We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Melaka by far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Casa del Rio Melaka
Ranked #1 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Aust
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best in Melaka by far”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Beautiful hotel right in the heart of Melaka. Stunning rooms and 6* service. Walking distance to all of Melaka's highlights, the only transport you will need is the obligatory ride in a tri shaw across the river. Having stayed in a few hotels in Melaka this is the best in the city by far. Food is great and well priced, happy hour RM5.00 Tigers and don't forget the roof top pool with its views over the city. The manager even came out to introduce himself and check how we were settling in. After opening in May, this hotel will very soon be #1 on this list.

Room Tip: River suite; two bedrooms two bathrooms, living area, private balcony, massive bath and three LCD TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    407
    78
    19
    17
See reviews for
505
485
31
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We were torn between Majestic and CDR as both reviews look good! Finally we decided to try out CDR as it was only 2 months old.

Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by the staff at the front desk. Not only did they gave us wet towels, they even welcomed us with ginger lime sorbet. And, check-in was a breeze! We only had 2 duffel bags but they insisted on getting the bellboy to help us! The staff who did the check-in for us also walked us to our room to orientate us around our room.

The room is spacious and luxurious! We took the room facing the river and it was gorgeous! We ordered room service and the food is pretty good. It would be better if they could expand their menu though.

Tried the Satkara Signature Massage at Satkara Spa. I wouldn't rave so much about it but it was pretty decent.

CDR Melaka also has a beautiful infinity pool on Level 3. It was raining when we were there so we didn't get a chance to swim. Excellent view!

Breakfast was good and scrumptious. If you have breakfast included in your room rates, go ahead and order from the menu and you won't incur additional charges. Initially, we thought we could only have the buffet spread :) Having your breakfast outdoors is the way to go...

Here are 3 reasons why I would go back to CDR Melaka again...
1. Staff --> friendly, customer-service oriented, pleasant people
2. Room --> Love the fixtures, furnishing, spaciousness, deco
3. Location --> Right in the middle of everything that you would want to see in Melaka town, Everything is a walking distance away!

We unanimously agreed that we made the right choice!
- Marina + Johaness

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaJohaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed for 1 night recently on business and for pleasure. Check in was pleasant, done at the sofa instead of at the registration desk. We were given a cold tower and sorbet to freshen up. Check in staff was friendly. The whole hotel concept was done up in Mediterranean style. Location wise, it is the best amongst all 5* hotels, literally a stone's throw away from Jonker St and with a beautiful view of the river.

We were made to wait at our room for our luggage to arrive up. Probably due to lack of staff plus a large party checked in at the same time. Staff was apologetic when our luggage was brought up.

The room was fantastic, huge and clean. The bathtub was huge, big enough for two. Huge LCD tv and stereo that plays DVD as well. The toiletries were of good quality using natural products. You can smell lemon grass and other natural herbs from the gels and lotion. Very satisfied with the room.

The library serves fantastic coffee and gourmet tea but too bad about the reading materials. Magazine selection was very poor. I hope they would subscribe more magazines and some international newspapers would be a nice touch.

Breakfast was good, with a buffet selection and order the main course a la carte. Restaurant staff was friendly but again a bit chaotic when there's a large crowd. I had to ask twice to get my coffee refilled.

CDR is I think the most expensive hotel in Melaka, even more expensive that most 5* hotels in KL. For the price that I'm paying, I expect that something 'extra special'. CDR lacks that something 'extra special'. It feels more like a 4* service hotel with a 5* price and facilities. It can't seem to handle large crowds, like we experienced during check-in and breakfast.
In the room, we found a letter written by the hotel manager, saying he was eager to meet its guest. But when we saw him at the lobby, he was just standing there, without any smiles. He did not come over to greet or ask us if we needed any assistance! That's hardly 5* service. The staff were even though friendly, but not attentive enough. They don't greet customers, let alone call their names.

Overall, I still had a pleasant stay because of the staff friendliness and the excellent room and the hotel location. I hope they would improve on their service before I come back the next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NgMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadelRioMelaka_11, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Dear Ng Malaysia

Your comprehensive and balanced review of casa del Rio is very much appreciated. While we have worked to provide the best possible service in the three months since we opened it is understood that there is always room for improvement.

You may be pleased to note that in addition to the complimentary coffee and tea in the Resident’s library we are increasing our subscription to a number of different magazines. This will include tattler, time, news week, national geographic, the economist, as well as to a several lifestyle and special interest magazines. In addition we have subscribed to a couple of copies of the Herald Tribune daily for guests who want to keep abreast of in depth international news. We are about to add another 100 books to current collection making it 300 books on offer to read. There will also be two internet terminals in place by mid August.

There are times when variable volume in arrivals can create bottlenecks in service. This may have contributed to your wait for the luggage. We will try to do better.

I will also look at what we are doing with our coffee at breakfast. Generally it is freshly brewed and placed on the table in insulated presses that offer 3 – 5 cups depending on the size so negating the need to replenish. It is regrettable that you had to wait for this nevertheless.

I am sorry for not personally greeting you in the Lobby. It is a genuine aim of mine to be to touch base with as many guests as possible. Sometimes when one is thinking and concentrating the smile can get forgotten. I do not however offer this as an excuse for me or any member of my staff. Thank you for the heads up....we, including me, will try harder .

The points you raised have detracted from your experience at Casa del Rio. Please accept my unreserved apologies for this as well as my assurances that we will continue to try to improve in these areas.

Many thanks for the positive remarks on some of the facilities and services we offer. I am glad that this has given you sufficient confidence in us to return at some point in the future.

Should you, or any reader of this review, feel I have not adequately responded to your posting then I would be happy to personally answer any query sent to me at info@casadelrio-melaka.com

Andrew Drummond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

1. This was a group of 30 one night trip. Booking was made earlier, so rooms were already assigned when we got there. However, we still need to register and when majority of us arrived at the same time, it was a bit of chaos. There were only two check in counter manned by three people. Personally, I reached there at 2pm but my room not yet ready. No issue for me. Can still wait.

The hotel concept of check in is different from other hotels I have been. When you arrived, notify any of the staff and just relax at one of the gazebos available. The staff will do the necessary and bring back documents for you to sign and key card to you. While waiting, you will be served a sorbet and a cold towel - just nice for a hot weather.

2. Rooms are excellent! Majority of us got Lago view (balcony overlooking the fountain pond in the courtyard) and couples of us got the River view (overlooking Malacca River and historical places). No complaint. The room is as comfy as you expect. Spacious. You can opt for ceiling fan to cool you down if the air-cond is too cold. Bathroom is great. Big bath tub and spacious shower area.

3. Towels are big - in fact too big for me :-) Who am I to complaint right? :-) Other amenities are basic. There is no disposable shaver or tooth brush. However, I read somewhere in the review that you can request them from the hotel.

4. Breakfast concept is slightly different - semi a la carte. Bread, fruits, cereal, drinks are available as buffet while the main course need to be ordered. Since we are in big group, they prepared a buffet styled breakfast. Me and a colleague ordered half boiled egg and sunny side up - only to be told by a trainee waiter that our request were chargeable i.e., we need to pay. Don't shoot the messenger - he just relayed the message from his supervisor, Sazali. I didn't want to argue and continue the limited choice of breakfast.

On the way back to my room, I was in the same lift as Jarrod Ang (if I got his name correctly). He seems to be the Manager in charge for the hotel. I complaint to him about the chargeable eggs. He was surprised and very apologetic. He informed me that should not happen - it was already part of the breakfast. Hope this miscommunication can be fixed soonest possible.

5. Parking is available at the only basement. If it is full, guests can park at the open space carpark across the street. The room access card also serves as entry/exit token for the basement. However, if you enter the parking before check-in in, do keep the parking ticket until you check out.

6. Overall, I am happy with my stay there. Staff did their best to make your stay pleasant. If not about the breakfast, I have no complaint about the hotel. Definitely will consider the hotel for my future visits. Lastly, the rate is a bit pricey though!

Room Tip: Request towards the end for a bit nicer view. There are also connecting rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DeenHanafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The hotel (lago room) is a perfect choice if you wanna stay for honeymoon. The hotel ambience is romantic, the hotel staff is very friendly and make you feel very welcomed. This hotel gives me a different experience from other hotels. Im lovin it

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Localtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Stayed at Casa Del Rio Melaka for 3 nights , nice new hotel with very friendly staffs. Room was clean with real King-sized bed instead of 2 Queen-sized combined offer by others hotel.

Love the river-view room with a nice balcony, bathtub and rain-shower separated is another great design. Fast in-room broadband (free) & daily English Newspaper.

The breakfast is semi-buffet style, food quite average but as usual, the staffs provided great service and attentive to guest need. Free wifi at public places, which will be good if the room provided wifi service as well.

Overall, highly recommended hotel as it location is great, less than 5mins walk to Jonker Street and River Cruise.... it near most places of interest as well.... Thumb Up.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinaries2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My family and I checked into Casa del Rio Melaka last week, as the location seems great - river view and yet within walking distance of Jonker Walk. As the hotel is barely 2 months old, we were keen to check it out.

We booked 2 Lagos deluxe rooms and a River Suite. If you have a bigger group, go for the suite. The 2 bedrooms and living room are super comfortable, and the river view from the balcony and the master bedrooom is just great. No complaints though on the Lagos rooms as we get a direct view of the lagos below and a "slanted" view of the river from the balcony.

Service from the front desk to the restaurant staff was unbeatable. They have definitely been well-trained to offer the best service possible, and in tune with a 6-star hotel service. After checking out, I found some discrepancy in my bill and called back to check. The reception manager did check and called me back to explain and went on to resolve the matter.

My only complaint is the housekeeping - I suspect they are still not fully staffed, as requests for coffee cups etc never materialised. I passed this feedback on checking out, and hope that this will improve on my next trip.

Jessie Lau
Singapore

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spore84traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,325 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,601 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Property: Casa del Rio Melaka
Address: 88, Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#2 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka, part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minute walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches. Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere, Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing