We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Cute Little Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tang House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tang House
Ranked #32 of 205 Melaka B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Cute Little Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

If you're on a budget and find yourself needing a room in Malacca, I doubt you would find another hotel to beat this one for value. It's a family run hotel, and was renovated recently and almost everything looks pretty new. The people running it, Mr and Mrs Tang, are very friendly and helpful.
The room rate when I was there was RM35 for a single room which was a real bargain. The room wasn't large but had enough space to be comfortable. The hotel has a total of 8 rooms so booking early is suggested. It also runs a "coffee shop" on the ground floor which has breakfast - coffee, 2 eggs and toast for a mere RM3.50. It also had 2 PCs with an internet connection.
The hotel is located at one end of Jonker Walk.
The downside was that there is no attached bathroom and the veranda/kitchen was untidy when I was there. (Short handed perhaps)
Nevertheless I'll probably go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
9
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
veldhoven
Level Contributor
89 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

We decided to stay in Tang House after we'd discovered their website. The building looks quite charming, and the rooms seemed to be OK, and it was very affordable after all. We contacted through the internet, and the reservation was made. Mrs Tang even promised us "discount", as we wanted to stay 3 nights! So, after a long flight, and a long ride from the airport, we finally arrived in Malaka. The driver had trouble in finding it, and we were driving around in circles because of the one way streets. We decided to walk the last part, and so we arrived.
Then we discovered that one of the rooms we reserved was still in use. So another tiny matress was put on the ground for me with the 3 children, and my husband was offered a single room for the night. Actually not quite a good start.
We were tired, and we wanted to go early to bed, but then, early evening there was a loud karaoke at the podium at the entrance at Jonker Walk, right in front of our rooms. Karaoke, how I hate this kind of entertainment.
On the website of course not a word of this podium right in front of Tnag House, but be prepared to loud noise every friday, saturday and sunday. The good part was, that it always stopped at 22.30 thanks god!
The next day we got the 2 rooms we made the reservation for, so that was good. The beds are big matresses on the floor. There's also a small hanger for clothes, and a airconditioning, but that's all you've got to deal with. Actually you don't need anything more. Towels are provided when you ask for them.
Toilets and showers (2 bathrooms) are shared and kept clean. There's also a balcony on the first floor, and a hammock in which you can relax. On the ground level are a seating area and 2 computers for common use. Internet for free, and that's a good thing. There's also free wifi. Breakfast included in the price, which is very basic but enough.
Owners are a very friendly chinese family, very willing to help you.
The discount that was promised by mail was very limited; only 10 ringgit off a bill of 360 ringgit, wow!! But their son was very helpfull, he drove our family of 5 to the busstation. Later on-we were in Borneo already- we discovered that we've left some swimmingpants of our boys on the balcony. The son arranged to send them by mail to our guesthouse in Kuala Lumpur. Thumbs up for this service!
Overall it's a very nice place to stay, espacially when you a travelling on a low budget. The building is very charming with wooden floors, the location is super, and the people are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boschvertrekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

The location of this place is really great,it is just located along the most famous street of Malacca,Jonker Street. The house is run by a Chinese family and they are very nice and friendly.The bedroom and the shared bathroom is clean indeed.There are also 2 computers at downstairs with internet access for using.Moreover,a simple breakfast will be provided for the hostel's guest in the morning.However,the only downside is you might have some difficulties when sleeping at night as the boss is always scolding the pity maid and the wooden flooring also produces a lot of noise whenever people pass by your room.
Anyway,it worth every cent for those who are looking for a cheap,clean and comfortable place for staying.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yan_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

4 June 2010
We were not able to stay there because they were fully booked, however we were helped to find last minute alternative accommodation.
We went to visit Tang family later afternoon, and were offered the use of their internet facility, free of charge ! Mrs Tang understand the needs of travellers to make what ever travel arrangement ie onward travel or contacting friends and family.........
we went there the next day morning for breakfast.
We were offered a set of coffee/tea, mee / beehoon, or egg burger or egg boiled, fried or scrambled and toasts. for the value of RM 3.50
They also cater for walk in travellers.
You can stay and trust this Tang family operation, in the middle of old town.
http://www.tanghouse.com.my/index.html

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lowailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Sayang Heritage Residence & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Cafe 1511
Cafe 1511
#17 of 205 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fomecs Boutique Hotel
Fomecs Boutique Hotel
#19 of 205 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Emily Travellers' Home
Emily Travellers' Home
#8 of 205 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Little Birds Home
Three Little Birds Home
#5 of 205 in Melaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tang House

Property: Tang House
Address: 80-1 Jalan Tokong, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Tang House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing