We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Backpacker's Freak Hostel
Ranked #86 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
“Great Place!!!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Easily the best place to stay in Malaysia, great atmosphere, great location, great host. Sean (the owner) is an very welcoming character that made my stay here an excellent one. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who wants an authentic and interesting place to stay.

Would come back here if I return to Asia.

Room Tip: Dorms are clean, cheap and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    18
    8
    2
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
21
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

To put it quite simply; this hostel feels like home. Sean, the owner instantly made us feel welcome and gave us a great guide of where to go around Melaka.

The hostel itself is made up of 4 bed dorms (yes, four beds, basically a hotel room!) and a couple of doubles/singles, a kitchen (you can pop down to the supermarket and cook your own meals, so cheap and a nice reminder of home!) and a living room/lounge area, complete with television and extensive DVD collection.

Oh, and, there are hamsters and bunny rabbits. Which you can play with. pretty much sealed the deal for me.

Sean's sister Ashley made a visit while we there also, and she is very friendly and was running a hostel in KL so we ended up staying there to, ask Sean for a business card!!

Brilliant hostel, we loved it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and although it was cheap and cheerful I probably wouldn't go back.

Our room although clean enough, was a little shabby. It had a couple of holes in the carpet floor and the A/C unit started leaking (although was fixed quickly). Like I said though, it was cheap and clean so that was fine with us.

What made is not so great was the noise. Our room had a window which looked out onto the main street. All night we could hear traffic, singing from the Karaoke club up the road and the street lights were so bright that it felt like daytime even in the middle of the night.

The shared showers / toilets were okay and cleaned constantly. The only bad thing was the squat toilet beside the shower which sometimes gave off an aroma of urine as we showered.

The owner was really nice though and very welcoming. He gave us lots of tips visiting Melaka and seemed upset that we hadn't ben around in the comunal area at all. (We were only there for 2 nights so we were out most of the time seeing the city).

To be fair, he does everything himself, so I was surprised that it was as clean as it was. He seems meticulous about keeping the shared areas really pristine.

Location wise, it's great. 5 minutes walk to Chinatown and the main shopping centres. Tourist info is right across the street.

PROS:
Lovely, friendly owner
Free toast & spreads, tea and coffee for breakfast
Cheap
Great location

CONS:
Smokers in the comunal area
Squat toilets in the shared showers
Rooms a bit shabby
Noisy as hell

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My hosteling experience here was great. Sean, the host of the hostel, was a complete joy. He was funny and informative, and my friends and I met great people while spending time in his up stairs common room. The location was optimal and the hostel was clean and cheap. Definitely a good time!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mastiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hostel is located just opposite Taming Sari Tower, really close to busy Mellaca Old Town. Hostel is on second floor up to third floor, funny that reception and common room located at third floor, so once you arrived, ring a bell then go to third floor. Wifi is provided here, connection was pretty good. Room was so small, with small window near window, Air Con made us freezing that time. Bathroom is sharing with other guest. Next to hostel, there's night market at night. Food is easily to get as it close to attraction center. A 24 hours mini-mart just next to the hostel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

if your in melaka you won't do better than backpackers freak hostel. Sean the manager is the greatest host of any hostel I've stayed in in the world. the rooms are spotless, its got a great common area and the price is very reasonable. also he treats all new arrivals a traditional Malay meal in the hostel so everyone gets to know each other. what a guy!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelyK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stumbling upon Backpacker's Freak ended up being a grand decision.
With the comforts of clean rooms & facilities, a relaxed environment, a cozy common area & an ever enthusiastic and entertaining manager, full of advice and great conversation, my 3 day planned visit of Melaka ended up being 11 days!!
It's also customary for the guest to each chip in some money for the host to buy some very delicious local food & to enjoy everyones company. Again adding to the very special atmosphere & friendly / honest service on offer.
All in all, I would definitely recommend Freak if not for just more than adequate digs then just for a relaxed & fun stay.

Room Tip: Windows can be bad on the weekend due to 24hr Karaoke & Boy Race Cars (Tokyo Drift Style)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtle1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.8 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#61 of 166 in Melaka
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
AL33 Leisure Hotel
AL33 Leisure Hotel
#73 of 166 in Melaka
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunshine Inn Plus
Sunshine Inn Plus
#54 of 131 in Melaka
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
0.6 mi away
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
0.7 mi away
Marina Well Hotel Sdn Bhd
Marina Well Hotel Sdn Bhd
#97 of 212 in Melaka
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Freak Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Freak Hostel

Property: Backpacker's Freak Hostel
Address: 1-25 Jalan Pm 2 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 131 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpacker's Freak Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the latest backpacker's joint in Melaka. Located in the city center of all historical sites and just minutes away from Chinatown. This is the place where budget and comfy comes together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Backpacker's Freak Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker`s Freak Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing