We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home style Peranakan dishes”

Riverine Coffeehouse
Ranked #10 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Melaka
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Scenic river view dining along the Melaka
South Korea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home style Peranakan dishes”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Expect a very 'homely' environment - an unhurried service but the waiter was polite and helpful. The dishes offered are quite typical of what you will find in a typical Peranakan household. We tried the deep fried so tong (which needed more salt), fried chicken (which was yummy and crispy), udang mask nenas (good), itik tim (good). At the end of the meal, we had a complimentary mango chilli salad which was delicious. This must be the only restaurant that served rice on a nice traditional ceramic plate - other restaurants only offered plastic ones - so that really created a home atmosphere! We were there for lunch so we were seated in the cafe but I believe it would be a lovely view at the river bank in the evening. Where you can sit, have a meal and have a good view of an old part of Melaka. Worth a try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zippingeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    40
    13
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
1,309 reviews
906 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 638 helpful votes
“Almost Excellent.......”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

If it hadn't have been for some fairly average service (having to chase drinks and the bill) this would have been a 5 star review.

A wonderful setting by the river teed us up for a great lunch but we never expected so much for so little. We only ordered some special fries done with Iran bilis, chilli and peanuts along with the star - a njonja chicken dish done with a weird yet wonderful nut type thing.

Apparently, it's an acquired taste but not for us it wasn't as we loved it straight away. The gravy was immense and it was so good here we tried to go back for dinner too! Missed out though as it was shutting at 8pm - doh!!

Definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Loved the atmosphere and the food. We had once dinner and once lunch, food is cheap and good, friendly staff and good views on the river. Vest option between the cafés open in that area

Helpful?
Thank Dedee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Average nyonya food”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The nyonya dishes were just average, we ordered a curry, sambal brinjal, otak-otak and commando fries. The otak otak felt like it was supermarket bought frozen type. The curry was too diluted and not creamy enough.
The brinjals and the commando fries were good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karynn-YH-Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way too long to get food”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We waited close to an hour for lunch. A ridiculous amount of time to wait for any food anywhere. And the beer is completely over priced. We left without our food we were so bloody annoyed! We refused to wait any longer and be ignored.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverine Coffeehouse also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Riverine Coffeehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing