We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap room price good vocation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Armada Guesthouse
Ranked #65 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Reviewed 8 May 2013

26/4/13 this a first time me at Malaka i went alone and stayed here only 1 night (26/4/13) it was amazing i loved it in the morning on 26/4/13 i had went to KL .i had wonderful time and very happy enjoyable stayed there .all people here make me happy and help full i promise i come back again as soon

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afdal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

there is a french expression to say : do not rely apparances....that's mean when you enter this place its' look cheap but believe me after the first night you will love it ! rooms and shower are realy clean, staff realy helpfull , i like the tv and the nice choice of dvd for a big rainy day.. there is also free coffee and tea and we easily feel like at home..i would come back..the only negative point is peoples smoking in common room and the swimmng poll is far away from the hostel...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandrabruniecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

L'armada Guesthouse was definitely a great value. I stayed here for one night in a single room. The bathroom was kept very clean, and the sheets on the bed appeared to have been washed. The location is also excellent, as Chinatown and the old city were very close by. If you are looking for cheap, no frills accommodation in Melaka, then I definitely encourage you to stay at L'armada guesthouse.

Room Tip: You can hear the Imam make the call to prayer as a mosque is just across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sajtaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

rooms are small, very small. no air conditioner. in this part of the world, if you are coming from Europe or America, you must have an aircon. Noisy place. One can easily hear all the cars passing by the guesthouse. Lizards are in the rooms; you sleep, then open your eyes and you can easily spot them. Mosquitoes are everywhere; the comfort level of the hotel, even for a well-tarveled person, is not good at all. To enter the guesthouse you need to go up the stairs 4 floors. I am totally fine with going up there but going up the stairs with no lift gives you a strange and uncomfy feeling. The only positive sides about this guesthouse are (1) location and (2) the host.
Location is close to sightseeings, the host was very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while backpacking through Malaysia and had a great experience. The guesthouse was fairly quiet when we were staying there and we booked a private room so I'm not too sure what the experience of the dorms is like. They do look fairly open. Because it was low season we paid 30RM for our room which was really big, on the corner and had lots of windows and natural light. The room was really clean and the fan was quite strong. You could leave the windows open during the day and this helped to cool it down.

All the rooms are shared bathrooms and there are 4 in total with hot showers. The bathrooms were kept clean but didn't always have toilet paper. The common area is really big and homey. There is a computer with free and quick wifi. Wifi is available all over the guesthouse but didn't always work in our room but it was at the back of the guesthouse. There is also a big fridge/freezer to store some food and there are hotplates for cooking. Filtered water is also available. There are lots of comfy chairs and it's a really nice place to meet other backpackers.

The guy working there is so so nice, really friendly and really helpful. He really wants to look out for you and make sure that you are having a good time. He is also really security conscious and takes really good care of the place. One of the owners popped by while we were there and he wasn't as friendly but he also wasn't there often.

The location is really good and within walking distance of Dutch square where lots of the buses stop but also within walking distance of another close bus stop heading back to Melaka central. Overall, we had a really good experience here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The hostel is a nice place to stay during your stay in Malaka, the location is very nice and just 10 min walk to the very famous Jonker street and all the tourist accommodations.
To get to the hostel is only 10 taxi or bus ride from the bus station.

The place is ok, you get what you pay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedroadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

As others have stated already, the guesthouse is located in an old concrete building on the 4th flour, so it's a bit of a hassle to get up there if you have lots of luggage. Most people staying there are backpackers though, so it shouldn't be that much of a problem. The communal area is rather dark and needs some updating, it's not that cozy at all. The area where the rooms are is nicely done with a warm (fake) wooden floor. The rooms are what you would expect for this budget, only available with a fan. So it probably is moist the entire length of your stay, but then again, you can't expect more. You have to ask for a blanket en toilet paper, which is ok. A tip to the owners: just provide it in the room, much easier! Bathrooms also in an urgent need of an update. They were clean, but that's hard noticing when everything is worn off. Overall I didn't had a bad stay there, I've seen worse hostels in my life. Also the city of Melaka is wonderful to explore, but only for one or two days, you'll get bored staying there longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinkeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Olive Flashpackers
Olive Flashpackers
#12 of 140 in Melaka
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Blanca Guest House
Casa Blanca Guest House
#16 of 220 in Melaka
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tang House
Tang House
#64 of 220 in Melaka
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jalan-Jalan
Jalan-Jalan
#12 of 220 in Melaka
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warisan Eco Lodge
Warisan Eco Lodge
#18 of 140 in Melaka
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Armada Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Armada Guesthouse

Address: No 36-A 38-A, 36-B & 38-B Jalan, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Price Range: £8 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — L'Armada Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to l'Armada guesthouse….We are conveniently located; for starters your trip from Melaka Sentral will take about 15 minutes (see map and direction). We are a new guesthouse in Chinatown. Just a 4 minute walk will bring you to the heart of it all. We will help you explore wonderful cuisines at great prices. As you walk through the city the architecture and history blend together in such a unique enjoyable way. After a full day of sightseeing and picture taking you will look forward to our serene and quiet place on the Malacca river. Features:- Massive 14m x 6m (52ft x19 ft) common area allows multiple activities with space- Free internet without time limit- Free wifi- Smoke free inside, smoking on "balconies" and on roof- Bicycles for rent- Usual guesthouse freebies and facilities. WE ACCEPT GROUP BOOKING (MAX 37 PEOPLE). Additional Information: COMFORTABLE, ALWAYS CLEAN AND CHEAP. We provide :- 12 beds in Dormitory (carpeted) with windows- 6 rooms for Twin (with/without windows) laminate flooring- 9 rooms for Double (with/without windows) laminate flooring- 4 common bathrooms tile with shower- spacious common area (carpeted), airy with river view- free internet service and Wi Fi- make yourself at home, free coffee/tea, hot/cold drinking water- smoke free; smokers don't worry....u can smoke at the balcony with wonderful riverview- Friendly atmosphere; we like people- we provide laundry services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your L'Armada Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Armada Guesthouse Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing