We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, Clean, Homy Hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House
Ranked #14 of 206 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean, Homy Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Clean and very value for money...it's like staying in one of our family's house...the owner are very friendly and helpful...
The hostel is in the central of city, only 3 minutes walking to Jonker Street Nite market (only from Fri-Sun), you can reach many attraction spots easily.
Melacca river is in the back of the hotel, you can sit while chatting with friends there, enjoying the romantic nite or the morning breeze...for sure I will stay in the hostel again when I visit Melacca again :)

Room Tip: I suggest to take room in the second floor with river view or city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alkomala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    46
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
55
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

If theres anything id notice 1st is the warm personality of the owner Mr Asri. Altough being a Malaysian myself, he is equally as accomodating and friendly towards locals and tourists. If you are not expecting much but just a place to put up for the night, this would be the place. The room i stayed faces the river and is quite comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TKYonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Clean and comfortable room. The owner is very nice! The location is a 5 min walk to jonker street. The river is behind the guest house, the atmosphere is calm and relaxing. The attractions and the hostel is near by and probably can be finished by half a day if you don't lose the way.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pyapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The glossy site pics and description of this guesthouse couldn't be further from the truth if they tried. The inside of the building is very run down. The rooms are small and furnished with the bare minimum - bed, two worn arm chairs and table and a hat stand. The room was dirty and we were not even given a sheet to sleep under just a small throw which was not big enough for two people and inappropriate for the climate anyway. No indication is given in the website that there are only 2 SHARED bathrooms for 8 ! The bathrooms are tiny and dirty and the shower sprays water all over the toilet and sink (which was falling off the wall). Rooms do not have TV although listed in services, there is no 24 hour reception as listed nor 24 hour security. We spent $10 more and moved to a very nice hotel only 6 minutes walk away. I can only think travelers who have rated this as excellent are either imaginary guests or ones who have come directly from a refugee camp. Very deceptive advertising.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental_Residence, Owner at Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Hi Richard Crlik and Aleks,
Thank you for a night stay at Oriental and we acknowledged that information on our website was incomplete and outdated, which is suppose to be supplementary to the other information on web booking and guest feedback / reviews. Among others, you should also note that: Our guest house is not suitable for children because of going ups and downs thru small and steep stairs can be dangerous / not safe, not suitable for elderly people for the same reason and not a gay friendly guest house. We however welcome all those who consider Oriental as one of the many choices to stay in Melaka.
Blaming other guest who provided good reviews are insulting and it is a shame. Other guests, just like you, have their own right to put up their opinion for the benefit of other people.
Enjoy your journey ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Had a fabulous stay here in mid Nov 2012, that when we went back to Malacca in early March 2013, we choose to stay here again. Owner was really friendly and helpful. The first stay in Nov 2012, we took the standard double room. Room was on the first floor, it's not a big room, but it's clean, had a ceiling fan and air conditioner. Room was basic. Bed and pillow was comfy enough, but there's no blanket provided, only a very thin, rough piece of rug, which was rather uncomfortable cos it's texture is pretty rough. So when we slept with the air-conditioner on, we had no blanket to cover ourselves with. Another downside is that the only socket in the room is located in the middle of the bed, just below the airconditioner. So it was pretty high up. When you charge your mobile phone, it will be dangling in mid air, unless you have wire that are so long that it allows your phone to rest on the bed. If you have bigger and heavier items, it will probably be more difficult to charge them.

There are two bathrooms on the second floor so each time u wanna go to the toilet/bathroom, u gotta climb the stairs to the second floor. It's just like staying in someone's house. Bathroom is clean, and hot shower was good!

When we were back in March 2013, we took a deluxe room this time. It was on a weekday, so there weren't much guests and the owner showed us to both deluxe room, and let us pick the room that we preferred. We picked the room with window facing the river though it was a smaller room as the bigger room faced the road and we were afraid that it would be noisy.
The room facing the river was as clean too. This time, the bathroom was just next to our room, so it was so much more convenient. The room also came with aircon and a ceiling fan. It also had a small table, two chairs and a clothes stand and a small mirror. Room and bed is equally comfortable, but I dislike that rough, thin rug that they provide as the "blanket". The texture of it is too rough for us to cover ourselves with it.

There is wifi in the entire house, and it was fuss-free. There's only one hair dryer to share, and it can be picked up at the common area. Owner also mentioned to us that we can help ourselves to the bread/biscuits, and the jam, butter, etc that is in the kitchen at any time. The house has a backdoor that leads directly to the riverside, which made it really a nice place.

Location is also pretty good. It's few minutes walk to jonker street and about 10 mins walk to the shopping malls. Very convenient. Overall a very good, homely, and affordable stay.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the second floor if you want easy access to the bathrooms as the two bathrooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elshjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Strategic location, near to Jonker Street & Melaka Historical Place. Clean room & bathroom, good facilities, great view of Melaka Riverside. Mr. Asri, the friendly owner who will explain about the hot spot area to eat in Melaka. Will come back stay here in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieTCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

friendly family home
clean and very well located.
Not sure about cheaper inside rooms, but the window room facing the river on the top floor is excellent!!!! The room is big, comfortable bed. Great views from the window!
Shared toilets are clean and pleasent.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brunom223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House

Property: Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House
Address: 78 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Residence is a charming riverside guesthouse overlooking Melaka River set in an elegantly restored pre-war building built in 1933. Situated at the core of the "UNESCO World Heritage Zone" on the bustling narrow streets of Old Chinatown by the river, with tourist attractions, art galleries, antique shops, craftsmen and traders at its doorstep, it allows its guest to be close to the community yet manages to maintain and atmosphere of Peace and Tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing