We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cheap hotel in Jonker with modern design”
Review of hangout@jonker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
hangout@jonker
Ranked #21 of 220 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This is my 2nd stay in this hotel and it's still fabulous. Non-smoking hotel though. Cheap compared to what other hotels in the same area are charging for their old rooms. Modern design and clean rooms with free wifi which offers good speed. The toilet bifold door is difficult to manage though, wonder if they use the same door as the public toilet on the ground floor as that is a breeze to close/open. Stayed on the 4th floor if you want a quieter room. Lift access provided too unlike other hotels where you have to struggle up the staircase with your luggage. Cultery, plates, bowls and cups provided too if you want for your takeaway food but you are expected to do your own cleaning. Water available free too, do bring your own bottle. Very friendly service staff. You are expected to check-out by 12pm as this is a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmurfSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear Smurf Spore,
Greetings from the management of hangout@jonker.

Thank you for taking your precious time to pen down your kind thoughts. Great to know that you continue to enjoy your 2nd stay with us and thank you for your continuous support.
You can go to our facebook to enjoy more special offer!!

Hope to see you stay with us again.

Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Wonderful location just besides Jonker St. Clean room with friendly and helpful staff! Simple breakfast but wonderful food at Jonker st. Hot water available for free coffee and tea. Room is clean but toilet is a little small. Bath towel is the thin and flimsy type you can expect to find in budget hotel in Asia.

.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daffy_ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear Daffy,
Greetings from the management of hangout@jonker.

Thank you for taking your precious time off to pen down your feedbacks. Good to know that you enjoyed your stay in our 'small and no frills' hotel. Hope to see you again soon at hangout@jonker.


Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The triple room we booked us quite expensive. No window in room and it's tiny.

We requested to check out one hour later at 1300hrs but was told by the Indian counter staff to pay for Rm10.

The only good thing about this hotel is its location. Other than that, nothing else.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear Pcartin,
Greetings from the management of hangout@jonker.

Sorry to know that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. We will improve our service based on your constructive feedback. I hope that this will not discourage you from coming back to the hotel.

Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We are two female travelers who wanted a comfortable, one-night stay in Melaka in between our Singapore and Kuala Lumpur. We were on a budget, but were not keen on staying in a dorm, so hangout@jonker seemed perfect for us.

Location: Fantastic. It is just at one end of Jonker Walk, which I learned to be much more convenient than being right smack in the middle of an extremely busy street. Vehicles can get in and out much faster as it is near the corner, and the taxi need not go through the bumper to bumper traffic at Jonker. As Melaka is small and you will basically just walk around to see the sites, hangout@jonker is a great base for everything. Restaurants abound just outside the hotel. 10 to 15 minutes walk to the nearest shopping center.

Tip: When taking a cab and if the driver does not seem to know where the hotel is, tell them it's beside Hard Rock Cafe at Jonker.


Staff: They are extremely friendly and helpful. The owner/manager even offered to put our laundry in the dryer for us so we don't have to wait and explore on our own!


Room: We got a twin room with ensuite toilet and bath at the fourth floor. Very basic, but it has everything we need. It was quiet during our stay, but as our windows are looking out the "Look Out" -- the common rooftop lounge -- it can be potentially noisy. Good thing nobody went there during our stay. WiFi did not reach our room sometimes, though. Another small gripe is that the folding doors to our bathroom are sometimes a pain to open/close.


Amenities: There are three computers for use with flat screen and fast internet. Laundry and drying services available by purchasing a token (RM10 for washing, RM10 for drying) to use the machines. Coffee and tea amenities available in the common area for free. Safety deposit box I believe is available also at the reception. No in-room safe.

Breakfast: Simple toast with butter/jam/kaya, tea and coffee. Does the job, so no complaints here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullet_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Mullet_Rock,
Greetings from hangout@jonker. Thank you for staying with us.

Great to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It was our pleasure to serve you and I hope to see you again at hangout@jonker during your next visit to Malaysia/Melaka.


Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Melaka is just a small place, and you'll probably do a lot of walking around. Hangout@Jonker's has the perfect place in terms of the major Melaka sites - most of the places to visit are just within a stone's throw of this hotel. This is quite important as you can go back often to the hotel to rest and refresh - something that's invaluable in the hot weather. The staff was courteous and quite helpful and the rooms seemed new and clean. For the price you are paying, you won't really get a lot but you have most of the basics at the perfect location.

Pros:
1. Close to everything
2. Basic breakfast - toasted bread, coco jam, butter and good coffee
3. Kitchenette - you have to wash your own dishes
4. Free water
5. Free wifi - although signal was a bit weak in our room
6. Free internet computers

Cons:
1. If your neighbors are noisy, you'll hear them
2. Not much TV channels available
3. No ref nor safe inside the room
4. No toiletries available - bring soap and shampoo
5. Towels were quite thin

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of a floor will probably be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warlocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Warlocke,
Greetings from hangout@jonker. Thank you for staying with us.

Appreciate your effort to pen down your constructive and invaluable feedback. Great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again at hangout@jonker.


Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed in 301 from 21-22 July 2012. Room nice and cherry. Clean, small toliet. A tad too bright for my taste though! No safe or mini-fidge in the room. Bedsheets clean and white. Bed is firm and pillows pretty gd. Didn't check out the breakfast, why bother when you have a chicken rice ball shop just across the road? :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcusvoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyonya_Lee2, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear Marcus,
Thank you for taking your precious time off to give us such wonderful feedback. Great to know that your stay with us exceeded your expectations.

Hope to see you again in hangout@jonker in the near future.

Regards,
Lee Lee(Ms)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Arrived to a room with pee all over the toilet seat! Yuck!
Rooms 202/203 are right next to the street, great for looking at the queue for chicken rice balls but disruptive to your sleep.
Extra pillows are limited to one per room (huh?!), woke up with a sore neck and a mother of a headache.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Eileena,
Thank you for taking your precious time off to pen down your feedback.

The hotel management really regret on your experience with the hotel. Cleanliness is our top most concern in ensuring our guests' stay are comfortable and enjoyable. We will surely take note of your feedback and sure that no recurrence of such incidence.
And again we apologize for not issuing extra pillow for your comfort. We will put that into consideration.

The management hope that you will come back and surely we will ensure that your next visit will not be disappointing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Heeren by the River Hotel
Heeren by the River Hotel
#55 of 220 in Melaka
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vinz Boutique Hotel
Vinz Boutique Hotel
#74 of 220 in Melaka
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#4 of 220 in Melaka
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cafe 1511
Cafe 1511
#18 of 220 in Melaka
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
45 Jebat Backpackers
#84 of 138 in Melaka
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 138 in Melaka
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hangout@jonker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hangout@jonker

Address: No 19 & 21 Lorong Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: £34 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — hangout@jonker 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hangout@jonker is a treasure to find for savvy travellers looking for a fun yet fuss-free stay while travelling. We were officially opened on 3rd July 2010 in Malacca, Malaysia. The 22-room boutique hotel is located in the Jonker Street area, a popular, must-go destination for tourists visiting Malacca. Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, our hotel gives travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for those great cushy beds and squeaky clean bathrooms. And, if you love making new friends on your trip, Hangout Hotels offer the perfect hangout place to meet and share adventure tales with fellow travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your hangout@jonker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangout@Jonker Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing