We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Last time we were in Melaka we chose a large shiny hotel, away from Jonker St. That was a mistake. This time we chose so wisely, staying at Jonker St itself. The hotel was perfect for our needs. Free parking was great. There were 3 of us so we shared a family room with 2 Queen beds. Spacious and very clean. Loved the staff too.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    288
    62
    12
    5
See reviews for
253
249
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bolton le Sands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Yvonne and I booked into Jonker Boutique Hotel for eight days following our excellent experience there in 2011. Once more we were not disappointed. This is despite the fact that we are now both about 70 and tire more easily. Service from Jasmine and the team was first class, as we had expected, the room was spotless and comfortable with plenty of space. We did find the stairs heavy going but it was worthwhile for the service, kindness and help we received. We would definitely go again but sadly it is far away from the UK; we just hope we might get the opportunity to return in the future.

As one of the previous reviewers stated, do not be put off by the surroundings. Much work is being done to preserve this historic area.

Our previous visit was at the time of Chinese New Year and we had the best place in town to watch the festivities outside. This year the closure of the Jonkers Street area for the regular weekend market and festivities did mean we had to walk 200 yards to our taxi or car but again we were at the heart of the action. There is now plenty of space for parking and the cafe/bar outside is well appointed for breakfast and meals most of the day. There are dozens of other places to eat, both cheap and more upmarket, within 800 yards.

Malacca is an historic and culturally diverse city and the hotel is within easy walking distance of most of the main attractions. In China Town there are historic temples and mosques, the mausoleums of early princes, shop houses and townhouses all along Heeren and Jonkers Streets including art galleries and the Baba Nonya Heritage Centre.

For that part of the city with a heavy European imprint one has only to walk down Jonkers Street (Jalan Hang Jebat) and across the river. Of particular interest are the Stadthuys, the Formosa Fort, St Paul's Hill, the Porta de Santiago, the Malacca Sultanate Palace, the Islamic Museum and the Maritime Museum. These are all within two minutes walk of the busy Town Square. There are other gems but these you will find yourselves by wandering through the streets.

Away from the centre a little at Bukit Cina is the largest Chinese cemetery outside of mainland China, well worth a visit. Do not forget the river. Take a boat ride and see many of the main features including Kampong Morten, a traditional Malay village.

In Malacca you will find a modern city but also both see and sense the worlds of yesteryear, from the Middle Ages to the end of the European Empires. Jonker Boutique Hotel is an ideal base to visit and experience these places and times, at an economical rate and to feel welcome after returning from a tiring day's exploration.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs do choose first floor rooms as there is no lift/elevator..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is the 1st time that we took a departure from standard large hotels & selected a boutique hotel. We stayed for a night last weekend & it was an excellent decision. The location is fantastic; everything that is special about Melaka is within walking distance. Staff were professional & friendly. Room is clean & comfortable. A private carpark is a plus.

Room Tip: No lifts, so be prepared to lug luggage up the narrow stairways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VivienAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

highly recommend Jonker Boutique Hotel to anyone who enjoy's great service, fantastic amenties and gorgeous rooms, all this located in the heart of the town. Had a great time, staff were lovely and very friendly. Thank you again and we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SPChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel location is very good. Stewards in the receptionist are very enthusiasm and helpful, they can help us call taxi, it's just 15RM. Rooms are great and clear. The details in room dealt meticulous. It makes our journey wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joannezhou117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I spent 2 nights with a friend recently, we were upgraded to a lovely big room with 2 single beds, which was lovely. The staff were obliging & friendly, no pool - but we knew that. They don't supply breakfast, but said the cafe next door did, let's just say, don't order tea & toast ?

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, too many stairs & no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Make the choice to stay at this hotel,it can takes u more good times in Melacca. It's rooms are very clean,the persons are very nice,very kind,they help us to call texi, it's only $15! There also many places to have dinner or lunch,it's very near by there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sea_wy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,385 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,210 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,421 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonker Boutique Hotel

Property: Jonker Boutique Hotel
Address: 84 Jalan Tokong | Kampung Tiga, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jonker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience old world charm with modern amenities and 5 star comfort. 16 plush and spacious en-suite designer rooms in a majestic curved Art-Deco building right on Jonker Walk, with free wi-fi, car-park.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jonker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing