We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Modern and Clean”
Review of Tang House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tang House
Ranked #63 of 222 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Great Location right at the top end of china town. Rooms are fresh,but sparce, Matress on the floor and a bedside table. Showers are shared, ut was clean. Also the kitchen area was a bonus even if to just drinks in the fridge.

Room Tip: Beware the weekend kareoke right outside the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feedback-and-wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed there on weekdays so we got free upgrade from twin room to triple room. Although there're just 2 of us, but that means bigger space for us. The room we stayed has a door to the sky well. The breakfast served by the family at the downstairs was superb nice! The family (especially the mum) always provide us with dining tips.
For who wish to visit the Redhouse area, this place might be farther than other guesthouses, but Tang House is situated right beside the main stage of Jonker Walk. But this could means merry or noisy (depends on you).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yimin516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed in this house for my 1st trip to Malaysia as i was looking for a homestay with warm atmosphere ! That house was so perfect ! This is the 1st place that gave us a local map 4 free and guided us the direction to many attractions of beautifull Melaka. Beside that, Tang was really helpful. I sent many emails for reservation to many hotels in Malaysia, however, they all replied me in around 7 days without any eagerness EXCEPT TANG, he was the only one responded me soon with many helpful information. By chance, Tang visited Hanoi before my trip to Melaka so i and him did exchange some advises each other as i m also working in a hotel in Hanoi. In addition, the best thing is about house's location, a walking distance to many shops, galleries or restaurants. Even though that the room's small and the bathroom was always busy for so many people but their staffs were really nice to us,...and their breakfast was the only one that i could recommend as Malaysian food is a bit oily for me. We also got a key for main door and our room so it seemed like my home:)). I really love the decoration of this house. One more thing is they provide you Interenet for free not like other hotels in Malaysia ! Will be back for sure !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maruko217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We had the misfortune of staying here for three nights in November 2011. Although on a previous trip to Malacca we had eaten at the cafe downstairs run by the family and thought them friendly, on this trip we were sadly disabused of this notion. Upon arrival, Mrs Tang was rude and unfriendly to the point of being hostile to us (my mother, father, myself and my wife), as if we were taking up valuable time by checking. No smiles, just mumbling before leaving us along until her son (who manages the upstairs rooms side of things) came to show us up upstairs. No greeting, no smile, nothing. The rooms are small true, no problem there. But the floor is wood, and you are guaranteed to share the guesthouse with some elephant who stomps around at all hours, making good sleep practically impossible.

The showers are extremely poor, without any shelf to put a wet bag on, and poorly infrequently cleaned. Too many guests for two showers. The whole thing was slightly rank and unhygeinic. I have stayed in many guesthouses in Malaysia, this is the poorest I have seen.

The location is very noisy on Friday and Saturday nights as it is close to the Jonkers street market. Don't stay here unless you have great earplugs or you are a heavy sleeper.

Overall, this was poor value for money unless you like ill-mannered hosts, semi-clean bathrooms, poky rooms and a balcony cluttered with junk that doesn't resemble the pictures on the website. Don't waste your time, there are many better options in Malacca.

Room Tip: Inside rooms near the air well are quieter from the street noise on Friday and Saturday nights. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGSorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Located at the heart of the old town, walking distance from most attractions, this tiny guest house for backpackers which has been refurbished recently and run by a family is a lot of fun. Even though the rooms are bare basic and quite tiny, the two rooms we had had large windows facing the street, which let in a lot of light. Its right on the head of the Jonker walk, so can get a bit noisy over the weekends if you have the rooms facing the street. But the best part of this place are the really friendly owners, who are ever ready to guide your around their little town, or chat with you and make you feel right at home. The upstairs has a verandah kitchen which is well equipped and downstairs there is a small cafe run by Tang's mom. Free internet and wifi. And a real fun hangout.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

The guesthouse is belong to a family business. The room are very basic. But very clean infact. Services is excellent. Infact for RM55 per nite You'll be serve with nice breakfast consist of a nasi lemak and tea of your preference. The guesthouse located exactly inside the busy area of Jonker Walk which is a +A if you want to feel the night culture of Malacca city during weekend. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel-Wan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I stayed at Tang House for 5 nights during my travels in Malaysia and had a twin single room. The room was on the small side but comfortable. It was clean, had an end table with a drawer and shelf for storage as well as a rack in the room for hanging clothes. There was an individually controlled air conditioner as well as windows that opened (with great blockout shutters to keep the sun out if desired).

My room was in the hallway that led to the bathrooms and while there was a little noise as a result, it was never too loud - and easily blocked out using a pair of foam earplugs.

There was free wireless that worked fine up in my guestroom and there was also free use of the computers/internet in the downstairs common room.

The bathrooms were always kept clean. There were western style toilets both upstairs and downstairs. The showers and toilets shared a "stall" but with four (two on each floor) it was never a problem.

As pointed out in previous reviews, the guest house is located near the event stage at Jonker so yes, it could be a bit noisy on the weekend nights when they were having karaoke but it seemed to wrap up by 10:00pm so it really wasn't an issue. I thought the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mifyanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Cafe 1511
Cafe 1511
#17 of 222 in Melaka
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jalan-Jalan
Jalan-Jalan
#12 of 222 in Melaka
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
1511 Guest House
1511 Guest House
#28 of 222 in Melaka
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ola Lavanderia B&B
Ola Lavanderia B&B
#25 of 143 in Melaka
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 143 in Melaka
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tang House

Address: 80-1 Jalan Tokong, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: £7 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tang House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tang House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing