We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Casa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Casa del Rio Melaka
Ranked #1 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Loved the Casa”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed here just before New Years, after noticing it being built a year ago when we were last in Melaka, when it was just a big building site. The place is already big but they are building another "wing" next store which looks just as big - hopefully that won't ruin it, because right now it is an amazing place to stay. The staff were brilliant from start to finish, friendly, efficient, couldn't do enough for us. I would especially like to give a mention (and big thumbs up) to the bar manager (massive apologies for not remembering his name) who really couldn't have been better and I swear never left the place!

Our room was facing the river and while it was nice to have that view and the balcony, it made it very noisy because, like much of Melaka, they are re-developing a warehouse right across from the hotel and the jackhammers, etc, are going from dawn to dusk. That of course is not the hotel's fault, but worth noting for those who are sensitive to noise. I would, on hindsight, would have much preferred the courtyard side. The room was huge - as big or bigger than suites we have stayed in other hotels, however almost because of that the lighting situation is a bit of a problem. All the switches are together on the wall outside the bathroom and it's difficult to tell which switch is for what. And if you shut them all off at night from your bed, you can't see a thing if you need to get up for the loo. As there is a small step from the room to the hall & bathroom, it is a problem. So, we had to leave the light on in the wardrobe area, which was okay, but since there is a sliding screen between the bathroom and room, which is opaque, it lets the light in all the way through the room. Instead, they could use a nightlight there where the step is.

The turndown service is great - they even bring you a mossie coil and tealight for your balcony every night.

The pool was fantastic and we especially enjoyed the jugs of water, refreshed with cucumber, apple, etc in it and the fruit to go along - this was in the afternoon. Personally I thought the pool towels were too big but I see they've changed that. I was lucky enough to have a child's sized bath robe in the wardrobe which fit me perfectly - normally I have to walk around with one massively too big and tripping over it all the time. So if you are petite, remember to ask for a child's robe if there's not one aleady there. Speaking of children though, the other reviewer was lucky because when we were there (school holidays) there were a few rude, screaming children in the pool who ruined the whole ambiance. And having a children's pool is no use as none of them ever use it as they want to be in the big pool. I wish hotels would have adults only pools instead of bothering with children's pools.

Food - the steamboat is an absolute bargain as you can share one and still not be able to finish it all. Also the bar snacks were really good. The best bargain though was their wine list. Those of you who drink wine (esp white like me) usually have trouble finding any, let alone anything decent at a less than extortionate price in Malaysia. Well the Casa had an absolute belter of a New Zealand savingnon blanc at the cheapest price we paid for a bottle outside of the supermarket on our entire trip. Too bad they ran out and we had to go for another white for the last couple nights, which was still nice and good value, and the bar manager tried his best to get the savy in but couldn't before we left. It was so nice sitting on an evening overlooking the river with a nice cold bottle of wine, paired with excellent service.

And what a fantastic end to our stay there, we found a thank you note with a bottle of red wine in our room to take away with us. This was our 3rd time in Melaka and although we really enjoyed the Majestic, the Casa is our new favourite hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to return. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because of the noise from the construction and the lighting situation in the room.

Room Tip: Check about the construction going on and if so, think about a courtyard facing room. If you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BridgetC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    394
    76
    19
    16
See reviews for
485
470
31
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Strategic location as it is near to all the places of attraction, walking distance. Welcome ice slush drinks & ondeh-ondeh kueh were a treat. Unique Spanish styled rooms, which our kids loved compared to normal city hotels. Infinity pool facing heritage site. Hotel has a cosy library with sufficient books & TWG free flow tea & coffee available in the library. Breakfast was freshly prepared with a mixture of local & western spread. Gula melaka provided with the usual sugar which was really addictive. Luv the homely ambience.

Room Tip: Higher floor has good view of heritage site and waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zainuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

For its location in the old part of town, this place offers a luxury alternative to the small boutique hotels. Alright, so the hotel is not located inside a historical building, but this new building does respect its surroundings pretty well. The site used to house some nondescript warehouses if I'm not mistaken.

The complex has a basement carpark, which beats parking in the back lanes if we had stayed in a historic boutique hotel. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful, I'm not saying this because we were upgraded to the Cheng Ho suite, they were really nice and well mannered.

The suite was huge, too big for the two of us. The view over the river towards the fort and red church was fantastic! The room was clean and well kept, the only gripe is the free wi-fi was very slow and signal was a bit weak, but no big deal.

The pool is a the rooftop level, where there is a gym and spa and bar. The infinity pool looks good both at night and during the day! At the rooftop, you can see the Holiday Inn and other high-rise hotels in the distance. No doubt you will get a great view of the sea and convenience of having the shopping malls nearby these hotels, but you won't enjoy the tranquility and character of Casa Del Rio.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenbeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Germain-sur-Vienne, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This gorgeous hotel is situated at the side of the river in the heart of Malacca. Two minutes (truly) walk takes you the wonderful old heart of the city.

Malacca is a revelation, there is so much to see and do here, and then you can stroll gently back to the welcome of the hotel. The library is a haven of peace for those who want a change from the liveliness of everything. Sit on your balcony and relax to the sound of the fountain and the largo. Enjoy drinks or dinner on the terrace and watch the world, including the river cruise boats go by.

I could go on forever but I can sum it all up best by saying ... I can't wait to come back to Malacca and Casa del Rio as soon as possible and for longer.

Room Tip: As for one overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fr3nchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Perfect location... loved the spacious bathroom.. service is superb.. food was good too.. love the idea of the hotel to place "buku 555" as their note book instead of placing a normal note pad in the room.. also there was a book (sorry i cant remember the title) but it was about 'baba nyonya' - at least the guest knows a little bit more about the baba nyonya ethnics..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zaidah_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my wife for 3D/2N. The hotel is beautiful. Location is ideal.
Service is marvellous especially nat the Front Desk and Resturant.
The Pool is also superb. Breakfast spread is reasonable. The Pasta was delicious.
But maintainence is 3 Star.
(i) Pool towels are badly stained
(ii) In the bathroom, shower flooring is stained.
(iii) Asian cuisine is sub-standard.
(iv) More importantantly, wife and sel;f were bitten by bed bugs whiuch is very unbecominbg for a 5 star hotel.
Hopefully management takes note of these points. Otherwise still a good hotel.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are very good. Bookin through internet with the hotel is definitely cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajendran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Casa del Rio has responded directly to the guest who posted this review.

There are some points however that readers of this post would probably like to hear a response to.

Bed Bugs
On learning of this comment, the hotel immediately took the room in question out of circulation and brought in its contracted pest controllers. Casa del Rio has a comprehensive pest control programme and does take the health and safety of its guests very seriously. It has a contract with an internationally known pest control company.

The company was instructed to conduct a thorough examination of the room and, in particular, the bed. The result was that while we are not able to explain how the guests in the room received bites we can report that there were no members of the Cimicidae species, commonly known as "Bed Bugs", found. Nor did they find anything else that could explain the bites sustained by the guests. The hotel turns its mattresses every quarter and is on the lookout for anything that may need attention such as insect activity.

Readers of the review should be assured that the hotel has given this matter the highest priority. While we do conduct regular scheduled cleaning and pest treatment, it possible for these pests to be introduced in luggage into any hotel room regardless of the cleaning and control standards. As a double precaution the pest control company has been instructed to carry out a full audit on all rooms and to administer any treatment needed.

Pool Towels
The swimming pool and the spa do share the same supersized towels. The oils used in the spa sometimes soak into the towels and while they are washed thoroughly, at sterilising temperatures, can result in some discolouration. We have now removed these towels from circulation and while we find a solution for the spa, will use the smaller room bath sheets up on the pool deck.

Stained shower floor
On carrying out a close inspection of the floor stains referred to we had found that the marks were in fact a part of the tile. While we agree that the marks do in fact look like stains; tests carried out revealed that even when tile’s top lacquer layer was removed, the dark colour remained. Understanding that this is likely to give rise to further comment we are now planning to remove these tiles and replace them with less marked ones.

Asian Cuisine
The Food in any hotel is a constant work in progress and is something we understand needs to be continually reviewed, revised and refreshed. We do have a wide market to cater for and while we have specialised in classic international cuisine, do aim to make sure that local dishes and favourites are well represented to a good standard. This focus goes right down to weekly internal cooking competitions where we try to find any hidden recipes handed down through families of our kitchen brigade. This has yielded some very good results. We can confidently say in addition that many of our local dishes are worthy of the compliments they do receive. These might be the Steamboat, Nasi Minyak, Chicken Rice, Nonya Laksa among others. We do constantly receive and record feedback which has allowed us to develop and improve in these areas. We shall continue to invite, and respond to, such feedback.

While we have addressed the matters of concern we do understand and appreciate that these remarks were made objectively, with an aim of improving the product for future guests. We are also heartened by the positive comments posted and appreciate the encouragement of this reviewer.

If the readers of this response feel that there are additional queries to answer then these may be referred to Andrew Drummond, General Manager, through the email: info@casadelrio-melaka.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel is quite unique. For the price you pay, though it's slightly higher than the rest of hotels, if you are a person who likes luxury, you will like it.
Service is fast, way too fast in terms of the speed where the ops staff speaks, so catching their speech / welcome greetings can be a challenge.
Food; can't mentioned as I didn't eat anything except their birthday cake. Which was blueberry cheesecake. Not too bad though.
Location; a nice place just slightly out of jonker street. But in malacca, as long as you can bear with the sun, the weather, you will survive. It's just max 3 mins from jonker street!
Environment; definitely a good place and understands why it's slightly pricy. Totally worth it with hpl being the owner. So you do see similarity in terms of amenities to other major brands. A homely environment mixed with local heritage. Yet this place has no big families with kids screaming around!
Overall, if you are a young couple, dinks, working adults, likes a little luxury, and don't mind walking Abit more, this place will fit you best!
Maintain the environment, management of casa del rio and you can be assured that I will keep recommending and coming back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaphong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,299 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,596 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#10 of 166 in Melaka
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Property: Casa del Rio Melaka
Address: 88, Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Family Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka, part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minute walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches. Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere, Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing