We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groovy and great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Highly recommend this hotel , great location , good rooms , Jasmin and Amy and the team looked after us very well , A must stay,in the heart of the heritage are and short walk or rickshaw ride to everything you want too see . We also went to a great night market for great laksa .

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penang2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Very pleasant stay with great rooms. Loved the interior design of the place. Towards the tail end of Jonker Street, right by the stage, which is fairly easy to find when you actually get to Jonker Street itself. However, if you are coming from the Malacca Central Bus station at night, it could be quite a hassle. Need to deal with rude taxi drivers touting their services at crazy prices. Was disappointed that the staff didn't try to make effort to arrange for taxi service for pick up at the bus station even though I had emailed them beforehand to explain that we were 2 ladies arriving late at night. It ended up being quite a nightmare getting from the bus station to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. It is very cosy and warm and the decoration in the room and the lobby leaves a very relaxing, clean and serene feel. The location is superb and has easy access to all main areas in Malacca. All the staffs are very friendly and helpful - was attended by Loius (hope it is the correct spelling) and Jasmine - very sincere and warm service. Would definitely come back again!

Thomas

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chongchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Great little hotel in terrific location to Jonker street. Rooms are on the small side but cosy and bed is super comfortable. No lifts and stairs are hard work. Reasonable breakfast served downstairs for extra price. Big tip would be to stay here on Friday Saturday or Sunday nights when the night markets are on as otherwise it is very quiet . Night markets have great selection of street food, shopping and entertainment at your doorstep. Really enjoyed our one night stay and massage place next doors is good too!

Room Tip: go for ground floor if you can't handle stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heliconia9PerthWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

2nd time to Malacca. Stayed in Holiday inn during my first visit and decided to try this hotel as I had a good experience in a boutique hotel in Kuala Lumpur and this was the only boutique hotel which has room available on my travel date.
I brought my father and he had difficulty walking up the narrow stairs but nothing could be done by the management.
The room design is not as I expected. However the cleanliness is acceptable.
Location is good as it is located in china town but we had difficulty looking for the entrance of the parking because the access to the entrance is blocked due to night market.
We did not really sleep well till midnight as there were karaoke at the big stage in front if the hotel.
For the service side, couldn't comment much as we did not really get in touch with the staff as they were probably busy with other guests due to busy weekend. The owner can probably consider hiring more staff to provide better service just like other boutique hotel which has more personal touch

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosieamrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Thankyou to the staff at Jonker Boutique. We had a fantastic stay.
Staff and people very friendly.
Lovely clean hotel.
Great location. Walking distance to everything.
MWifi was available.
Markets on the weekend so if you dont like a little noise, not for you... but adds to the atmosphere.
Food fantastic... beer and cocktails very cheap and yummy.
Little India a few streets away has amazing food... Beautiful place to visit.
Thankyou.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We really enjoyed this little hotel, for its elegant rooms, spotlessly clean, nice bathroom, friendly staff and perfect location in old Melaka. If you are there Friday and Saturday nights, beware the noise from the street market goes on late - but that's the reason we were there! Breakfast was at the little café adjoined to the hotel and was, well, basic western, dry toast, an egg, not really great - though really cheap. Still that's fair enough considering how good local food is. There are a couple of places within 5 minutes walk where you can find a more "western" breakfast if you need it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ABsChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 168 in Melaka
1,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 168 in Melaka
1,456 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonker Boutique Hotel

Address: 84 Jalan Tokong | Kampung Tiga, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £38 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jonker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience old world charm with modern amenities and 5 star comfort. 16 plush and spacious en-suite designer rooms in a majestic curved Art-Deco building right on Jonker Walk, with free wi-fi, car-park.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jonker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing