We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and nostalgic feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cyclamen Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cyclamen Cottage
Ranked #16 of 208 Melaka B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and nostalgic feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place considering the fact that I had very little expectation in view that it is old bungalow where the operator turned it into an 7 rooms with attached bathroom cosy place, with basic cooking facilities. Big compound outside where kids enjoyed playing football within secured fencing. The service was good too. The only complaints were the limited selection of breakfast and the yellow color bed sheet..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamGoh160872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    41
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
27
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had two rooms at the Garden Wing. The Cyclamen Cottage house is nearer the main road than it's "Garden Wing." This "wing" is actually a separate house about three houses away from the Cottage. It was nicely furnished with some Peranakan furniture and has what seems to be a good security system to just get into and out of the house. There is a central area with chairs and little tables to sit at and socialize. Provided was also hot water, cups and saucers in the kitchen. Each room is air conditioned with adequate furnishings. Our queen room with its four poster bed, closet and mirror/desk had a tiny bathroom attached with folding doors. Electric mosquito repellent was available (which was very nice) right below the TV. Since we were one of two parties during our visit, it was pretty quiet. But I can see it could be noisy if someone were in the community area talking and laughing and one was trying to sleep in room. It's right next to a school, so depending on the time of day, you'll hear the children and the school bells.
We had to walk to the main building for breakfast each morning, after letting our host know the time and choice of breakfast items the day before. Breakfast was served promptly. In addition to the requested menu options, some of the local kuih was also offered - a nice touch.
For us, we had minimal interaction with our hosts, so I have no comment as to their friendliness or hospitality. Perhaps they were too preoccupied with other business when we were there for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papuacragrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Having booked at the last minute we were completely thrilled to have found such a wonderful place. It's not central, but really not that far out of town - there is an option to borrow a bike, which would have made it super-easy, but honestly, we didn't mind the walk either.

We loved the welcoming, generous hosts. We benefited quite directly from talking to Chris about his plants - he's very knowledgeable and gave us some great cuttings which are now growing in our little balcony garden in KL. The house itself is a beautiful old building, decked out with lovely antiques, which for me made the sort of comforting atmosphere I might have felt at my grandmother's house as a kid. Airy, leafy courtyard, good aircon and fans in the rooms, great breakfast. We loved it. Thank you to Cindy and Chris for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Did a last minute booking at Cyclamen as there was no other hotels available due to public holiday and school vacation in Malaysia and boy i should say i was not disappointed one bit. The place was oozing with old style colonial charm and the antique furniture's added to its beauty. The place is well kept and clean and the rooms were also comfortable with all the basic amenities. We never ever felt that we were staying in a hotel..it was like spending a weekend in a guest house. The owner of the place was a very kind lady who also doubles up as a chef who prepares home made breakfast every morning for the guests. The breakfast was simple and delicious. Though the place was fully booked we always felt that we had the whole place for ourselves. The only downside is the distance of this hotel from the city center especially if you don't drive, but if you are looking for a quiet place away from the hustle and bustle of the city then this is the place . i wouldn't complain much about the distance as me and my family had one of our memorable stays here. Will definitely come back..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Czanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed for a week here and loved the atmosphere. The furniture and art work is wonderful and we learned a lot about the straits chinese and other ethnic groups that live in Melacca. Breakfast was quiet and lovely, included in the price and we enjoyed delicious roti at a restaurant just around the corner. We can definitely recommend this place for anyone looking for a luxurious stay and a cultural experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanskeDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

The earlier reviews are all justified-hospitable; clean; excellent breakfast which includes nonya kuay, when available I guess..

My bunch of male adult friends throughly enjoyed our short stay - Chris, Cindy's husband, is very knowlegable about the plants on the grounds and very willingly cut a few stems for a friend who's a landscape artist.

There's a hawker centre just a few minutes walk down the road - excellent char kway teow; fresh fruit juice; roast pork & char siew; satay. Another hawker centre across the main road features open air karaoke .. but we were too tired after golf to check it out.

Room Tip: For short stays, the rooms without windows do not detract from the overall quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganbeiSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Cyclamen is situated in a stunning historical building just of a busy road leading to the city centre. Definitely one of the better looking places we've stayed in in Malaysia. It doesn't lack comfort either, with nice, thick mattresses on the beds, clean and modern ensuite bathrooms and a nice breakfast in the morning in a nice setting at the back of the building.

Unfortunately it doesn't come cheap. For the price of the cheaper rooms (around 32 euro) we kind of expexted the room to have a window, but it didn't. We chose to upgrade to the more pricey (40 euro)and more spacious option on the front of the building so we could have look outside.

Also, the location is a bit of a let down. Nothing to do, nothing to see there. We had no car, so to reach the city centre, we had three options: walk the 3 km road. No shade, no sidewalk, lots of cars. Take a taxi, who charged RM20 for the 5 minute drive. Or wait for the bus, which may but probably won't show up. The owners were more than happy to take us if they were going that way too, but off course you can't count on that.

If you want to see Melaka,you'll have a hard time getting there. Too bad, as the Cottage, pricey as it is, looks great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JellevanKralingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
3.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.2 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#54 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#19 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyclamen Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyclamen Cottage

Property: Cyclamen Cottage
Address: 2884-C, Teck Chye Avenue | Limbongan, Melaka, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cyclamen Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cyclamen Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyclamen Cottage Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing