A 15 min walk from the downtown Jonker area, it is a peaceful oasis in Melaka,

The architecture and furnishings are a treasure trove of modern antiquity ..

A simply lovely place to stay

Room Tip: Try the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klinoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at the Cyclamen Cottage for 3 nights in Dec 2011. It was way way beyond my expectations. The property itself is a heritage one, with a beautiful layout and gorgoeous pieces of antique furniture. IN fact a lot of the furniture pieces we saw were actually similar to the ones displayed at the museum, only here we were actually using it. The rooms are beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. IN terms of cleanliness, hygiene and overall upkeep the place matches up to any 5 star hotel. The hosts are warm and lovely people. We spent a lot of time chatting with them. The breakfast spread is very good and wholesome, Special mention for the homemade kaya and steamed Malay sweets that one can never try in restaurants. They don't serve meals but there is a great hawker centre just across the road and we had a lot of meals there. It was cheap, clean and tasty. The only negative of the Cyclamen Cottage is the distance. Its quite far from the main attractiions and tourist areas of Malacca, which means you always need a taxi to go anywhere. But then this distance also makes this is a quiet and peaceful place. My little 2 yr old son loved the fishes in the little water pond and we loved watching it rain while sipping our coffee. If I ever go back to Malacca, this is where I will be staying. Thanks Wendy and Chris for an amazing holiday..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Preeti_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Couldn't recommend Cyclamen Cottage enough!
We had a month long trip - stayed in many beautiful places - but this is the one place that we truly bonded with!.
This gorgeous renovated malaccan bungalow keeps true to the malay shop-house tradition and you feel like you've stepped back in time.
Though a little removed from the heart of Jonker st it's only a 5 minute drive and is a welcome respite from the hubbub and business of Jonker.
Chris and Cindy went out of their way to make us welcome - and even went to lengths to find and send to us the beautiful artwork that we were admiring on the walls.
(Chris is an avid collector of vintage Peranakan furniture and wares and this quirky fascination and eye to detail permeates Cyclamen Cottage).
We had such a wonderful time lounging around the gorgeous pond in the centre of the house.
The Cottage is clean, cool, peaceful and comfortable and every request is met with a smile.
The rooms were well sized and the Cottage is located right in front of THE BEST Hawker stall that we've ever been to (the Formosa hawker center).

Breakfast was delicious and the homemade Kaya is highly recommended.
We can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: See if you can book a room in the newly renovated wing (Just a little up the road from the central b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend at the newer wing for a night on New Year's Eve. The moment I saw photos of this place online, it was love at first sight (well, dramatic I know). Cyclamen is located opposite Farmosa Garden Hotel, but it is a little easy to miss the turning into the lane leading to Teck Chye Avenue. Small issue anyway. 

- Chris & Cindy , the owners of Cyclamen, were very welcoming and were indeed very hospitable. It was nice striking up conversation with them as they shared with us how Cyclamen came about (it was after they bought the huge bungalow and wanted to fully utilize the remaining space available). Chris is also an avid collector of Peranakan antiquities, and was very eager to invite myself and my boyfriend over to his family's private living unit to show us his impressive collection. 

- Adding to the rustic character of this place is the fact that Cyclamen has retained its original flooring across the area. Even the bedframe we slept dates back to the 19th century, as informed by Chris! Old photographs of Peranakan families and couples adorn the walls, original Peranakan furniture is used inside the bungalow, etc. 

- Breakfast consisted of toasted bread, 2 sausages, eggs, local nyonya kuih (pumpkin & tapioca kuih), papaya and homemade kaya. The homemade kaya is wonderful and can even be purchased! 

- Very comfortable night's sleep in the bedroom. However, the bedframe is thin and does creak quite a fair bit. Also the walls are thin and you do have to keep your voices or the television down at night. 

- Best accessed with a car as you still need to drive in order to get to the city centre and also to other parts of Melaka. Note that the parking is limited and the lawn can probably only accommodate 4 cars in the newer wing, and also the same in the main compound.

That aside, enjoyed my stay here thoroughly and am hoping to return sometime soon! 

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azziewuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We booked 3 rooms at Cyclamen. It was a really nice getaway...different from the contemporary hotels. The rooms and common areas had a nice ambience, homely, and with the stories from the owners one could envision the history that took place at the house. The antique furniture adds a nice touch and the place is clean. The home made "Kaya" (Local coconut jam) was awesome!
The owners are very accomodating and are very plesant to work with. The property is a very short drive from Jonkers street which was where we spent most of our time shopping and savoring the local cusines.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTX900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

My family and I spend four days last month at the Cyclamen cottage which provided a very pleasant stay in a colonial guest house, that still retains many original features and furnishings from days gone by. The owners are very hospitable and accommodating to their guests, with Chris providing a fascinating presentation of his personal collection of antique furniture and silverware. We found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and well equipped and provided excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
3.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.2 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#55 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#19 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyclamen Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyclamen Cottage

Property: Cyclamen Cottage
Address: 2884-C, Teck Chye Avenue | Limbongan, Melaka, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cyclamen Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cyclamen Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyclamen Cottage Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing