We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Comfy Walking Distance to Jonker Street”
Review of Tang House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tang House
Ranked #35 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Comfy Walking Distance to Jonker Street”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Friendly Tang's family and reception. Good basic breakfast. Walking distance to Jonker street and places of interest. Located beside the stage and my favourite place Aik Cheong shop, Meesuah and local delicacies.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
9
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2011

It's a very good guest house which I would stay again if I come back to Melaka, Malaysia.
Here is the link of this: http://tanghouse.com.my

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DHanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Stayed at Tang House for 3 nights. For twin sharing room at RM55 with simple breakfast, it is worth the value for this family run budget guesthouse.
Room is small but acceptable.
As it is near the public stage and nearby Jonker Boutique Hotel cafe where karaoke is played nightly, it can be a little noisy at times.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k0hk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2010

the rooms are comfortable, clean. Very strategic location to tourist spots. Staffs are friendly. Small but with good facilities. Highly recommended for limited budget travelers.
Easy spot to holler for taxi. It's just along jonker street. Trustworthy. I would definitely reconsider it for the next trip to malacca.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanli2370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2010

If you're on a budget and find yourself needing a room in Malacca, I doubt you would find another hotel to beat this one for value. It's a family run hotel, and was renovated recently and almost everything looks pretty new. The people running it, Mr and Mrs Tang, are very friendly and helpful.
The room rate when I was there was RM35 for a single room which was a real bargain. The room wasn't large but had enough space to be comfortable. The hotel has a total of 8 rooms so booking early is suggested. It also runs a "coffee shop" on the ground floor which has breakfast - coffee, 2 eggs and toast for a mere RM3.50. It also had 2 PCs with an internet connection.
The hotel is located at one end of Jonker Walk.
The downside was that there is no attached bathroom and the veranda/kitchen was untidy when I was there. (Short handed perhaps)
Nevertheless I'll probably go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veldhoven
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We decided to stay in Tang House after we'd discovered their website. The building looks quite charming, and the rooms seemed to be OK, and it was very affordable after all. We contacted through the internet, and the reservation was made. Mrs Tang even promised us "discount", as we wanted to stay 3 nights! So, after a long flight, and a long ride from the airport, we finally arrived in Malaka. The driver had trouble in finding it, and we were driving around in circles because of the one way streets. We decided to walk the last part, and so we arrived.
Then we discovered that one of the rooms we reserved was still in use. So another tiny matress was put on the ground for me with the 3 children, and my husband was offered a single room for the night. Actually not quite a good start.
We were tired, and we wanted to go early to bed, but then, early evening there was a loud karaoke at the podium at the entrance at Jonker Walk, right in front of our rooms. Karaoke, how I hate this kind of entertainment.
On the website of course not a word of this podium right in front of Tnag House, but be prepared to loud noise every friday, saturday and sunday. The good part was, that it always stopped at 22.30 thanks god!
The next day we got the 2 rooms we made the reservation for, so that was good. The beds are big matresses on the floor. There's also a small hanger for clothes, and a airconditioning, but that's all you've got to deal with. Actually you don't need anything more. Towels are provided when you ask for them.
Toilets and showers (2 bathrooms) are shared and kept clean. There's also a balcony on the first floor, and a hammock in which you can relax. On the ground level are a seating area and 2 computers for common use. Internet for free, and that's a good thing. There's also free wifi. Breakfast included in the price, which is very basic but enough.
Owners are a very friendly chinese family, very willing to help you.
The discount that was promised by mail was very limited; only 10 ringgit off a bill of 360 ringgit, wow!! But their son was very helpfull, he drove our family of 5 to the busstation. Later on-we were in Borneo already- we discovered that we've left some swimmingpants of our boys on the balcony. The son arranged to send them by mail to our guesthouse in Kuala Lumpur. Thumbs up for this service!
Overall it's a very nice place to stay, espacially when you a travelling on a low budget. The building is very charming with wooden floors, the location is super, and the people are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boschvertrekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The location of this place is really great,it is just located along the most famous street of Malacca,Jonker Street. The house is run by a Chinese family and they are very nice and friendly.The bedroom and the shared bathroom is clean indeed.There are also 2 computers at downstairs with internet access for using.Moreover,a simple breakfast will be provided for the hostel's guest in the morning.However,the only downside is you might have some difficulties when sleeping at night as the boss is always scolding the pity maid and the wooden flooring also produces a lot of noise whenever people pass by your room.
Anyway,it worth every cent for those who are looking for a cheap,clean and comfortable place for staying.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yan_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Sayang Heritage Residence & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Fomecs Boutique Hotel
Fomecs Boutique Hotel
#25 of 210 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
V'La Heritage Hotel Jonkers Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 122 in Melaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.2 mi away
Cafe 1511
Cafe 1511
#18 of 210 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tang House

Property: Tang House
Address: 80-1 Jalan Tokong, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Tang House Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing