We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe choice”

Bei Zhan Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 681 Restaurants in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tel: 062812684 famous food includes braised pork with steamed buns, bei zhan fried rice, deep fried prawns in salad sauce, yam paste
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Safe choice”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

If you want a decent Chinese food, clean and comfy, this is a safe choice. They have been around for a long time and have built quite a reputation.
The only gripes I have are that the food is much more expensive now and not as good as I remembered them. It would probably have been my no. 1 pick for Chinese restaurant in Melaka previously but no longer now. I would still rate it top 5 though.

Helpful?
Thank PaulofSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    87
    28
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Splendid chinese restaurant food!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We ordered the kong ba bao, omelette, curry prawns, assam fish fillet and the tofu (with spinach?). The tofu was very unique and surprisingly good, served on a platter of tomato sauce.

The rest of the food were very decent as well and I'll definitely be back. To avoid crowds, go on weekdays. There are plenty of parking lots available and almost impossible to miss. The shopfront is white entirely.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worth the 20min walk from Jonker Street!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Ok, we were abit crazy to walk from Jonker Street as it was so difficult to get a cab. What I suggest is, please book a cab so that it pick you up after you finished dinner.

The food is superb! Will come back again, but next time will book a cab!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevyeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Value! Excellent Food”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A must visit place whenever I visit Melaka. Food is delicious and the price is really affordable given the quality of the food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mfamilysgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what it used to be.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was such a great restaurant back in the day (old location), then they expanded, and finally then relocated. Bring back the great taste, It was so goooood, that we didn’t mind the crazy reservations it took for us to get a table.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank robbenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bei Zhan Restaurant also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Bei Zhan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing