We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Ranked #33 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 11 December 2011

After a long day of searching and scouting for a place to put up for the weekend in the busy Malacca town, we came across the Sterling, a mini-grand boutique hotel which is a real jewel and located 2 minutes from the best Satay Celup (Capitol) in town.
From the minute we walked in, the staff were nothing less than helpful, especially Mr. Tony Yew who showed us all the available room types before we made a decision. He even personally drove us to our car which we had parked a distance away at Heeren Street lead us back to The Sterling. (talk about personal touch)

As this is a new hotel, we were lucky enough to be offered their promo rates (yes, very reasonable for what you get!) and enjoy a very clean and pristine rooms! We settled for the Reiley a very spacious room, which came with it's own Jacuzzi. Almost all rooms come with a jacuzzi, even the grander ones with the outdoor Jacuzzi! Perfect for couples or even family I should say!

Other amenities like complementary wifi (although it didn't really work out for us for some reason), personalized stationary (yes, all thought of!) carpark (big problem in that part of town!) and most of what you find in 5* hotels.

Dinner at the rooftop was also a wonderful experience... Lovely ambience with choice of indoor or alfresco (some of us managed to watch have a clear view of the eclipse that night!) Price of the food is reasonable for the quality.
Set Breakfast was also delivered to us in our rooms the next morning (albeit a bit late but that's easily forgiven!)

A new boutique hotel with top rate local staff, all very attentive to your needs.
Wish we had found it earlier and spent both nights there! Will definitely be coming back for more!!!

Keep it up!!!!! *2 thumbs up*

Room Tip: They're all good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nyflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Thank you for your comments.

We are honoured and proud to be of service to you during your stay here in Malacca.

We do note our shortfall during breakfast and will strive harder to achieve what is acceptable to our
guests.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to look after you and hope that we can serve you again the next time you visit Malacca again.

The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Its a perfect retreat where the where the boutique is within a purpose built colonial style building in the heart of heritage city of Melaka.

Rooms are very cosy and spacious. Broadband internet available. Service is personalized and for guests who drive, there's a perfectly ample onsite parking.

The dining room gives a strategic overview of the Old Melaka City and food commensurate with the expectation.

A must try is all the rooms with jacuzzis. Really a great comfort to relax, unwind and a perfect weekend gateway.

Room Tip: Try the rooms with Jacuzzi, especially Brighton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigDogKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Thank you sir for your kind comments.

We will strive to improve on our shortcomings and look forward to welcoming you here again.

The management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We booked a weekend trip on the 18th Nov - 20th Nov at The Sterling Malacca. We stayed in the Brighton room. The location is great, near A. Famosa, Museum Seri Malacca, Stadthuys, Dataran Pahlawan, Menara Taming Sari & also Jongker's Street, to name a few. The hotel is excellent, with modern & trendy accessories. The personnels were nice & friendly We enjoyed our stay very much & will visit again. Thank you Sterling!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Thank you WanRoy for your comments.

We are more than happy to leave a lasting impression during your stay with us.
Do come back to Malaysia, and if possible do stay with us again when you visit next.

The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quinouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Luigi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.5 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Timez Modern Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#23 of 168 in Melaka
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#8 of 168 in Melaka
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 168 in Melaka
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 43 Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £29 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sterling, Malacca's latest luxury boutique hotel is a mere five minute walk from Jonker Street, world famous for antique hunters and popular amongst visitors to historical heritage Malacca.In addition, The Stadhuys, St.Paul's Hill, Church of St.Francis Xavier, Christ church and A'Famosa are all within 8-10 minutes on foot. Enjoy sheer luxury in our signature rooms that feature its own private sundeck and outdoor jacuzzi. Dine in heritage Malacca's unique rooftop diner and catch the stars above Malaccan skyline at The Balcony, a place to kick back and relax. The Sterling and its English heritage concept is all set to transport her guest back to yesteryears yet ensuring that everyday comforts are not compromised. Welcome to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, A GOOD PLACE TO BE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing