We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, dirty room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aldy Hotel China Town
Ranked #85 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, dirty room!”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel with friends, and location wise it is great for exploring lively Melaka! On arriving the receptionist couldn't find our booking and was rather rude, but it was the room that was very disappointing, nice and spacious but very dirty, our sheets had dried blood on and the pillow was brown ( once white ) the bathroom was soaked when we got there and the towels were wet, with a considerable amount of hair in the bath and sink... I think they had forgotten to clean it or change towels from the previous guest!! On the plus side the restaurant underneath the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stating in this hotel at present. Good decent sized room, clean bathroom, room safe and very good air conditioner. Only problem is wifi does not reach 2nd floor. Hair drier bought up quickly when requested. Found jonker St to only take 10 minutes at most if you don't come up from the heritage end.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I was staying here back to May 2009 during our reunion. We booked 2 rooms, for 2 nights.
Email response was fast and efficient and very helpful.
The room was ready during check-in. It was very nice room with a small but clean bathroom.
Towels and toiletries all ready and for us
The place was not as bit noisy as the other review suggested but i guess its only during check-out or room-cleaning. More or less it is all because of their staffs are doing some maintenance work.
The hotel was about a few minutes walk to Jonker Street. Parking was outside the hotel building but quite easy and enough space cost us RM5 per entry claimable from the front desk.
Breakfast was good with a range of RM10-RM15 per person.
Overall, we had a good experience at this hotel. Perfect & nice location as well.
Clean, comfy and pleasant stay for a short weekend getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balkidzhunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
325 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

...This was our last resort to try this hotel.After almost giving up calling some 10 hotels for booking ,decided to give this a last final check and they had rooms available for the weekend.Managed to get a room and checked in on the 14th July by 5pm.

This place can be quite tricky and difficult to find,tho its smack right in Jalan Bungaraya as there is no proper signage,i stopped by at Hotel Mimosa to ask for directions and the lady at the reception told me its just after the traffic lights and i still couldn't locate it while driving.

what i discovered was its at the crossroads at the right hand side,small building quite old looking and only 2 storeys high,behind it is Majestic hotel and Renaissance hotel and Putra specialist centre.The location is quite ideal but Chinatown has lost its glamour for shopping.There is a dinghy looking low budget sleazy rat motel exactly opposite to this place.Madam King's is just a few metres away and apparently had a sale,things were cheap but we had nothing to buy.Ceramic plates at 1/2 dozen were going for RM10,but we have enough to last us a lifetime at home.

Jonker's walk is pretty far by foot and since hubby had hurt his leg a few days back,walking was out of the question as well.Anyhow,checked into this place and was greeted by the receptionist Miss Suhaila,shes indeed the most helpful darling person i have met very cheerful and helpful, i was a bit skeptical bout the room and requested to check the room myself before hubby went in as hes such a fussypot! she assured it will be fine and i still took a peek,we were given 208 on the first floor,no lift but the staircase up wasnt tooo steep.The room was preety neat,recently furbished,tiled floor,good lighting,TV set,the shower was awesome!!! such a blast and the toilet was clean!! the beds were neatly made,sheets were clean.Except the only problem the sheets were too thin and the aircon was too cold even at 28!! so we kept it at 30 and slept thru the night.This place can get pretty noisy at night with the occasional odd traffic which can be heard at the wee hours till 2-4am,but we slept thru all that.

Breakfast as mentioned by other travellers was limited to 3 items only...cornflakes with milk,toast and nasi lemak...and thats it no frills and no thrills! anyhow,we had that and washed it down with coffee and checked out at 12pm sharp.The whole of melaka town was swarming with tourist by then and we decided to drive back home around 1pm after a quick lunch at casa de cafe.

Room Tip: make an advanced booking,and please ask for a room with all the facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gita73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel was located in China Town, and it was a 20 minute walk to the town centre. There was a laundromat a 2 minute walk away which opened at 10am and washed our clothes for the same evening at special request. The buffet breakfast was served in an area off reception, and fresh omelettes were prepared on request. It seemed clean but a cockroach was spotted by one of my travel mates on the floor of the breakfast seating area.

There were no lifts so we had to drag our luggage up the stairs. The room was narrow but we had enough space to pull the twin beds apart. The beds had blankets but no undersheet to stop it touching the body – who knows how often the blanket is laundered. I asked for an extra sheet but the manager/receptionist just remained lounging on the sofa and asked me to look for my own sheets on any housekeeping trolley that might be on our corridor (there weren't any). The bathroom was very clean and a good size. Our room faced the main road and it was very noisy from the traffic – bring earplugs!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the back as there is too much noise from the road at the front and the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skylarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The rooms were nice, they don't have queen or king beds so you just get 2 beds pushed together if you wanted a double room.. Which was annoying cause I slept down the crack half the night.
You got to walk 20 mins or catch a cab to get to the main part of Melaka. But if you want to walk it does feel safe.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Its really clean. We are impressed by the interior design efforts to make best use of the limited space (I mean really narrow standard rooms). The bathroom is really nicely done up allowing lights from the room to flow through a vertical strip of semi transparent glass.

The continental breakfast (plus Nasi Lemak - a Malaysian favourite) is just sufficient and appropriate for B&B. The dining area, called Mood, is also carefully designed and modern.

I took a morning run along the Melaka river, through the broadwalk, the bridges and the river bank pathways along the Malay villages and old heritage houses. Its probably 4km if you make a round trip from one end to another. Its a quick way to "run" through the historical sites along Melaka river.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidhii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#103 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#37 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ninety Six (906)
Hotel Ninety Six (906)
#91 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Syaz Meridien Hotel
Syaz Meridien Hotel
#63 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.0 mi away
AL-33 Hotel Kota Laksamana
AL-33 Hotel Kota Laksamana
#74 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prima Hotel Melaka
Prima Hotel Melaka
#116 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldy Hotel China Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldy Hotel China Town

Property: Aldy Hotel China Town
Address: 148 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Hotel Class:1 star — Aldy Hotel China Town 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the strategic location perfectly situated in the heart of Chinatown, hotel guests are provided with easy convenience to the main attractions of the city. A short walk will take them to old charm china town, little India, shopping centre & night market as well as the historical landmarks. The Aldy Thoo Hotel - Chinatown is sure to impress even the most discerning guests traveling to Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Aldy Hotel China Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing