We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best tranquil stay for travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House
Ranked #14 of 208 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best tranquil stay for travellers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We were having a last minute planned trip to Melaka just recently and we're so glad that we found Oriental Guest House as our place to stay on the first night. The owner, Mr Asri, and his wife are very, very friendly and helpful hosts. We asked him on the whereabouts of local eats and he pointed to many good ones. We came back to the guesthouse at around 12am and Mr Asri hanged out with us for a chat by the riverside. Now, that kind of hospitality is very rare! Also, the location of the guesthouse is strategic. It's a walking distance to jonker street but away enough from the main square (where the performance stage is at) that the noise cant reach us. The only noise you can hear is probably the sound of the river flow right behind the guest house (which is obviously a great plus to our stay). In all, it was a pleasant and very tranquil stay for all of us. Oriental Guesthouse is definitely highly recommended!

Room Tip: Oriental has its own frequent fan-travellers who just kept coming back for more. So, I recommend boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarkDelaqroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    46
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
55
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Menen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

It must be close to the perfect guesthouse, great location, very nice and clean rooms and what really made it special was mr asri and his wife who spent a lot of time with their guests and make you feel at home at once.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicolashernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

If you are coming to stay in Melaka we can only recommend to stay at Mr. Asri's place! The owners are super friendly and helpful, always happy to answer any question. The rooms and the bathrooms are very clean. There is even a communal kitchen with free biscuits, tea and coffee. The kitchen is also very clean.
The location is great next to the river in Chinatown. Some rooms have a lovely river view.
Also the rates are more than fair, it is overall a great place to stay.
We have been travelling through South East Asia for 6 months now and we have seen many guesthouses! This is definitely in the top three accomodations we stayed at in this price range.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tussneldah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We just stayed there for a day but I have to say its a great place. Mr. Asri and his wife has been very friendly and helpful. And its located on the beautiful riverside which looks even more amazing by the night.I'm definitely going back there on my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

When you visit Malacca, please just stay at this place. Mr Asri and his wife were very nice and they had excellent service, also they're very friendly and helpful.
The place is located in the riverside, close to the city's center with many amenities nearby. I am really satisfied when I was there and hopefully I will come back and stay with them again. :) Cheers.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Novelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House

Property: Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House
Address: 78 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Residence is a charming riverside guesthouse overlooking Melaka River set in an elegantly restored pre-war building built in 1933. Situated at the core of the "UNESCO World Heritage Zone" on the bustling narrow streets of Old Chinatown by the river, with tourist attractions, art galleries, antique shops, craftsmen and traders at its doorstep, it allows its guest to be close to the community yet manages to maintain and atmosphere of Peace and Tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing