We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only 1 night - not long enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa del Rio Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa del Rio Melaka
Ranked #1 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only 1 night - not long enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I booked this on the strength of our experience of the Casa del Mar on Langkawi - and was well impressed. The welcome and service is excellent and the location on the river is beautiful - particularly at night with all the lights and illuminated trishaws peddling along. You can walk from the hotel to popular attractions and restaurants, but we chose to dine at the hotelrestaurant right on the riverside, a good decision with excellent food and brilliant staff who advised on the menu and added to a great evening. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed with massive bed and large bathroom, like I say, only stayed 1 night but I wish I'd had more time to linger at the Casa del Rio.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulnJanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    370
    69
    19
    15
See reviews for
439
432
29
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed in this hotel from 13 to 15 Nov. We are a group of 7 comprising of a few elderly. As we arrived early and our rooms were not ready, we were given an upgrade to a bigger rm with 2 bedrooms first so that we can rest. The connecting room was also given to us later in the afternoon after the guest checked out. We were very impressed with the service. The staff responded promptly and fixed the shower controls and broken door stopper in the bathroom.
One hotel staff Adam helped to arrange for the cruise to pick us up from the hotel jetty. He waited at the jetty despite it was drizzling and he had no umbrella.
Overall, the stay was very enjoyable.
It would be even better if there is wifi in the room or if the wifi in the lobby is working.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

This hotel is located very good location for sightseeing. We could visit all main sightseeing point by walking. And room was clean&beautiful, staff were kind. Usually, pub in hotel is very expensive but we enjoyed cheep beer during happy hours in a pub.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ysugiura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have stayed at the sister hotel (Casa del Mar Langkawi) many times ,so booked here on the strength of our experience there------we were not disappointed!! We loved everything about the hotel.It's fantastic location on the riverside,with so much to see within a short,pleasant walk.The room was gorgeous with a pretty balcony to relax on and admire the view,especially beautiful at night with Melaka all lit up.After a day sightseeing and when the heat gets too much,a cooling dip in the lovely pool and a cold drink is nothing short of heaven. Last but not least ,the food was first class,amazing breakfasts,served by delightful staff.A special mention for the linguini with prawns which i had one evening which was simply to die for! Thankyou to Andrew and all the staff,we cannot recommend you highly enough and would love to return. Elizabeth and Dick Fisher

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bavington186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Highly recommended. The hotel is beautiful and conveniently located a short distance of the main attractions of Melaka.
Absolutely all the hotel staff was very warm and friendly and something that caught my attention was that they always saw a smile on his face, I really felt at home.
The food and restaurant service were great and my room is upstairs was very cozy, spacious and excellent night view of the river.
The pool located at the top allows you to have a broad view of the town.
Without a doubt stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a great view or the river .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wannaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

we stayed for two nights and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, hotel is right on the river with easy access to allsights. staff very helpful and food OK in restaurants, room was very good and all modern conveniences

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

A very nice hotel, the rooms are beautifully designed and cosy, with great views. The spacious bathroom has a huge bathtub and a powerful rainshower. The staff at the hotel made us feel right at home (there was a printed weather forecast for the days of our trip on our desk in the room!) We found the breakfast delicious since it's done semi-buffet style and your main course is served to you freshly made. You can choose to have your breakfast overlooking the river too, a great way to start the day! We tried room service one night and the food was good. Location-wise, it's a mere 5 min walk to Jonker street and you could easily walk to the other key attractions in Melaka. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkozoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#3 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Property: Casa del Rio Melaka
Address: 88, Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka, part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minute walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches. Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere, Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Fastbooking so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing