We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel for travellers with strict budget”
Review of Hotel Johan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Johan
Ranked #48 of 222 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

This is the first budget hotel that I have checked in so far. The "website" for this hotel is simply a blog site offering amateur photos on the rooms offered. Johan is worth your consideration if you are just looking for a place to stay with a budget to watch. Parking might be a tricky problem for travellers who drives to the lodge. This hotel seems to attract families and people who travels in big groups.

The hotel is neat, clean and tidy with the receptionists considerably polite. I had the room with the loft which means it was "double storey" connected with a staircase. The room was relatively small. The room has 1 queen size bed at the lower floor and a twin bed at the loft. Likewise, the room was decently clean. Expect no toiletries provided (e.g, toilet papers). My friends who occupied the upper floor told me that the bed was not in good condition.

Barely 2 hours upon check-in, we decided to change to another hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladyjennerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

I've stayed here many times with my family and found that this hotels is the cleanest and cheapest in town. No doubt it's a 2-3 stars hotel but get up close and personal with the owner En Johan and her Japanese wife. They are very humble and friendly yet very attentive to the needs of hotel guests. There are various types of rooms from standard to family room at its bests rates. Don't take my words for it.. Go experience yourselves!! ;)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cooldott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The room is very general,hotel is nearby the town so it is very Convenient~

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chin094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I am back again to this hotel for my trip to Melaka, the service is good as usual and the hotel is being maintain very well and it's very clean.

FREE WIFI TOO!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tonylew2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is the second time we stay at this hotel. We got the family room at 2nd flr. Room,toilet n everythin was super clean. Room was spacius compare to other budget hotel. 2 king size bed.
Check in was fast. Just show your ID.
Location is excellnt for those like to shopping. But it will be a little noisy for those who has trouble sleeping.
One problem thou coz we drive, its difficult to find a place to park, n its not a free parking.
This place is so far the best budget hotel we hv ever stay. I Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanielSKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Mid of August this year My family was checked into this Hotel with my two kids. We book for a family quad room, It was very spacious and clean. The Hotel reception is really friendly and helpful.The first floor has a very spacious common area equip with coffee making facility and simple utensil. The Hotel is very close to main tourist attraction spot and within walking distance and also shopping and eating outlet. My two kids really enjoy the stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chiang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

BEST IN RECEPTION
Reception and staff are all well trained and mannered. Really a surprise for a budget hotel.

BEST IN ROOM QUALITY
Its Clean! ... very clean room with all basic amities provided. The room bed are very cozy and you dont find bed bugs around

BEST IN LOCATION
Located in the city centre just 2 mins walk away from Makhota Parade & Pahlawan, and 10 minutes walk away from the famous jonker street & historical area.

All room ranging from RM80 onwards, fare in price with great services. a pantry area for resting and also for those who travel with laptop, there are complimentary WIFI in the pantry area for your use, accompanied by free flow plain water, coffee and tea.

Room Tip: room in first floor is must nearer to the pantry..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tonylew2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#23 of 168 in Melaka
497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand City Hotel
Grand City Hotel
#52 of 168 in Melaka
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 168 in Melaka
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,477 reviews
0.9 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#80 of 168 in Melaka
132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nancii Guesthouse
Nancii Guesthouse
#13 of 222 in Melaka
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johan

Address: 210 Jalan Melaka Raya 1, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: £14 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Johan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Johan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing