We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-of-the-notch Location with Clean rooms”
Review of hangout@jonker

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
hangout@jonker
Ranked #22 of 217 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Clean, bright, airy rooms with brightly painted walls and a modern feel to it; this boutique hotel reminds me of my dorm names (but much nicer!). Very clean room and shower. Could be a tad small to some but it was just nice for me.

Great for a short weekend stay, highly recommended - as Jonker street is just next door.

My first choice of accommodation each time I drop by Melaka with my friends or with my partner.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuschial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your review, fuschial.

We are glad to have provided a pleasant accommodation experience for you and your partner.
We hope to have you hangout with us again when your travels bring you back to Malacca.

Regards
Steven L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for hangout@jonker
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Well, that's about it...Location. Right smack in Jonker Street. Other than that, I cannot think of another reason to return.

If you want to stay in Jonker area, this hotel is situated right at the start of Jonker Street area, close to the famous Chicken Rice Ball restaurant, Hard Rock Cafe, the tourist shops, food outlets and the night market on Fri and Sat.

The rooms are small and with very basic ammenities. The bathroom is clean and tidy with most fixtures working. Only problem, one of the towels have foul smell (similar to damp linen). My assigned room had a double bed, fresh bedsheets but quite stained. I believe the metal bed frame was customed made and have sharp corners. So if you are not careful like me, chances of you getting cut or scratched is very likely coz the walking space is very narrow.

The TV was mounted on the side wall, right beside your bed, in a very odd position. So imagine trying to watch TV in bed with your head tilted, looking up and have a clear view of base of the TV.

I did not experience any noise that evening, probably because it was a weekday before the weekend crowd arrive. However, next morning slightly before 8 in the morning, I was woken up by the sound of people talking and doors slamming. I believe it's the morning staff reporting to work as there is a staff entrance next to the lift, very close to my room. Yes, they have paper thin walls as mentioned in previous reviewes.

Service wise, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful when I checked in. Price wise, I find it a little on the high side for a very basic hotel. I guess it's the location that they dare priced it that way. However, I will not want to stay in Jonker area again, as there's really nothing much except for the rows and rows of tourist shops. Most popular food outlets have super long queues and finding decent breakfast is almost impossible in the early morning.

Unless you insist on staying in the Jonker area, I don't see the need to pay that kind of price (especially higher weekend rates) when you can find other hotels further into Jonker Street or at the Palawan/Mahkota area, at cheaper rates with better facilities/amentities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBk_711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your review, JohnBk_711.

We are delighted to learn about your your compliments on our hotel and service experience. We apologise for the challenge you encountered with the towels and will take action on it. Other than that, we certainly hope that your stay was a pleasant one.

We treasure each and every of our guest experience with us and it is through communication such as yours that we are better able to monitor and improve. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback.

Regards
Steven L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Excellent Location! In the center of Tourist Area!
Very Clean Room, specially the bathroom! really feel comfortable.
Nice Service! Prompt response when i email them for some special request, and they really solve my problem.
Feel Safe with the Room System!
Not too far from the Public Car Park!

5/5.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Mbnk,
Greetings from the Management of hangout@jonker.

Thank you for your perfect 5* rating for us. Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you hang out with us again soonest.

Regards,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

They advertise themselves as no frills. Well they are right. The room was OK but maybe not suitable for clean freaks. The location was good, easy to get to and cool down between trips out. There were just some things that were not quite right. For example, the lights would turn off randomly and it would be necessary to reinsert the key card. It is somewhat disconserting to have the lights go off while in the shower with no natural light. And the cable TV did work very well either, But all in all it was a reasonable place to stay. Oh, and no breakfast other than toast and coffee / tea. Other reviewers complained about the noise. It wasn't bad but I could see it being a problem if the hotel was busier or had different guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdoeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Jdoeida,
Greetings from the Management of hangout@jonker.

Thank you for taking your precious time off penning your constrcutive feedback. In line with our hotel concepy of "No Frills, Just Fun", the hotel provide basic facilities and a complimentary simple continental breakfast to all our guests. And noted on your feedback of the noise.

Hope to see hang out with us soon.

Regards,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Room is small but yet clean and comfortable. Love the free internet service in the lobby, My kids really love it . It is located next to jonker street where you can experience the weekend night market and all the malaysia foods. We can easily access to most of the attractions by walking...Would definitely stay again !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leopard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Leopard,
Greetings from the Management of hangout@jonker. Thank you for staying with us.

Appreciate you taking your precious time off to pen your feedback.Great to know that your family enjoyed their stay at the hotel.
Hope to see you hang out with us again soonest!!

Regards,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This place is Convenient , comfortable and staff are friendly,safe, cosy environment with clean, fully air-conditioned rooms and ensuite bathrooms at rates that won't blow your budget. Hangout Hotel is a great place to hangout and chill out,yet away from all that hustle and bustle.



View Hangout Photos >

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalexng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Dalex,
Greetings from the Management of hangout@jonker. Thank you for staying with us.

Appreciate you taking your precious time off to pen your constructive feedback. Great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you hang out with us again soonest on your next visit to Melaka.

Regards,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Room is small but clean & Comfortable. The problem is the Breakfast is only Bread with a few Choices of Spread. It will be good if they can add two Sunny Side up for the Price we are paying.for a Budget Hotel . Not asking much especially there's nothing to eat around the Hotel early in the morning. Stayed there once, will never return again as there are so many better Budget Hotels floating in the Market in Melaka

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berniechiahumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hangoutMelaka, Manager at hangout@jonker, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Bernie,
Greetings from the management of hangout@jonker. Thank you for staying with us.

Hope to see you hang out with us again on your next visit to Melaka.

Regards,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Timez Modern Heritage Hotel
0.0 mi away
Vinz Boutique Hotel
Vinz Boutique Hotel
#71 of 217 in Melaka
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heeren by the River Hotel
Heeren by the River Hotel
#62 of 217 in Melaka
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#4 of 217 in Melaka
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 137 in Melaka
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cafe 1511
Cafe 1511
#18 of 217 in Melaka
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hangout@jonker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hangout@jonker

Address: No 19 & 21 Lorong Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: £33 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — hangout@jonker 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hangout@jonker is a treasure to find for savvy travellers looking for a fun yet fuss-free stay while travelling. We were officially opened on 3rd July 2010 in Malacca, Malaysia. The 22-room boutique hotel is located in the Jonker Street area, a popular, must-go destination for tourists visiting Malacca. Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, our hotel gives travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for those great cushy beds and squeaky clean bathrooms. And, if you love making new friends on your trip, Hangout Hotels offer the perfect hangout place to meet and share adventure tales with fellow travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your hangout@jonker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangout@Jonker Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing