We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Clean, Complete, Cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Panoramic Guest House
Ranked #70 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Cheap, Clean, Complete, Cosy”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This cheap, clean and cosy guest house is ideal for budget backpackers, looking for a decent basic room to crash in. The location is quite strategic and happening, and just like all happening streets, you can expect a little bit of noise, but this shouldn't be a problem if you are out travelling and exploring town most of the time of the day and just head back to sleep after a tiring day. People should not pay for a budget guest house and expect to relax and laze in like a 5star holiday resort villa. The room and bathroom is clean and complete. Husband and wife owner was really genuinely friendly as well when attending to our needs. Really nothing much you can ask for for the very reasonable price you pay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueeNee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    33
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
13
18
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taiping, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

If you're ok with little bit noise from night life nearby, this is your absolute choice of a simple, budget yet cosy environment as place to rest yourself for next day's journey.

In addition, if you found yourself sleepless at night, you can enjoy the night riverview where colours by the lightning along the side of river and passed by Malacca River Cruiser.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvinSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If the tacky, worn-down decor doesn't put you off then the paper thin walls just might, as we could literally hear every single movement our fellow guests were making (the fact that they were behaving like stereotypical Chinese tourists - e.g. slamming doors and stomping the floorboards on their way to the bathrooms - only exacerbated the problem).

The guest house's location is in a somewhat remote corner on the edge of the Old Town, though this really isn't an issue given historic Melaka's small size. It is, however, located by a markedly unattractive bend in the river. As such, unlike the superior River View Guest House, River Panoramic has little in the way of a view apart from a ghastly multi-storied concrete structure, which can be admired from a spacious if rather charmless patio located at the back of the guest house.

While Jonker Street may be an extra ten minutes' walk away, it is ridiculously close to a 7-11 convenience store as well as the various excellent (if nondescript) late-night hawker stalls that line Jalan Hang Tuah. Both are accessible via the riverfront walkway, which goes under a road bridge. Catching a bus to Melaka Sentral is also highly doable due to the bus stop's close proximity.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phetsarath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed only 1 night,got room in a 2nd floor. Room & bathroom is ok, clean and basic. When we arrived already late,but we still hear music bar next to the guesthouse so loud and people chattering at the back.they have thin wall man's snooring can be heard loudly. In the morning, we still hear big steps of the people going around from room to the back..oh God..how can we sleep well. This is because the wooden floor.

All the bad is covered by friendly owner. I guess the owner is family, husband and wife, the wife help us so much if we need anything.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Noviern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Like most of the traveler, i did my research of this place. Most of the complaint i read was about the noise coming from the pub next to the house. For my trip, fortunately i found that this claim was a bit over the top. Sure you can hear some noises but it just not to the point that would make you awake. The owner i do believe is a husband-wife. I met with the wife first, who was really friendly and the husband later at night. She showed the room, small as expected for a budget place yet clean and cosy. A bit complain is that the wooden floor on the second floor will squeak when walked upon, so that was a bit annoying. Other than that this guesthouse is worth the money due to its location which really near to attractions and its friendly service.

Room Tip: Preferably take the first floor rooms, a bit far from the noise coming from the pub and chose the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaikalMustafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Location is good and room was good enough, but bathrooms could definitely use some love and noise can be an issue. If you're on a budget, I reckon it is a great choice though! It is quite close to town and we didn't have any hassles while staying there. Also, awesome dog. :)

Room Tip: They have a shuttle service to the bus station even though is not advertised anywhere - just ask on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diogo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

1. family with kids who are traveling on a budget
2. those who are looking for a cheap and clean place to sleep in.
3. people who want to be close but not at the center of the tourist crowds (about 10-15 minutes walk to chinatown)

they offer free
1. wi-fi access... just ask for the password from the receptionist/owner.
2. coffee, tea, and hot and cold water... it's in the kitchen area, ASK the receptionist/owner where it is as it is a bit "hidden". It was not until on our 3rd day that I discovered the kitchen area and the freebies in it.

*LAUNDRY MATTERS
When we were there, we had to buy some clothes since we were told that laundry places are closed every Friday and on weekends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovellaStratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#29 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#28 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
River One Residence
River One Residence
#15 of 210 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victor's Guest House
Victor's Guest House
#21 of 210 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House
0.1 mi away
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Panoramic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Panoramic Guest House

Property: River Panoramic Guest House
Address: 70 Jalan Kampung Hulu, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — River Panoramic Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to River Panoramic Guesthouse. We are a new guest house located at Jalan Kampong Pantai inside the Old China Town Heritage Site, overlooking Melaka River. The old pre-war building has been renovated and refurbished to provide a comfortable and cosy environment to our guests. Besides only a walking distance to all major attractions in Melaka Historic City, we provide a conducive atmosphere to relax by providing a seating area at the back of our guest house in addition to a balcony facing the river for an unforgettable memories to our guest. With our good experience in managing guest house, we assure you of our service satisfaction! Please note that we:- Do not accommodate children below 6- Do not provide extra bed, extra mattress or allow extra person in own sleeping bag in room.- Check-in time : After 2.00pm- Check-out time :By 12.00pm.- Rooms are held till 6.00 pm unless otherwise advised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Panoramic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River One Guest House Hotel Melaka
River 1 Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing