We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Guest House of our entire trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roof Top Guest House Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Ranked #10 of 206 Melaka B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Guest House of our entire trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The place was run by a great couple who helped us out with all our sight-seeing and food tasting. It was extremely clean and friendly. The home made cakes were an added bonus! We had 'the best room in the house' which was very quiet. clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were also very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    69
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
130
61
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We just stayed for a night, but would have stayed longer if we'd had more time. Melaka is a great place to go (even during the week) and the Roof Top Guest House was just a wonderful place to stay: you are very close to all the sights and nice places, it is very very clean and we got such a good introduction to Melaka (where to go, what to see, where and what to eat): it was just fantastic! We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Do H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Walking around in China Town, Melaka we ended up in The Roof Top Guest House and had a great time. The owners are friendly and bake pie for their guests! Rooms and showers are spotless. A great choice in the centre of Melaka.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrthe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the matrix
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Stayed at the Rooftop GH for several nights and am very happy with the place. Mani and Raymond are very friendly hosts and they made sure the place was always clean and in order. The rooms are spotless and there's plenty of shared bathrooms available. There's even a rooftop for chilling out. After a hard day of sightseeing its nice to come home here. The rates are good value too. My only nitpick is that the wifi wasn't fully working during the time I was there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylight_Images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

It was a real joy to stay at this gorgeous guesthouse. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the beds are huge and very comfortable and even the linen was of 5 star hotel standard. After travelling for a year, this was by far the most comfortable sleep I've had in a guesthouse. The location is also perfect, being close to everything in town but far away from the Mosque and noise to get a great night's sleep. And if this wasn't enough what totally won us over was the genuine hospitality we received from Mani and Ray, the guesthouse owners, as well as Janet, the housekeeper.
When we arrived Mani greeted us with a cold drink and a priceless map with all her personal recommendations for the best places to eat in town. it was the best welcome we've ever received. The cherry on the cake was the actual home-made cakes Mani baked every day!! She and Raymond always had time for a chat and after 2 weeks staying there (yes we couldn't leave!) we left as friends.

Room Tip: Room 6! You can use the open air shower - which is sooo good, without running the risk of flashing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 days and 1 night in Melaka. Roof Top GH was excellent.Location in Chinatown area but in the quieter part close to river.Very warm welcome by Mani (and later Raymond) who spent a while going thru a map and explaining what to see, where to eat and other useful tips.The place is secure (need to use a card to get in door) Room was comfy clean and pretty quiet. Roof top area pleasant for relaxation.Can recommend this place!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea2858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

to keep it short:
cleaner is impossible! nicer? no way!
shared bathroom feels like your own at home!
the owners mani & raymond are so welcoming!
the hospitality is the highest i´ve ever had! this is a *4star / 5 star hotel standart!!!
free: fresh fruits, fresh cake, coffe, tea, citchen use, wifi etc.
we love to come back here! thank you very much mani and raymond!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lusaflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.1 mi away
Jalan-Jalan
Jalan-Jalan
#13 of 206 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
River One Residence
River One Residence
#12 of 206 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof Top Guest House Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof Top Guest House Melaka

Property: Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Address: 39 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Roof Top Guest House Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roof Top Guest House Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing