We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River Panoramic Guest House
Ranked #67 of 227 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If the tacky, worn-down decor doesn't put you off then the paper thin walls just might, as we could literally hear every single movement our fellow guests were making (the fact that they were behaving like stereotypical Chinese tourists - e.g. slamming doors and stomping the floorboards on their way to the bathrooms - only exacerbated the problem).

The guest house's location is in a somewhat remote corner on the edge of the Old Town, though this really isn't an issue given historic Melaka's small size. It is, however, located by a markedly unattractive bend in the river. As such, unlike the superior River View Guest House, River Panoramic has little in the way of a view apart from a ghastly multi-storied concrete structure, which can be admired from a spacious if rather charmless patio located at the back of the guest house.

While Jonker Street may be an extra ten minutes' walk away, it is ridiculously close to a 7-11 convenience store as well as the various excellent (if nondescript) late-night hawker stalls that line Jalan Hang Tuah. Both are accessible via the riverfront walkway, which goes under a road bridge. Catching a bus to Melaka Sentral is also highly doable due to the bus stop's close proximity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phetsarath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed only 1 night,got room in a 2nd floor. Room & bathroom is ok, clean and basic. When we arrived already late,but we still hear music bar next to the guesthouse so loud and people chattering at the back.they have thin wall man's snooring can be heard loudly. In the morning, we still hear big steps of the people going around from room to the back..oh God..how can we sleep well. This is because the wooden floor.

All the bad is covered by friendly owner. I guess the owner is family, husband and wife, the wife help us so much if we need anything.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Noviern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Like most of the traveler, i did my research of this place. Most of the complaint i read was about the noise coming from the pub next to the house. For my trip, fortunately i found that this claim was a bit over the top. Sure you can hear some noises but it just not to the point that would make you awake. The owner i do believe is a husband-wife. I met with the wife first, who was really friendly and the husband later at night. She showed the room, small as expected for a budget place yet clean and cosy. A bit complain is that the wooden floor on the second floor will squeak when walked upon, so that was a bit annoying. Other than that this guesthouse is worth the money due to its location which really near to attractions and its friendly service.

Room Tip: Preferably take the first floor rooms, a bit far from the noise coming from the pub and chose the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaikalMustafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Location is good and room was good enough, but bathrooms could definitely use some love and noise can be an issue. If you're on a budget, I reckon it is a great choice though! It is quite close to town and we didn't have any hassles while staying there. Also, awesome dog. :)

Room Tip: They have a shuttle service to the bus station even though is not advertised anywhere - just ask on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diogo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

1. family with kids who are traveling on a budget
2. those who are looking for a cheap and clean place to sleep in.
3. people who want to be close but not at the center of the tourist crowds (about 10-15 minutes walk to chinatown)

they offer free
1. wi-fi access... just ask for the password from the receptionist/owner.
2. coffee, tea, and hot and cold water... it's in the kitchen area, ASK the receptionist/owner where it is as it is a bit "hidden". It was not until on our 3rd day that I discovered the kitchen area and the freebies in it.

*LAUNDRY MATTERS
When we were there, we had to buy some clothes since we were told that laundry places are closed every Friday and on weekends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovellaStratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Before I booked the room in this guesthouse, I saw all kind of reviews, either bad or good. I struggled quite a while but at last I decided to book it since my last trip to Malacca I stayed in a guesthouse nearby and I would regard it as a terrible stay, so I was telling myself nothing could be worse than that.
When I first stepped into the guesthouse, I was so glad that it looked much better than the other guesthouse that I stayed at last time. The room that I booked was a family room with 2 single beds and 1 queen bed. The room is very neat and clean and quite spacious. There is also a kitchen where you can eat there and there is also a water dispenser. There are 2 washrooms at ground floor, and 2 more at first floor which equipped with heater. The washrooms are very clean.
Besides that, there is a little space behind the guesthouse where you can hang out with your friends or family members with the nice river view. If you think you prefer a higher view, there is also another balcony on the first floor, where you can eat or chat or drink there.
If you are an animal lover, you would be happy to see the owner's dog and cats running around the house. =)
The dog is so cute and welcoming and won't scare you at the same time.
The only down side of this guesthouse is there is a bistro and lounge just next to it, so you would hear someone singing songs till late night. Personally, I can still accept it since the sound is very low in my room, barely hear it, so I'm fine with that.
If you ask me, I will definitely consider this guesthouse when I revisit to Malacca again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaiLing03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Booked a room for a weekend and in the description of this place was written river view and also in the pictures shown. Unfortunately went there, at 1 pm as check in time was 2pm, the owner asked for RM 10 for early check in, after paying RM 100++ for booking and tax fess, owner was so money minded for RM 10. I paid for it, according to him he has upgraded the room to bigger room(we were only husband and wife i dont see the point y I need a bigger room,but I just went with it). I asked him can I have river view room as I have requested during my booking, he said No river view is only for family room. I was shocked and upset, if this was the case, in the booking websites they should state that river view room is only for family room, dont mislead the customers as I booked this place to have river view. As we went in the room, mosquitos flying around in the room and owner told me because of the river and he will spray later when we go out, I mean you should have ensured the room to be in good condition before you even charge me the extra RM 10. The room we got was a nonsense, was in the middle of the house, and there was this lady screaming away in the kitchen could not even take a nap.Also in the booking website they did not indicate that the washrooms was separate from the rooms like a normal house, it just states sharing bathroom I thought it was 2 rooms sharing 1 attached bathroom, I went in the washroom was so messy the mop squeezer container was in the basin, how do I wash my hands on that filled basin?Decided to go out and look for another hotel. Found a new hotel LKS Hotel, clean with attached bathroom near the town for ONLY RM90 a night I REPEAT RM 90 and that was instant walk in booking. They had a car park in front of the hotel and owner assured us he will look after our car at night. Immediately checked out from the guesthouse and had a pleasant stay in LKS hotel. I do not recommend this place as the owner was not considerate at all..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 140Jessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverpanoramic, Owner at River Panoramic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

thk you very much ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.8 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 168 in Melaka
2,555 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Melaka
Holiday Inn Melaka
#10 of 168 in Melaka
1,929 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
677 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#39 of 168 in Melaka
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 168 in Melaka
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Panoramic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Panoramic Guest House

Address: 70 Jalan Kampung Hulu, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: £18 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River Panoramic Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to River Panoramic Guesthouse. We are a new guest house located at Jalan Kampong Pantai inside the Old China Town Heritage Site, overlooking Melaka River. The old pre-war building has been renovated and refurbished to provide a comfortable and cosy environment to our guests. Besides only a walking distance to all major attractions in Melaka Historic City, we provide a conducive atmosphere to relax by providing a seating area at the back of our guest house in addition to a balcony facing the river for an unforgettable memories to our guest. With our good experience in managing guest house, we assure you of our service satisfaction! Please note that we:- Do not accommodate children below 6- Do not provide extra bed, extra mattress or allow extra person in own sleeping bag in room.- Check-in time : After 2.00pm- Check-out time :By 12.00pm.- Rooms are held till 6.00 pm unless otherwise advised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your River Panoramic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River One Guest House Hotel Melaka
River 1 Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing