We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mental Spa!!!!”
Review of Zheng He Tea House - CLOSED

Zheng He Tea House
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Experience a tea appreciation like wine tasting, and be drunk by tea.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mental Spa!!!!”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Found inner peace in this quaint little teahouse with impeccable hosts!

Learnt the fine art of tea appreciation!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank vivi_tty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent tea ceremony”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This is a must if you are visiting Melaka. The tea ceremony is fascinating and informative, we learned lots not only about tea and the tradition that surround it but also about the area, history, restaurants e.t.c. Pak the proprietor is very friendly and knowledgeable with good English.
After the tea ceremony which by the way was only about £5 we asked if she could show us some sites. She took us and a couple of other visitors on a night tour around the back streets and food outlets that we would not have considered otherwise. This was for us the highlight of our time in Melaka We did not eat there so cant comment on the food

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Theloniusmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“everything you always wanted to know about tea...”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

the tea ceremony at the tea house takes at least one hour or more, but it is interesting to chat with the lady, who does the ceremony, to watch her making tea and ask everything you always wanted to know about tea, the way it is fermented and roasted and cultivated etc, interesting!

besides she's a nice lady to talk about anything, she'll give you good information about malaysia and its cultural diversity, which i find very interesting.

if you have an hour or two to spare, go and enjoy the tea ceremony at the tea house! the house itself is beautiful as well to see!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank arianna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Satisfying”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I brought my family over there for dinner one fine night . Parking was very difficult because of the narrow lanes but it was a good walk through the old town to the cafe . Food was simply awesome n the uncle with the walking stick was very kind n patient to my 2 active kids . He also has a very deep understanding for Chinese tea . Good ambience , awesome food , good people n highly recommended .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank ophier666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend two hours of tea drinking, chat and trip guidance from the host”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I wish I had visited Zheng He Tea House (Lao Pu) on my first day in Melaka. This is not only a great place to learn about Chineses Tea Ceremony but also a good starting point to learn about good food and attraction in Melaka from our host, Uncle Lai.

Uncle Lai is really a good host and teaches us alot about the different Chinese tea and preparation process. It was a great experience and relaxing ambiance in the tea house. Uncle Lai's son also gave us a tour of the home stay rooms up stairs. Clean and all rooms comes with ensuite. I will recommend it as a home stay for visitors to Melaka.

I am most impressed with Uncle Lai hospitality to all guest who visited during during my two hours stay at the tea house. Despite having difficulty walking, he never fail to stand up and walk to the door to personally greet and invite guest into the tea house. Its a testament to his passion in his business of running a tea house to make friends, not only profit.

Thanks to spare time in the evening, Uncle Lai brought us to some of the nice foodie place away from the touristic crowds for dinner. He even brought us all the way to Portuguese Settlement to view the impressive Christmas house light up + have a nice Mango juice at the makan area. Not a single cent was ask from us, we were impressed and touched by his hospitality beyond his business of running the tea house.

We did not pay much for the Tea Ceremony yet we had a great evening around the town during the evening. With such great service, its my honor to highly recommend Zheng He Tea House as your starting point during your visit to Melaka.

Visitor Beware!!! Please do not go to the wrong tea house in the wrong street. Refer to the pictures I had uploaded, thats how the Tea House looks like.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank cybourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zheng He Tea House also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing