We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location and good service”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The hotel is situated on Jonker street and thus in walking distance of all places of interest. We had a room in front. This might be a little noisy due to festivities such as the pre-new year celebrations. However we were not bothered by the noise.The Room was clean and tidy and in size suitable for the three of us. The staff had been so kind to place a childbed for our two year old daughter free of charge. Our compliments for the whole staff, particulary Amy, for their service. A.o. Arranging transportation to KL without any fuss. Hence, we would certainly recommand this hotel for its location and warm and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevinclaudialayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    284
    61
    12
    5
See reviews for
248
246
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Many rundown small hole-in-the-wall hotels call themselves ‘boutique’ but do not deserve the title. Fortunately, the Jonker Boutique Hotel is not one of them. My friend and I stayed there in Room 105 for three nights and was impressed. Our air-conditioned double queen room on the 1st floor was spacious and well-equipped. Large LSD screen, coffee/tea facilities, dining table with 4 chairs, telephone, polished teak floor, smoke detectors etc. The fully-tiled bathroom was exceptional – large European size soaking tub, separate shower cubicle, plenty of hot water, quality towels, western toilet. All the fittings in the bed and bath rooms appeared to be brand-new (they all worked) as they did throughout the entire hotel. Everything was well-maintained, freshly painted and extremely clean. An absolute credit to the new owners who obviously didn’t stint when renovating and refurbishing the hotel from top to bottom.

Some TA reviewers here comment on the noise from the street. On our first night, a Sunday, there was public karaoke on the street outside the hotel. It was loud enough in the room to hear every word, but it stopped at about 10pm. Not a problem ! It didn’t start again until Thursday night. Again, not a problem. Therein lays a tip for travellers. It is only on Thursday & Sunday nights that Jonker St is closed to traffic and full of stalls - and the noise of karaoke.
On other nights, the traffic is so light that any noise is indiscernible. Jonker St is, after all, so narrow that the one-way traffic has to move along at walking pace, and there is little to attract traffic after 10 pm.

All in all, a clean modern well-equipped hotel that thoroughly deserves the title of ‘boutique hotel’ and which is staffed by the friendliest most hospitable and helpful people possibly in all Malaysia. Yes, I’d go again and recommend the JBH to my best friends.

PS – As anyone who has travelled thru Asia knows, mattresses are FIRM. The JBH is no exception. First timers and others thus inexperienced – please, no more complaints,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Uncleron-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

the room is very charming with a huge bed, great bath tub, lots of windows and huge tv screen. free wifi works like a charm and the room is cleaned daily without fail. really enjoyed my stay there and recommend this place whole heartedly. the staff are very helpful - particularly Ms Amy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nyx799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The hotel is located on Jonkers Walk and is extremely convenient for the night markets. Would suggest asking for a room around the back to avoid the street noise. Staff provided excellent service and booked our transport etc with no fuss! The rooms are on the older side but facilities are all in working order. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haroldluntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Hotel is very near to POI like a famosa, cruiser, jonker street, food stall n many more. Cleanliness of the room n many things in order, imagine that counter call u that u may check in the hotel, on the air cond b4 u moving in, try to locate u when u lost in the Melaka street, even a hotel staff send my son to a nearest clinic without asking for any pay n tips. Brilliant service keep it up.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanThamWangHock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were delighted with the room, which had pretty wallpaper, and a pretty comfy bed. It also had a window, which some hotel rooms lack. At first sight, the room looked a bit small, but after a while, it felt cozy. Loved the 'sunken' bathroom with its black and white tiles. I slept really well during our overnight stay and felt really comfortable in the room.

The lobby was a bit tired, and no one cared to bring us and our bags to our room. I expected a little more service; it was like we just went in and out of the hotel unnoticed. Staff need to be more welcoming.

I haven't tried the breakfast (or maybe there is no breakfast with the package). Anyhow, there wasn't much briefing when we checked in. So I guess I have to say that the staff just needs to be more attentive.

Location is excellent! Right by Jonker Walk and of course walkable from everything. It's really a stress-free walk home after a dinner or a night of drinks.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I went for a short trip to Melaka with my family of 5 adults and 3 children. Book 2 grand deluxe rooms that come with 2 queen size beds rooms through the hotel website. The hotel reply was very prompt. I booked the 2 room that are on the first floor thinking that my elderly mother doesn’t need to walk up any stair but I was wrong. The room is actually 1 floor above the ground floor and we still need to walk up the stairs. But the staircase is actually not too difficult to climb.
I was expecting some difficulty in finding the carpark and true enough I can’t find the carpark when I first reach the hotel. So for those that are driving there, there are 2 ways to reach the carpark.
1)Drive along Jalan Kubu and turn right to Jalan Tokong. The hotel is on the left. Just after the hotel, there is a small lane on the left which will lead you to the carpark.
2)Drive along Jalan Portugis. Before reaching Jalan Tukang Emas, there is a big public carpark on the right. Turn inside the carpark. Take note of a sign board namely “Jonker Walk” and drive towards it and the carpark is on the right.
The receptionists are very friendly and the rooms are huge. I have rooms facing the back of the hotel overlooking at the carpark and another one overlooking Jonker street. I stayed in the room overlooking Jonker street and love it. My children were enjoying themselves as we can have a bird’s eye view of the stage at Jonker street. The singers are entertaining my children throughout the night. You can see the photo I have taken from my room down towards the stage on Jonker Street. The location of the hotel was fantastic as I can just walk out of the hotel and enjoy what is on offer on Jonker street. I have stayed in few hotels in Melaka before and consider Jonker Boutique Hotel as one of the best hotel if you don’t mind not having gym, swimming pools etc.

Room Tip: If you want quite room ask the hotel for a room at the back of the hotel. If you want to be entertai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twengche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 166 in Melaka
1,181 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonker Boutique Hotel

Property: Jonker Boutique Hotel
Address: 84 Jalan Tokong | Kampung Tiga, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jonker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience old world charm with modern amenities and 5 star comfort. 16 plush and spacious en-suite designer rooms in a majestic curved Art-Deco building right on Jonker Walk, with free wi-fi, car-park.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jonker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing