We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible! most wonderful place i've stayed in malaysia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpacker's Freak Hostel
Ranked #93 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Reviewed 15 September 2012

as soon as i came into this hostel i felt at home, sean is wonderful : ) not only during my stay of two nights was he completely welcoming, but let me hang out in the hostel for a further 10 hours while i waited for my bus...and gave me fruit (and a sneaky beer) for the journey! some hostels are completely void of any homeliness and just churn customers in and out, but here is something very different and special! if i hadnt already booked my flight i'd probably stay in melacca longer just for this hostel : ) cant speak highly enough of it!!! <3

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

shawn was a great host the place was clean tidy, shawn seemed to be able to answer every question we had about the local area and most of malaysia :) shawn was also more then happy to move us to a private room with a double bed as i stupidaly booked a private with 2 singles. there are no other pernament staff in the guest house, so i was very impressed with how clean it was. the only things i did not like was the commen room was also used as a smoking room, but thats just my only problem, thanks shawn James and Katie

Room Tip: bring ear pugs as upstairs rooms are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne-maree88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Backpacker's Freak is an absolutely wonderful time that is actually more like a little home than a hostel. Sean is more than friendly and makes a great friend as well. He really cares about your well-being and ensures that you have a good time in the process, as he really seems to know everything about Melaka and what to do there. Ask him any question about what to do in Malaysia or where to go and he doesn't answer like its a chore for him, but as one friend to another. In terms of the hostel, it really is a great place. The rooms are a bit more spacious than other hostels I have stayed at and the place is fairly clean. Sure a bathroom or two smells terrible, but that's life - bathrooms stink, and although they may stink a bit the staff at Backpacker's Freak is up bright and early cleaning away. The floors are nice, the food is good, the coffee is nice, and the people there are great. Nobody is really shy in spreading a word or two so if your a fan of good conversation, whether it is with Sean or the other staff - this is the place to go as well. I really loved my stay there and any time I am in Malaysia in the future I will make sure that I stop by there, I won't forget it. Oh, and it is nice and cheap too and close to all the rad things in that part of the city - including heritage town, jonker street, the light show (a big recommendation!) and many other cool things. It's not too far from the bus station as well (about 20RM) taxi or about an hour long walk, so if your going from Singapore to KL, Melaka is a must stopping point. Stop into Backpacker's Freak and say Hi to Sean and you will suddenly feel like your at home :) Totally rad.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit noisy on weekend nights due to the place being so close to the heritage city and suc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel_Newcomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Room was very clean and so was bathroom. Hostel is in a great location near to all major attractions.

Sean is full of information. He organised a bus ticket for me and taxi.Found him good craic and very helpful.

Think the hostel is fantastic value for money. Breakfast is included. Hostel is very secure.

Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend the place

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desire4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

After staying in matahari In KL I was more than happy to visit this branch in Melaka. Sean was the perfect host making everyone feel that they were at home, he gave excellent advice about traveling around the city:) It was one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. I will definitely return in the future and highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katinthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Easily the best place to stay in Malaysia, great atmosphere, great location, great host. Sean (the owner) is an very welcoming character that made my stay here an excellent one. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who wants an authentic and interesting place to stay.

Would come back here if I return to Asia.

Room Tip: Dorms are clean, cheap and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

To put it quite simply; this hostel feels like home. Sean, the owner instantly made us feel welcome and gave us a great guide of where to go around Melaka.

The hostel itself is made up of 4 bed dorms (yes, four beds, basically a hotel room!) and a couple of doubles/singles, a kitchen (you can pop down to the supermarket and cook your own meals, so cheap and a nice reminder of home!) and a living room/lounge area, complete with television and extensive DVD collection.

Oh, and, there are hamsters and bunny rabbits. Which you can play with. pretty much sealed the deal for me.

Sean's sister Ashley made a visit while we there also, and she is very friendly and was running a hostel in KL so we ended up staying there to, ask Sean for a business card!!

Brilliant hostel, we loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.6 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#53 of 169 in Melaka
103 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#39 of 169 in Melaka
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Melaka
Holiday Inn Melaka
#9 of 169 in Melaka
1,928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,541 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Freak Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Freak Hostel

Address: 1-25 Jalan Pm 2 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Price Range: £7 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpacker's Freak Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the latest backpacker's joint in Melaka. Located in the city center of all historical sites and just minutes away from Chinatown. This is the place where budget and comfy comes together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Backpacker's Freak Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker`s Freak Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing