We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible food at reasonable prices”

Restoran Tong Sheng
Ranked #30 of 664 Restaurants in Melaka
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
SIngapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredible food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Not the best ambiance but this place serves incredible food at very reasonable prices. 4 of us had 5 dishes - steamed cod with ginger & scallions ; Claypot tofu , ginger chicken, king pork ribs , chye sim in garlic plus 3 large bottles of Asahi beer .... Cost S$55!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    91
    27
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I'm back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is the 2nd time i visit this restaurant, the foods still very delicious.

Lucky i call for reserve table on 8.30pm. we saw long queue outside restaurant when we arrived.

The price are resonable, don't miss the signature dish "Cheese Prawn Meehun".

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Worth Waiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We reserved a table for 11 at 7pm, and the food was finally served at 8:15pm. According to the waitress, there was only one chef on the day we visited. I'm not sure if on normal days the food could serve faster or not.

Their signature dish "Cheese Prawn Meehun" is nice. The sauce is delicious.
The Rojak Pork Chop is a pleasant surprise. I love the freshness of the fruit which go very well with the deep fried pork chop.
My personal favorite is the "Fresh Milk Crab". The crabs are very fresh and the sauce is unique and tasty. They served toasted bread together with the crab so that you can dip the toasted bread into the sauce. We love it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UnderBigHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Delicious.. you must try.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This small establishment is located in Melaka Raya after the Mahkota Medical Center, take a left turn and 1st junction on the right you'll be able to see it. There is a road divider that prevents you from making a right turn so you'll have to drive forward a little and turn right from there.

The Prawn Chee Bee Hoon (Rice Vermicelli) is delicious and is one of the signature dishes there. Have it with a nice glass of Asahi beer if you drink and it's fantastic.

Look up to the walls and you'll be able to see their other recommended signature dishes. There was a fish dish on the wall which I didn't find too tasty. Too sweet for our liking and the skin was too hard to munch on.

Better to call in for reservation if you can. 017-631 7811. Closed on Mondays.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Santawang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The food here is just average. Nothing great.. On top of that, very long wait. We waited for almost an hour for the food. Signature dish, cheese prawn bee hoon was so-so. Bitter gourd soup were tasteless. But their deep fried fish is recommendable. Fresh fish meat and fried to perfection. Fried vege is normal too.
Don't come when you are extremely hungry.

Helpful?
Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restoran Tong Sheng also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Restoran Tong Sheng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing