We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t judge a book by its’ cover. What a gem of a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family and I had a short vacation over the Labour Day weekend and we had a fantastic time, just trawling every nook and cranny of the famous Jonker Street. It was made all the more awesome by our choice of hotel stay - if you are looking for a place to stay in Melaka, that is both comfortable and affordable, then look no further because Jonker Boutique Hotel is a gem find indeed.

We had booked the hotel online. The staff were helpful and everything went well. We were pleasantly surprised when served with welcome drinks while waiting to check in!

Never judge a book by its’ cover! Despite the less than interesting facade, the interior i.e. the room was both comfortable and clean. Love the design of the bathroom! We requested for an additional towel through room service and it was delivered to our room pronto!

Another big plus is of course, its location! Situated at one end of Jonker Street, there is no lack of places to eat and shop, especially if you are keen on knick knacks and souvenirs. There’s a weekend market, starting right at the hotel’s doorstep and stretches the entire length of Jonker Street every Friday and Saturday night. The road is closed from about 3pm right up to midnight, with stage performances and also stalls selling food and souvenirs. Really a happening place to be.

One thing, though, to note, is that it may be noisy if one’s room is located, facing the street. Rooms are not sound proof, so the noise from the street, especially on weekends may be a bother. Our room was at the back of the building, hence, we were spared of any unwelcome din.

At the end of our planned two night stay, we had wanted to extend our stay but unfortunately, it being a weekend, all the rooms were already fully booked. The staff were so helpful that they assisted us to scout for vacant rooms in nearby hotels. Is that going the extra mile or what??

This is not a 5-star hotel but definitely 5-star, in terms of service. We will definitely want to stay here again on our next visit to this heritage city of Melaka.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky_KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

the room is cosy, clean and have a modern feel in the room. I love the location as it is right above the night market. this makes it easy to enjoy the market and chill in the room right after the crowded walk. Enjoy my stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meau88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very nice boutique hotel. right at one end of Jonker street. Very convenient to find food... just right downstairs. Customer service is great and response very quickly to any request. Room is very clean. simply fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachelkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Welcoming hotel with beautiful large clean rooms. Right in the centre of town and yet with an excellent car park adjoining. In the evening it's very buzzy with the street market. Outside there was a stage where lots of Chinese tried Karaoke with varying degrees of success!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thrumptonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It's great to stay here. The bed is big size, clean and comfortable. The room is clean and big. I love the design. The destination is very strategic, easy to get to the famous restaurant (chicken rice shop, nyonya baba food, durian puff, ice kacang etc). wow, my saliva is flowing now!!! The staff is friendly and helpful!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chloe_leaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We were driving down from KL in the evening to check in and upon arriving we had difficulty looking for parking as there is the night market blocking the entrance to the hotel, we had to call the hotel to find another way to the parking. Check in was smooth and the room is decent. Stairs leading to the rooms are narrow and be prepared for a noisy night at, there is a stage in front of the hotel that has karaoke show/competition until late night.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annaquarius89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed 6 nights in this beautifully located hotel. The staff members are very pleasant, helpful and efficient. Our room (102) was cool and spacious and the bed was huge! The separate (ie not over the bath) rain shower was very refreshing. There was live music in the street on Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings but it was not a problem as it was not very loud and finished before 11pm. The major attractions are all within easy walking distance and there are numerous eating places nearby.

Room Tip: If you think the weekend music might disturb you, ask for a room at the back or visit during the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EileenMulga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 168 in Melaka
1,238 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonker Boutique Hotel

Address: 84 Jalan Tokong | Kampung Tiga, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £44 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jonker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience old world charm with modern amenities and 5 star comfort. 16 plush and spacious en-suite designer rooms in a majestic curved Art-Deco building right on Jonker Walk, with free wi-fi, car-park.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jonker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing