We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
57
54
32
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
54
32
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifihard rock cafesimple toasthawker centrecoffee teawould stay here againdutch squarethe hotel is cleanwalking distancenearby attractionseasy accessperfect locationred housebreakfast providedchecking outkayajonker
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2013

When you come to Melaka - Malaysia, one of the best hotel for you to stay maybe the Hangout@Jonker. Best at its own customer segment. Hangout@Jonker is not like a five star hotel but you will find yourself as you are in your home. Simple, warm, nice and 'feels like home'.

Location : Very good. It is near to the famous Jonker street and just a walking distance to the Dutch square with museums around it. Also, it is just across the Hard Rock Cafe. And one of interesting one is the rooftop. You can take pictures or just enjoy the city view from above.

Value : Not an expensive one, last time we just pay for around USD 50/night for two persons.

Sleep Quality: Though we stay in during Jonker Night Market in Sunday night, we still have quality sleep.

Cleanliness: Simple words, it is clean =)

Service: The staffs is very nice and helpful. You can just asking the staffs for helping you to find taxi, nice place to be visited and a recommended restaurant for you to eat.

Rooms: not a big one but clean. It also have Air Conditioner for each room.

Despite, it has no swimming pool, Hangout@Jonker is one of the recommended hotel in Melaka.

Notes: I think management of the hotel must reconsider the breakfast menu since they serve same menu for each day. A bread with butter, strawberry and kaya-coconut jam

Room Tip: Find rooms with numbers ended with 06 for each level
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Dear Andre H,
Greetings from hangout@jonker management. Thank you for staying with us.

Great to know that your group enjoyed your stay with us. And good to know that you found our rooms clean and that you had your quality sleep & rest.
The simple breakfast provided was complimentary for all in-house guest.

Last but not least, hope to see you & your your group hanging out with us again soonest. Thank you.

Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located just at the entrance of jonker road. We have stayed in hang out at Saturday night so it's very noisy especially with our guest room was arranged near to the road. The hotel was in a modern design, rooms were ok but the separate washroom was really small. The choice of breakfast was bread only. Staffs were soso, not impressed. We have spent RM168 for the room with separate washroom. We wont try this hotel anymore. We think other ancient hotel was better to try in malacca instead of hangout.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigigigigigigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Dear Gigigigigigigi,
Greetings from hangout@jonker management. Thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate the time taken to pen down your feedback. In line with our concept of "No frills, just fun", we provide minimal service and facilities to our guests. The breakfast provided was complimentary for ALL in-house guests.

Once again, thank you.


Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Very small rooms ever for single person! I don't mind if no mini-fridge but NO mineral water is very make me unhappy and bit weird because I've paid RM 135 for weekdays rate! with very unpleasant! The parking area is very far from the hotel and need to pay RM 3 per night. Did hotel must include the parking ticket? I ask for not include the breakfast they said compulsory but when I wake up in the morning just BREAD only for RM 10? Really make me shock and will never come back again. -no recommended and no star will given from me-

Room Tip: choose hotel with a reasonable price with very good accommodation.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masturayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Dear LauraBell79731,
Greetings from hangout@jonker management.

Thank you for taking your precious time off for this feedback. We really appreciate it.
Please be informed that we do not sell rooms based on the number of pax, but based on the no of rooms. So, even though you were alone, the special rate charged was meant for a twin sharing room.
And we do not have any parking lot and the nearest open parking lot is approximately 5 minutes walk away from the hotel. The simple breakfast provided was provided complimentary to ALL in-house guests.
We thank you for staying with us.

Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

So the rooms are small - no double beds - and the bathrooms are miniscule - but it all balances out when you look at the cost and the location. Right on the end of Jonker Walk, you have easy access to the night market, dozens of eateries, museums and the heritage listed town. A'Famosa and the colonial centre are all a short walk away, making this one of the best located hotels in the city.
The hotel is sparklingly clean and well appointed, with a laundry room on site, good security, free wi-fi and internet computers and a great roof top deck - perfect for enjoying a beer while watching the world - and the river boats - roll by.
A simple breakfast is included - white toast and coffee. simple, but enough to get you going for the day.
Only downside was the lack of ATM or convenience store nearby - and the size of the bathrooms. But, that said, I had a very pleasant couple of night stay and would recommend Hangout @ Jonker to any budget traveller. With the new Hard Rock Cafe Melaka opening across the road soon, I'm sure this hotel will only get more popular as time goes on.

Room Tip: Higher floors will get you further away from the street noise.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Tina C,
Greetings from hangout@jonker management.

Thank you for your effort in penning down your feedback. Great to know that you had a pleasant stay during your trip down in Historical Melaka. Hope to see you hangout with us again in jonker, soon :)


Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

Relatively new budget hotel, great location for exploring meleka city on foot. Also very clean and decent sized rooms. My room was on the second floor so it was noisy at night, traffic, music, rowdy people, and u can hear people on the corridors etc. Very bad sound proofing plus I could smell exhaust fumes from vehicles on the street in my room. Breakfast seriously too simple, just toast and tea or coffee. Overall I felt given all the short comings; not really very good value for money?

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rollade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Rollade,
Greetings from hangout@jonker management.

Thank you for taking your precious time off to note down your constructive feedback. Glad to know that you find our rooms to be clean.
Noted on the lack of sound proofing issue. And in line with our no frills concept, breakfast is supposed to be complimentary.

Hope to have you hangout with us, again!


Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews