We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Total Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We had a great stay at Jonkers for 3 nights. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Rocky start with arrival in the middle fo a festival causing traffic grid lock and our room was leaking so had to stay in nearby apartment for one night which was not so good, but the staff were very apologetic and these things do happen. Amy and Jasmine collected us from our taxi in the traffic jam and bought us dinner! The room we eventually had in Jonkers was spacious and clean. There was the street karaoke outside one night - but I think only Thurs to Sunday nights. It was a bit of a laugh anyway.
Recommend the Nonya House Museum tour.

Room Tip: If you are worried about street noise let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MandPSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    278
    61
    12
    5
See reviews for
242
244
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
langkawi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Recently I stayed at the Jonker Boutique Hotel and was amazed at their customer service and attitude. The hotel is well appointed - well located and well looked after. The team is just fantastic and works with a ' never say no ' attitude. This was my second visit to this most beautiful city and I chose to stay at this place - with a view to be upclose and personal to Jonker Street and it's offerings. My daughter had just landed from India and my wife and me received her at the KLIA and drove down straightaway to stay here. The welcome, the service, the ambiance - all put together has left us mesmerized and I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone who wishes to soak up the culture and terrific offerings of this historic straits settlement. Well done Team Jonker Boutique - and may you keep up the good efforts in looking after your guests! I will be back....

Room Tip: Just call up the staff and talk to them on getting a room of your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

The hotel is located at the end of Jonker Street, which is where the three main streets of Chinatown meet. The location is perfect for exploring Chinatown, most eateries and cafes are within easy walking distance. Those few world heritage sites are also not very far. The only better location I can think of would be by the river, but Melaka is quite small after all. My room was very spacious, clean, well-designed, and with a comfortable bed. I can't think of anything I didn't like about the room. I was lucky to get a room facing the courtyard. There's a karaoke place just across the street from the hotel, which was still going strong when I got back to the hotel at around 11.30pm. Breakfast isn't included, but there's a cafe next door and many more just down the road.

I found a lot of so-called boutique hotels very much overrated, but Jonker lives up to it and full deserves its reputation. In terms of service, design and comfort, it can rival any four or five star hotel.

When in Melaka, try Nyonya (Peranakan) food. It is said that Melaka serves the most authentic Nyonya food in Malaysia. The staff at Jonker's was happy to recommend a few places to me, all of which were excellent. Also try Chicken Rice Balls, another famous local dish.
I went to Melaka on a Monday, which turned out to be a mistake. The city was virtually dead, even a lot of restaurants were closed. If you go during the week, one night is more than enough. Apparently the weekend is the time to go, when all streets are packed with people, hawker food stalls, and shops open until midnight. I might go back one day just to see what it's like on the weekend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kookoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

At one end of Jonker St, great Hawker food/ Streeet markets on Friday/ Saturday nights ! Very helpful hotel, great rooms bath/shower, art deco building ! Great Cafe next door, everywhere has WiFi. Important do stuff eg walking early or late in the day ! Great city ! Great hotel !!

Room Tip: Back of hotel would be quiet but you'd miss all the fun & excitement of the street!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

What a nice encounter I have. I forgot my iPhone when I check out, n the hotel ppl immediately ring up my Fren who booked the room n came out in her bike to return me my phone.. They are absolutely honest!

The room was big n clean.. I enjoyed ny stay here n would recommend u guys to stay over here too!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jojo0117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

A last minute booking for a Friday night, and we were so lucky to get this. Best location, friendly, comfortable, and the characterful karaoke right outside! I usually dislike loud music, but somehow this added to the flavour of staying in this atmospheric property on the heart of Chinatown. Would definitely repeat the experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Situated in the most ideal location! Really great rooms with very comfortable beds... the bathrooms are good but probably not great for elderly or handicapped visitors because the shower was inside the bathtub... Some people were complaining about the music from the karaoke (on the days that the night market is on, the elderly malaccans come out and sing and dance for each other, so charming) however I found it completely fine. Also it didnt go on past 1030. Breakfast is not included but malacca is the kind of place where its fun to explore especially for cafes! this hotel is highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vinya-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonker Boutique Hotel

Property: Jonker Boutique Hotel
Address: 84 Jalan Tokong | Kampung Tiga, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jonker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience old world charm with modern amenities and 5 star comfort. 16 plush and spacious en-suite designer rooms in a majestic curved Art-Deco building right on Jonker Walk, with free wi-fi, car-park.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jonker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing