We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Price Hotel in Small Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa del Rio Melaka
Ranked #1 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Everything is expensive. Food and drinks. Parking is horrible. Not enough parking in-house guest and visitor has to pay RM 15/ hour for parking. Ridiculous. I'm a local and my friends were visiting and I recommended this newly opened hotel. Room is clean because it is new.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcebergMelting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadelRioMelaka_11, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Thank you for your posting.

I am sorry that you felt we did not provide value for spend in our Restaurants. We do try to cater to a broad range of differing tastes and budgets. It is something we review regularly although we have only been open for three months. Our pricing starts with a RM5.00 beer at happy hour in Bar Rio, the RM25.00 steamboat in our Cafe and goes up to our bestselling Angus Beef chateaubriand for two at RM70.00per person in our River Grill. The Sunday Hi Tea at RM49.00 with Jazz, Magic and kids entertainment is gaining in popularity each week.

It is correct to say that the car parking is limited. With 68 bays we have just enough bays to provide each room guest with a car parking space. At the weekends this is usually full. The high demand for parking in this prime area coupled with the need to ensure sufficient space for house guests is the reason for the RM15 per hour charge. For guests who are dining in our outlets however we do offer a flat rate charge of RM7.00. I am sorry that this was not offered to you. In addition to this, the car park across the road with 140 bays is currently offered without charge at anytime there is space.

Please accept my thanks for recommending us to your friends. We hope that as a local Resident of this unique city of Melaka we hope to welcome you back to enjoy the facilities here. Be assured that we will strive to maintain the cleanliness that you mentioned not just because we are new.

If you or any reader of this review or response would like more information then I can be reached at the email address info@casadelrio-melaka.com.

Andrew Drummond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,388 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

For such a new hotel Casa del Rio hit all the right buttons for us. We stayed in Melaka for two nights toward the end of a month long holiday in SE Asia. The check in was great and Alfie and the other reception staff were extremely helpful. Our room was superb, huge, extremely comfortable with every amenity imaginable including a lovely balcony, an awesome bathroom and exceptional service including candles on the balcony and in the bathroom as part of the turn down. The food and beverages in the bars and restaurants were wonderful. The breakfast buffet was the best we had. The staff were exceptional, we had particularly outstanding assistance from Vinesh who, in his own time, went and bought bus tickets for us and delivered them back to the hotel - Thank you! The roof top pool was beautiful and although we didn't use the spa or fitness centre, they looked lovely. We highly recommend this lovely hotel it is truly gorgeous

Room Tip: all the rooms would be heavenly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloriaSome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Great location. 3 minutes walk into Jonker Street.

Room was large and comfy, but a heads up: Don't get a room facing the courtyard. Heard loud music and the pounding beat and guests from the bar downstairs till closing time.

Also, was expecting a cold towel and welcome drink as mentioned by some reviewers, so was a bit disappointed when it didn't happen.

Also the high-speed broadband didn't work. Not in the room, not in the lobby, not in the bar.

The staff at the reception couldn't recommend a good place try Peranakan food within walking distance of the hotel.

Considering the high price we paid for the room (being booked only 7 days prior to our arrival, we obviously couldn't qualify for the early bird promo price), it would have been a nice touch to include breakfast. Our double room was MR$495 with taxes included!

We tried to ask for a late checkout the next day, which was a Sunday, as we wanted to stay on to try for an early dinner at a very famous-but-hard-to-get-a-seat-at Teochew restaurant, but we were given an outright "no" as they were very "full". The staff did not even offer a late check-out subject to a small extention fee. As such, the heat of the day got the better of us, and not being able to rest or freshen up before dinner, we just drove back to Singapore by mid-afternoon.

Nonetheless, the hotel is in a great location...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyce018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadelRioMelaka_11, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Casa del Rio has written to joyce018 directly to respond to the issues raised and apologise for the problems they experienced. We can assure readers of this review that we are working to ensure that there will always be cold towels and a welcome sorbet on arrival. The Wi Fi in public areas did experience problems that weekend however has since been repaired. The hotel has also made changes to reduce the noise emanating from the bar late at night.

Late check outs at the weekend are not always possible if there is a full house checking in on the same day – as was the case in this instance- as we need to make sure the room is prepared for arriving guests. We cannot even charge for this as We do however have bag storage facilities, a resident’s library, offer use of the spa, pool and their showers and change rooms. At times of lower occupancy we are able to be more flexible.

We have also provided the team on the front desk with a listing of restaurants that we can personally recommend within walking distance so this should no longer be an issue.
Clearly in joyce018 our follow up service and attention was below the level we expect of ourselves and I publicly apologise for this.

Should any reader of this review or its reply have any queries I would be happy to answer them through email info@casadelrio-melaka.com.

Andrew Drummond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Went there for an overnight stay with some friends of mine. Check-in was done in a most professional manner by your front office staff (kudos to them) and the cold towels and ginger sorbet provided was a VERY nice touch especially since it was a hot afternoon. The rooms were extremely big and spacious even for the deluxe category and best of all it was spotlessly clean and the beds were deep and soft. Some of your pillows are a little TOO soft though. The view of the pool-like courtyard was also a relaxing sight and the lawn-like chairs made it very comfortable.

The weather in Melaka was quite hot but that all the more made your rain showers an absolute delight! I can't think of anything more delightful than a refreshing rain shower on a hot day.

It was a pity that there didn't seem to be any available free wi-fi in the room. We had 3 Iphone users who couldn't get a signal no matter how hard we tried, although i am very certain you'll have that fixed in the future. We went out most of the day and came back at night and spent the night relaxing at your Rio bar situated just beside the river with the cool breeze blowing against us.

Your breakfast spread was definitely very good. Our juice glasses were topped up frequently and tea as well. HOWEVER, although i do understand it is a semi-buffet breakfast, it is very important to keep all your hot dishes, fruits and condiments covered and not left open specially if there are going to be houseflies around which is unevitable. Your bread was also very hard and dry as well.

All in all, a most fantastic stay and i am very certain to be coming back again. Your hotel is sure to do well into the future as long as the service standards and room cleanliness remain unchanged. Just please try to remember to get covers for your food and everything should be fine. There isn't much to change as the hotel is almost perfect! A BIG thank you to all the lovely staff and management who have made our stay an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juzanSGfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasadelRioMelaka_11, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

We appreciate you taking time out to review your stay. We appreciate the positive comments as well as the balanced constructive suggestions you have put forward.

Please do let us know of your pillow preferences on your next stay and we will furnish you with only firm ones or let us know your identity by separate contact and will add this preference to your personal guest history.

We have taken note of your comments about covering the food. Our bread is freshly baked and so should not be hard so we are now checking this daily.

Currently there is no wi fi in the rooms.. In the rooms we do provide a LAN cable and in the public areas there is wi fi. Apologies for the inconvenience – we do have plans to provide this later this year. We do, and always will, provide all our broadband access without charge.

Please do contact us through info@casadelrio-melaka.com if readers of this review or response have any queries.

Andrew Drummond
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Being new to KL, we thought we would go to Melaka for weekend. I found Casa del Rio on the web, and liked what I saw.

The hotel didn't disappoint. In brief, the rooms are fitted more in the Langham style and therefore are more classic than modern. As it is a new hotel, I can see that some minor details will change overtime (the remote control book box...).

The location is great, the reflecting and horizon pools are a great aspect. Staff are pleasant. We had dinner in the restaurant which was very nice (as a luxury hotel expect the bill to reflect this), we all enjoyed the meal - so compliments to the chef. No problems with the rooms, beds were luxurious and bathrooms nice. If they keep the maintenance and cleanliness standards high (not a problem in our stay) it is a hotel to return to again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Beautiful hotel right in the heart of Melaka. Stunning rooms and 6* service. Walking distance to all of Melaka's highlights, the only transport you will need is the obligatory ride in a tri shaw across the river. Having stayed in a few hotels in Melaka this is the best in the city by far. Food is great and well priced, happy hour RM5.00 Tigers and don't forget the roof top pool with its views over the city. The manager even came out to introduce himself and check how we were settling in. After opening in May, this hotel will very soon be #1 on this list.

Room Tip: River suite; two bedrooms two bathrooms, living area, private balcony, massive bath and three LCD TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We were torn between Majestic and CDR as both reviews look good! Finally we decided to try out CDR as it was only 2 months old.

Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by the staff at the front desk. Not only did they gave us wet towels, they even welcomed us with ginger lime sorbet. And, check-in was a breeze! We only had 2 duffel bags but they insisted on getting the bellboy to help us! The staff who did the check-in for us also walked us to our room to orientate us around our room.

The room is spacious and luxurious! We took the room facing the river and it was gorgeous! We ordered room service and the food is pretty good. It would be better if they could expand their menu though.

Tried the Satkara Signature Massage at Satkara Spa. I wouldn't rave so much about it but it was pretty decent.

CDR Melaka also has a beautiful infinity pool on Level 3. It was raining when we were there so we didn't get a chance to swim. Excellent view!

Breakfast was good and scrumptious. If you have breakfast included in your room rates, go ahead and order from the menu and you won't incur additional charges. Initially, we thought we could only have the buffet spread :) Having your breakfast outdoors is the way to go...

Here are 3 reasons why I would go back to CDR Melaka again...
1. Staff --> friendly, customer-service oriented, pleasant people
2. Room --> Love the fixtures, furnishing, spaciousness, deco
3. Location --> Right in the middle of everything that you would want to see in Melaka town, Everything is a walking distance away!

We unanimously agreed that we made the right choice!
- Marina + Johaness

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinaJohaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#4 of 169 in Melaka
1,494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,554 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 169 in Melaka
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Address: 88 Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Family Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: £107 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka, part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minute walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches. Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere, Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing